Cruisers Forum
 


Join CruisersForum Today

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 08-08-2010, 11:57   #16
cruiser

Join Date: May 2010
Location: SF Bay Area; Former Annapolis and MA Liveaboard.
Boat: Looking and saving for my next...mid-atlantic coast
Posts: 6,197
Yes, unfortunately, I cannot find a direct connect to PC from radar unit cheaply. I will probably just get the TZ zero nav $449.00 version rather than the 3D, or just go with Open CPN
__________________

__________________
SaltyMonkey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-08-2010, 04:16   #17
Registered User

Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Australia
Posts: 4
Thank you for all comments. We are probably going to go with NKE.
__________________

__________________
AmorVita is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-08-2010, 04:31   #18
Registered User
 
Sabbatical II's Avatar

Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Lake Macquarie
Boat: Bluewater 420 CC
Posts: 756
Images: 1
FWIW

Quote:
Originally Posted by AmorVita View Post
Hi. We are currently building a 50' yacht and are at the point of selecting our electronics and autopilot gear. This yacht is a rugged, fast performance yacht built for ocean sailing in all conditions. It will be used on a continuous basis to cruise the world, both high and low latitudes for many years. Consequently, the gear we select needs to be very robust and very reliable.
Just got my quote in from Raymarine & Furuno dealers for my new 42' yacht. Full system including Big plotter at Nav, small one at wheel, AIS (receiver only), Radar, Autopilot for hydraulic steering and usual wind & depth guages etc. They make it hard to compare apples with apples, but roughly Raymarine is $35,000 & Furuno is $38,000 (Aus $). Of course it doesn't include charts but does cover an estimate for fitting. Maybe I'll just keep the paper charts and the old Garmin GPS.

Greg
__________________
Greg
Sabbatical II is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-08-2010, 12:22   #19
Senior Cruiser
 
DeepFrz's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Winnipeg
Boat: None at this time
Posts: 7,930
NKE have some very neat features. Very poor web site though, IMHO.

Please keep the rest of us informed of your experience with NKE equipment and installation.
__________________
DeepFrz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-08-2010, 12:51   #20
cruiser

Join Date: May 2010
Location: SF Bay Area; Former Annapolis and MA Liveaboard.
Boat: Looking and saving for my next...mid-atlantic coast
Posts: 6,197
Wow Eleebana, for that much money you could buy another boat and have someone go ahead of you and tell you if something is out there
__________________
SaltyMonkey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-08-2010, 22:00   #21
Registered User

Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Portsmouth, RI
Boat: Hylas 49, Cutter Rigged Sloop
Posts: 109
You don't necessarily need $$$$ so much as planned redundancy. Multiple antenna, multiple display units (multiple E80's or E120's say), etc. Its a marine environment, things *WILL* get tossed around. Brands don't matter if something goes flying into the LCD display despite your best effort to secure things. Using recreational vs commercial equipment can be just fine if you keep this in mind.

If you are sailing in commercial lanes or any congested area I'd be sure to get AIS as well as the standard instruments people put in. I put a Multi display in the aft cabin near my berth so I could check wind speed, position, and other items without leaving my rack. I can also redirect any display from my E80s to multiple flat screen TVs on the boat or redirect my notebook PC display (with its internet connection to lots of weather and doppler radar sites) to my E80 displays.

Integration is the key, but redundancy makes it safe. FWIW

Rick
Hylas 49-057 "Black Diamond"
Portsmouth, RI.
__________________
Black Diamond is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31-08-2010, 03:52   #22
Registered User
 
tartanss's Avatar

Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Thailand
Boat: Tartan S&S 48
Posts: 32
I am currently sailing in Indonesia and have come across a lot of boats who have problems with Raymarine autopilots and plotters and when I say plotters I mean the E and C series which are not cheap. I have a cmall Ray A series which is 4 months old and that has frozen on me twice. Good luck
__________________

__________________
tartanss is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
autopilot

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Alpha 3000 Autopilot Help Needed Zoomer Marine Electronics 20 20-01-2011 10:55
Tax Advice Needed - Sailing Advice Given mparent General Sailing Forum 0 12-07-2010 08:16
Electronics Installation Help in Houston Needed Eddie Marine Electronics 7 17-04-2010 07:19
CG Electronics Technician - Advice Needed CGET1 Marine Electronics 4 28-03-2010 14:51
All New Electronics - Feedback Needed.... MoonlightSailor Marine Electronics 7 08-02-2010 19:38



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 14:25.


Google+
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Social Knowledge Networks
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

ShowCase vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.