Cruisers Forum
 


Join CruisersForum Today

Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 27-01-2017, 16:08   #1
Registered User

Join Date: May 2010
Location: Perth
Boat: Seawind 1250
Posts: 34
"Fixed Position Lost" Raymarine E120W

Hi all, intermittently our chartplotter loses it's GPS position & all related metrics (SOG, AIS etc). Anybody have any pointers for trouble shooting this?

So far I've traced all connections from antenna to chartplotter and cleaned them up and made they secure.

If I power all instruments down and start up again I sometimes get it all back again, only to lose GPS randomly again.

It is hot here, 25-35C. Also my batteries have been dragging down to 12.0V but I am only running the instruments with engine running and 80A alternator pushing amps in.

Much appreciated for any advice. We are cruising and the position is helpful (although we have redundant systems also).
__________________

Seawindow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-01-2017, 16:18   #2
Marine Service Provider
 
boatpoker's Avatar

Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Toronto, Ontario or Bahamas
Boat: Benford 38 Fantail Cruiser
Posts: 3,771
Re: "Fixed Position Lost" Raymarine E120W

Low voltage, electronics are the first things affected.
__________________

__________________
That hysterical laughter you hear as you sail a way in your "new" boat ..... is the seller.
boatpoker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-01-2017, 16:28   #3
Registered User

Join Date: May 2010
Location: Perth
Boat: Seawind 1250
Posts: 34
Re: "Fixed Position Lost" Raymarine E120W

Quote:
Originally Posted by boatpoker View Post
Low voltage, electronics are the first things affected.


Thanks boatpoker. What about when we are motoring (like we are now!). Reading 13.0V +66A Batteries 812Ah (max 840Ah)? Still no GPS.
Seawindow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-01-2017, 16:34   #4
Registered User
 
Tampabayfireman's Avatar

Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: St Petersburg, Florida
Boat: Irwin Series II 52' 1983
Posts: 163
Re: "Fixed Position Lost" Raymarine E120W

We had a similar issue with an E80 and traced it to a too long wire to the gps head. Seems occasionally voltage fluxes cause gps signal loss and loss of position. Fixed by moving gps head closer. Yes it was after 3-4 mo installed.
Tampabayfireman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-01-2017, 16:38   #5
Registered User

Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: S/V TIBI / GREECE
Boat: Beneteau 38S first
Posts: 17
pirate Re: "Fixed Position Lost" Raymarine E120W

I would think its an antenna problem and if that is outside and unobstructed u shouldn't have the problem . Maybe ask the manufacturer itself. Good luck
sailing 531 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-01-2017, 17:00   #6
Marine Service Provider
 
boatpoker's Avatar

Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Toronto, Ontario or Bahamas
Boat: Benford 38 Fantail Cruiser
Posts: 3,771
Re: "Fixed Position Lost" Raymarine E120W

Quote:
Originally Posted by Seawindow View Post
Thanks boatpoker. What about when we are motoring (like we are now!). Reading 13.0V +66A Batteries 812Ah (max 840Ah)? Still no GPS.
Forget your battery monitor. Measure the voltage at the batteries
__________________
That hysterical laughter you hear as you sail a way in your "new" boat ..... is the seller.
boatpoker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-01-2017, 17:26   #7
Senior Cruiser
 
SV Windrush II's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Somewhere in the Philippines
Boat: Mariner 40 Ketch
Posts: 519
Images: 18
Re: "Fixed Position Lost" Raymarine E120W

I have had the same problem with my Raymarine displays plugged into the seatalk to Nema converter. ended up being the connections. When i Plugged the cable directly to the plotter it was fine. Check or replace those connections and see if i makes a difference

__________________
Fair Winds to all
SV Windrush II is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-01-2017, 17:43   #8
Registered User

Join Date: May 2010
Location: Perth
Boat: Seawind 1250
Posts: 34
Re: "Fixed Position Lost" Raymarine E120W

Quote:
Originally Posted by SV Windrush II View Post
I have had the same problem with my Raymarine displays plugged into the seatalk to Nema converter. ended up being the connections. When i Plugged the cable directly to the plotter it was fine. Check or replace those connections and see if i makes a difference



Thanks!
Seawindow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-01-2017, 17:44   #9
Registered User

Join Date: May 2010
Location: Perth
Boat: Seawind 1250
Posts: 34
Re: "Fixed Position Lost" Raymarine E120W

Quote:
Originally Posted by boatpoker View Post
Forget your battery monitor. Measure the voltage at the batteries


Good point. Will do.
Seawindow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-01-2017, 00:10   #10
Registered User

Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: canada
Posts: 2,548
Re: "Fixed Position Lost" Raymarine E120W

Which gps antenna you have? Probably a 120 or 125. They are all getting old and dying. I replace quite a few. Unfortunatlly the best replace also requires a converter kit and isn't cheap. The 130 with a seatalk conversion kit.
smac999 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 28-01-2017, 09:48   #11
Registered User

Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: Victoria, BC Canada
Boat: Nordic Tug 37
Posts: 51
Re: "Fixed Position Lost" Raymarine E120W

The GPS antenna has a battery in it. When it's close to dead it can sometimes cause these intermittent failures. Try replacing that.

-evan
eheffa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-01-2017, 10:04   #12
Registered User
 
SteveSails's Avatar

Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: St Michaels MD
Boat: F&C 44
Posts: 154
Re: "Fixed Position Lost" Raymarine E120W

Quote:
Originally Posted by eheffa View Post
The GPS antenna has a battery in it. When it's close to dead it can sometimes cause these intermittent failures. Try replacing that.

-evan
The Raymarine 120 and 125 do not have a battery, they are powered by the SeaTalk bus.
SteveSails is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-01-2017, 10:13   #13
Registered User

Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: Victoria, BC Canada
Boat: Nordic Tug 37
Posts: 51
Re: "Fixed Position Lost" Raymarine E120W

I have a Raymarine E120 Widescreen & the GPS antenna most definitely does have a small battery that acts to maintain some position data between usages. Mine was dying & causing the same Sx's as the OP reports. Replacement battery fixed the issue.

- evan
eheffa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-01-2017, 10:59   #14
Registered User
 
SteveSails's Avatar

Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: St Michaels MD
Boat: F&C 44
Posts: 154
Re: "Fixed Position Lost" Raymarine E120W

Quote:
Originally Posted by eheffa View Post
I have a Raymarine E120 Widescreen & the GPS antenna most definitely does have a small battery that acts to maintain some position data between usages. Mine was dying & causing the same Sx's as the OP reports. Replacement battery fixed the issue.

- evan
OK, my bad then, makes sense though given the failure mode, I just never saw any reference to a battery in the manual but it does say 'no user serviceable parts inside'.

What kind of battery? My 15+ yo 120( raystar 120 GPS & C80 plotter) is doing the same thing, suprised a battery lasted that long.

Thanks for the correction,
Steve
SteveSails is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-01-2017, 11:33   #15
Registered User

Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: Victoria, BC Canada
Boat: Nordic Tug 37
Posts: 51
Re: "Fixed Position Lost" Raymarine E120W

Quote:
Originally Posted by SteveSails View Post
OK, my bad then, makes sense though given the failure mode, I just never saw any reference to a battery in the manual but it does say 'no user serviceable parts inside'.

What kind of battery? My 15+ yo 120( raystar 120 GPS & C80 plotter) is doing the same thing, suprised a battery lasted that long.

Thanks for the correction,
Steve
Hi,

When mine quit, the boat was quite new to me.

My mechanic/advisor told me that these older GPS units have this poorly documented battery inside and when the cell gets old & depleted the whole unit will intermittently stop working. Many folks will simply replace the whole GPS unit but if it is just the interior cell, it is fixable. He replaced the battery and it's worked well since.

My understanding is that it is some sort of lithium cell (CR2032) or such.

The GPS antenna has to be screwed apart to access it.

-evan

Edited by Pete7 - Moderator
__________________

eheffa is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
lost, marine, raymarine

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Navionics CF92s Canada All In One chart compatible wih Raymarine E120w? Drobert Marine Electronics 0 12-05-2016 12:02
Upgrade E90w+E120W to e7+iPad? YoloSF Marine Electronics 1 01-04-2015 17:02
Want To Buy: Raymarine E120w Parts Catopia Classifieds Archive 0 20-01-2015 21:31
Will Raymarine E120W take SD charts with an adapter? waderpro Marine Electronics 1 28-02-2013 08:18



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 20:27.


Google+
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Social Knowledge Networks
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

ShowCase vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.