Cruisers Forum
 


Join CruisersForum Today

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 08-09-2010, 17:19   #1
Registered User
 
danleach's Avatar

Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Anacortes
Boat: Passport 40
Posts: 40
Images: 1
Firmware Update for Raymarine C-Series

Hey guys. I'm trying to upgrade the firmware in my 5 year old C-80. I've followed the instructions on the Raymarine site, downloaded the .zip file and unpacked the two files needed to a CF card. Raymarine says just power down the unit, pull out the CF card with your Navionics Charts on it....pop in the card with the upgrade files...and turn the power on. At that point it's supposed to bypass the normal start, and run the upgrade pgm on the chip. Only I can't get it to do that. It just keeps booting normally....only without charts since that chip is out.

I thought the new CF chip might be bad....but it works in every computer and card reader I have. So that seems unlikley. Were this a computer, I'd say I need to edit the bios so the boot order is correct. But I can't see anywhere in the C80 to do that.

So far Raymarine hasn't come back with a response to my service request. Anyone seen this behavior before on a firmware upgrade. It seems to me this should just work if the unit is working properly

Thanks
__________________

__________________
Dan Leach
s/v Endless Song, Seattle
danleach is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2010, 17:51   #2
Senior Cruiser
 
Vasco's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Toronto
Boat: CS36Merlin, "La Belle Aurore" Ben393 "Breathless"
Posts: 7,130
I had the same problem even though I went and bought a CF card (forget the brand) that they said was the only one to use. I am on version2 still and mine works fine, 2004 unit. Raymarine will send you a card for the update but they only send it overnight and you have to send it back, a lot of work and expense for an update. I had a service person down last spring and he would have updated it for nothing but he didn't have another card to dump my waypoints (hundreds) onto so we passed on it. You might lose all your waypoints if you don't back them up. I believe certain WM stores have the update card and will lend it out.
__________________

__________________
Rick I
Toronto in summer, Bahamas in winter.
http://groups.yahoo.com/group/beneteau393/
Vasco is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2010, 18:12   #3
Registered User
 
r.furborough's Avatar

Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Norfolk, VA
Boat: Freedom 32 (Hoyt)
Posts: 223
The larger and newer CF2 compact flashes are not supported although the update to v5.04 now allows the use of CF cards of upto 16GB. Raymarine recommend Sandisk cards.

Also, there is now a new Compact Flash adaptor available that allows the use of microSD cards that are more readily available and more cost effective.
__________________
------------------------------------------------
the memories of a man in his old age, are the dreams of a man in his prime
Pink Floyd - 'Free Four'
r.furborough is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2010, 20:16   #4
Registered User
 
Jentine's Avatar

Join Date: May 2004
Location: Cruising on the hook
Boat: Beneteau 393, "Blackthorn"
Posts: 744
Images: 5
At one time Raymarine specified a 32 MB card. They are no longer available but they do work for C-80 downloads which I do seasonally with no problems.
__________________
Jim

We are what we repeatedly do.
Excellence, therefore, is not an act but a habit."
--Aristotle
Jentine is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2010, 02:35   #5
Registered User
 
richardhula's Avatar

Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: UK
Boat: S M Hudson 60' narrowboat
Posts: 347
Send a message via Skype™ to richardhula
Sounds like your card is not being read.

Follow advice here to check compatibility - note that it should have capacity between 32 & 512Mb.
__________________
Richard

If in doubt RTFM
richardhula is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2010, 08:29   #6
Senior Cruiser

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: between the devil and the deep blue sea
Boat: a sailing boat
Posts: 17,314
And next time buy equipment from a serious maker.

b.
__________________
barnakiel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2010, 08:32   #7
Senior Cruiser

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: between the devil and the deep blue sea
Boat: a sailing boat
Posts: 17,314
Only being that mean because we upgrade software on our Garmins without a problem.

Also, I asked Raymarine why not make update for their radars/plotters that would show AIS targets. All I got was a dumb look.

b.
__________________
barnakiel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2010, 09:20   #8
Registered User
 
danleach's Avatar

Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Anacortes
Boat: Passport 40
Posts: 40
Images: 1
Thanks to all

Thanks to those who made helpful comments.

I'll get this worked out if I can only find a small older style CF card.
__________________
Dan Leach
s/v Endless Song, Seattle
danleach is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2010, 10:20   #9
Registered User
 
richardhula's Avatar

Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: UK
Boat: S M Hudson 60' narrowboat
Posts: 347
Send a message via Skype™ to richardhula
Quote:
Originally Posted by barnakiel View Post
Only being that mean because we upgrade software on our Garmins without a problem.

Also, I asked Raymarine why not make update for their radars/plotters that would show AIS targets. All I got was a dumb look.

b.
Raymarine may not be angels but they definitely are a serious manufacturer.

The problem first described arises it seems with Raymarine MFD's not being compatible with high capacity CF cards.

When the C series was introduced HC cards didn't exist. Their latest upgrade address's this issue. If owners had bothered to upgrade firmware when it became available, they would probably not have been able to buy other than a compatible card.

I imagine if your Garmin was from the same era you too would have similar problems.

BTW AIS support on the C & E series was introduced several years ago with a much earlier upgrade.
__________________
Richard

If in doubt RTFM
richardhula is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2010, 16:00   #10
Senior Cruiser

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: between the devil and the deep blue sea
Boat: a sailing boat
Posts: 17,314
Quote:
Originally Posted by richardhula View Post

I imagine if your Garmin was from the same era you too would have similar problems.

BTW AIS support on the C & E series was introduced several years ago with a much earlier upgrade.
Garmin updates by connecting to a PC, no card required.

Raymarine 'specialists' gave a dumb look when asked why a two years old plotter/radar does not have the capability. Now you are telling me it can be done I take back my rubbish and go to the net to look for the upgrade.

THX! richard
barnie
__________________
barnakiel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2010, 16:26   #11
Registered User
 
richardhula's Avatar

Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: UK
Boat: S M Hudson 60' narrowboat
Posts: 347
Send a message via Skype™ to richardhula
Yes I can see how that would make updates easier.

BTW I said the Raymarine company was serious not the staff
__________________
Richard

If in doubt RTFM
richardhula is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2010, 10:44   #12
Registered User

Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 584
Quote:
Originally Posted by richardhula View Post
Yes I can see how that would make updates easier.

BTW I said the Raymarine company was serious not the staff
I just upgraded a four year old E80 with level three firmware to 5.22 using a 4gig cf card, but the real issue is to use a SanDisk card, it does tell you to use SanDisk somewhere on the Raymarine web site.
__________________
bazzer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2010, 10:23   #13
Registered User
 
Nimble1's Avatar

Join Date: Feb 2007
Boat: Nimble Nomad Trawler
Posts: 41
Images: 4
Recently upgraded a friend's unit and did call RM and order the upgrade from them . Its a bit of a hassle but it worked like a charm with no issues.
__________________
Tom Nowling
Nimble Nomad Trawler
"Sweet Pea" Hull #1
Nimble1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2010, 02:12   #14
Registered User
 
richardhula's Avatar

Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: UK
Boat: S M Hudson 60' narrowboat
Posts: 347
Send a message via Skype™ to richardhula
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nimble1 View Post
Recently upgraded a friend's unit and did call RM and order the upgrade from them . Its a bit of a hassle but it worked like a charm with no issues.
You don't need to contact Raymarine for firmware upgrades - they are available for free download here. You will have to register your hardware first though assuming you haven't already set up an account with them.
__________________
Richard

If in doubt RTFM
richardhula is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-03-2012, 19:17   #15
Senior Cruiser
 
hpeer's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Philadelphia
Boat: Murray 33-Chouette & Pape Steelmaid-44-Safara-both steel cutters
Posts: 3,896
Re: Firmware Update for Raymarine C-Series

Bumping an old thread because I have the same problem.

I have a VERY old operating system V1.05. Registered online, got the V5.04 download. Bought the sacred ScanDisk CF cards in the specified capacity. Power down, insert card..................and ...............nope, comes up just as the OP noted.

Not the card reader, it reads my various chart cards.

Not the card, I put in another C-80 (my spare) and it worked as advertised.

I'm betting that you need some incremental upgrade to get the damn thing to work. Raymarine says no, but I'm not buying that.

Anyway, we will see. I'll call Raymarine next week.

In the mean time any ideas?
__________________

__________________
hpeer is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
raymarine

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
For Sale: Raymarine GVM400 A/V G-Series Module saltwatercowboy Classifieds Archive 0 22-05-2010 23:40
Raymarine E Series Network rasa Marine Electronics 12 28-03-2010 05:57
Raymarine E Series Problems rabend Marine Electronics 41 17-06-2009 19:00



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:21.


Google+
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Social Knowledge Networks
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

ShowCase vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.