Cruisers Forum
 


Join CruisersForum Today

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 02-04-2015, 13:09   #1
Registered User

Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Poland, Warsaw
Posts: 6
Question Electronic sounder and MaxSea TimeZero

Good day!

For 3 weeks I'm going to launch my new 23 ft ship. Now I'm completing equipment and looking for electronic sounder. In order to save as much space as possible in my small boat I'd like to use one device (12' laptop) to display charts, AIS objects and if it possible depth also. On Laptop I had a MXTZ where I can display sounder data. However I don't have a properly device to receive depth data and I don't know what device should I look for.

On the Web I can only find complete device with dedicated display.
Could someone help mp?
__________________

__________________
adam.lazarski is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2015, 14:33   #2
Registered User
 
ranger42c's Avatar

Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Maryland, USA
Boat: 42' Sportfish
Posts: 2,982
Re: Electronic sounder and MaxSea TimeZero

You might ask MaxSea tch support for ideas about transducers known to work with MaxSea and your particular operating sytem.


Maretron makes many of the transducers other electronics "manufacturers" use in their own product lines... so you could also check with Maretron for ideas.


Seems to me simplest would probably be a USB wired interface, but I've not ever looked to see if such a thing exists.


-Chris
__________________

__________________
Selby Bay, South River, Chesapeake Bay, USA.
ranger42c is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2015, 14:55   #3
Registered User

Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Poland, Warsaw
Posts: 6
Re: Electronic sounder and MaxSea TimeZero

ok I need something like this :Black Box BOTTOM DISCRIMINATION SOUNDER BBDS1 | Fish Finder | Products | FURUNO

Problem solved
__________________
adam.lazarski is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-02-2016, 14:44   #4
Registered User

Join Date: Feb 2016
Posts: 3
Re: Electronic sounder and MaxSea TimeZero

Just bought Furuno dff1-uhd and Airmar b265lh tranducer
Think this is a good match
__________________
MaxMekker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-02-2016, 18:37   #5
Registered User

Join Date: Feb 2015
Posts: 254
Images: 1
Re: Electronic sounder and MaxSea TimeZero

Will the DFF1 work with MaxSea without also having a Furuno MFD?
__________________
www.MVTanglewood.com
tanglewood is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-02-2016, 11:05   #6
Registered User

Join Date: Feb 2016
Posts: 3
Re: Electronic sounder and MaxSea TimeZero

Furuno black box sounders are fully integrated with Maxsea, you will need the sounder module unlocked. To have it work
The sounder module have to be bought separately, it's only a unlock code to give access, this is already embedded in the software.
So if you have a computer with Maxsea there is no need for a Furuno MFD. Here is a link to Maxsea and which versions that supports the sounder module: http://www.maxsea.com/products/softw...products_range
__________________
MaxMekker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-02-2016, 11:29   #7
Registered User

Join Date: Feb 2016
Posts: 3
Re: Electronic sounder and MaxSea TimeZero

Most of the Maxsea TZ software have option for furuno black box sounders, the Navigator version of maxsea doesn't have the option for black box sounder.
There is no need for a Furuno MFD. Connecting it to the computer with ethernet network cable.
Sounder module have to be unlocked, this is embedded in the software, have to buy unlock code for this.
Only SportFishing and Plot have PBG (personal bathymetry generator) which gives you the opportunity to record depths and draw the bottom as you go
__________________

__________________
MaxMekker is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
maxsea

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
MaxSea Timezero 1.9.8 has no AIS/ALARM laforge24 Navigation 2 12-05-2014 01:19
Which Charts for MaxSea TimeZero ? Sabbatical II Navigation 2 20-08-2010 11:15
Anyone with MaxSea TimeZero Explorer Yet? s/v Jedi Navigation 20 05-01-2010 19:27



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:09.


Google+
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Social Knowledge Networks
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

ShowCase vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.