Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 08-05-2019, 17:43   #1

Furuno FS1501 SSB compatable with Icom AT-120 tuner

Hi! A friend of mine gave me a Furuno FS1501 SSB radio with a Icom AT-120 tuner. Does anyone know if these units can work together. I'm new to the subject.
Thanks,
Bill
fredericks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2019, 18:58   #2

Boat: Norseman 447
Re: Furuno FS1501 SSB compatable with Icom AT-120 tuner

The AT-120 requires some control voltages from the radio which I suspect the Furuno radio won’t supply. I remember that, long, long ago when I had am Icom 735, it had an external box to control the tuner. Maybe you could locate one or perhaps find the manual and replicate it. It wasn’t very complicated. My biggest question with that approach would be that the Icom radio switches to 10 watts output during tuning. So, how to get the Furuno to output sufficient power for tuning without manually changing the mode and maybe reducing power.

I’d probably just go to one of the smaller SGC tuners and build a waterproof case for it.
Bycrick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2019, 21:13   #3

Boat: Van de Stadt 50'
Send a message via Skype™ to sy_gilana

I have no experience of that particular set-up, but the AT120 only needs power, thats two of the four wires, I think black and red, the other two are to signal the "Tuned" state back to the radio display, and to initiate a manual tune. I am sure that it will work without those two, but the equivalent circuits are available on the Furuno.
A little bit of searching will give you the answers. All it really needs is power and the antenna connections in and out, and the grounding. Use the grounding nut at the bottom, not the stainless steel frame.
Old 09-05-2019, 15:30   #4