Cruisers Forum

Join CruisersForum Today

Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 22-02-2018, 21:11   #1
Registered User
Janaucamp's Avatar

Join Date: Feb 2018
Location: Mozambique
Boat: Sprout Catamaran 36'
Posts: 4
Drama with Raymarine ST6002 Autopilot

Is there someone out there?

I had to replace my Raymarine ST6002 Autopilot with an identical second hand one. It told me that there was "No Pilot".

Upon installing the replacement all seemed to work well, until I connected the "depth" and "wind" with the smiley plugs. They are all connwcted in series. For about 6 seconds all seems to work well and then the Autopilot starts beeping and tells me that there is "No Pilot". I've been told that there is a poor connection somewhere.

The "Depth" and "Wind" are functioning all okay on their own giving correct information. The Autopilot doesn't like them. He is the offending one.

Searching for the mother board for the Autopilot revealed a crow's nest that needs serious attention...maybe there is a poor connection. I don't give up easily. Everyday is just another day trying to fix problems so that we can start sailing.

Poor wiring.
Sail drive leaking through Diaphragm B.
New anchor imported from USA after losing my CQR due to poor seamanship.
Water in the oil of the sail drives.

Help is scarce where I am. Parts unobtainable.

Is there someone out there that has an answer? Please help.
Janaucamp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-02-2018, 01:38   #2
JPA Cate's Avatar

Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: aboard, cruising in Australia
Boat: Sayer 46' Solent rig sloop
Posts: 11,708
Re: Drama with Raymarine ST6002 Autopilot

Janaucamp, glad you got this into the correct thread.

I don't have answers for you, but it is coming up on morning in Europe, and maybe someone there will have feedback for you.

Good luck with it, I know how it is at the end of the line for minimal services, and some of the better MacGuyverers here, may soonishly be heard from.

All the best,

Who scorns the calm has forgotten the storm.
JPA Cate is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 23-02-2018, 03:05   #3
Registered User

Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 424
Re: Drama with Raymarine ST6002 Autopilot

From the manual

NO PILOT The controller is not receiving data from the SmartPilot computer. Check connections and check that the SmartPilot computer is on.*4boFSxe...oningGuide.pdf
olaf hart is offline   Reply With Quote

autopilot, marine, raymarine

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Want To Buy: Raymarine Cover Autopilot ST6002 xeon_tsd Classifieds Archive 0 15-09-2015 07:52
Raymarine autopilot wont disengage st6002 BalideMAS Marine Electronics 1 13-07-2015 13:15
Raymarine ST6002 autopilot track issue. deepthought Marine Electronics 4 30-07-2012 17:13
For Sale: Raymarine S3 Autopilot + ST6002 Head rja Classifieds Archive 9 28-03-2011 06:54
Problem with st6002 Raymarine Autopilot sailor sam Marine Electronics 7 23-12-2010 10:36

Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 21:18.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Social Knowledge Networks
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

ShowCase vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.