Cruisers Forum
 


Join CruisersForum Today

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 18-02-2013, 20:00   #46
Registered User

Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: nc
Boat: catalina 350
Posts: 4
Great question for me right now too. Putting boat in charleston and trying to decide whether to add AIS to Raymarine chart plotter. Will be doing only daytime sailing for now. Thanks for any help.
__________________

__________________
keevers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-02-2013, 23:22   #47
Registered User
 
xymotic's Avatar

Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 1,076
Re: Do I need AIS?

One thing about the standard AIS VHF's is they make it a little easier to call a ship via AIS. I really like the 2050 for that reason.

BUT depending on your plotter, you may also be able to just select the ship on the chartplotter and 'call with vhf' and any connected DSC VHF radio should automagically make the call. Garmin is the only plotter I know of that does this but I'm sure others do as well.
__________________

__________________
xymotic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-02-2013, 02:26   #48
Nearly an old salt
 
goboatingnow's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 13,649
Images: 3
really , when you experience AIS transponding and ships altering course without been asked , you'll never go back to non AiS , as Ferries Bueller says " there is no substitute "

It's the best 400 bucks you'll ever spend

Dave
__________________
Check out my new blog on smart boat technology, networking and gadgets for the connected sailor! - http://smartboats.tumblr.com
goboatingnow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-02-2013, 16:06   #49
Registered User
 
ranger42c's Avatar

Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Maryland, USA
Boat: 42' Sportfish
Posts: 2,984
Re: Do I need AIS?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kache Walk View Post
I have to replace my VHF. I think it is original to my 25 year old boat. I will be doing coastal cruising on the East Coast - Chesapeake Bay and North, but I single-hand. Practical Sailor reviewed both high-end and mid range radios and the Standard Horizons come out rated well. Does this sound like a situation where I should pay the extra $125 to have AIS on top of the DSC?

KW, I only glanced at the first page of responses, so maybe others have covered stuff...

But I can say having some AIS capability on the Chesapeake (we're just up the road from you) is useful... but not necessary.

Useful, if you can ident some of the commercial shipping, talk to them (hailing them by name) if you need to about safe passing, etc. Interesting, in that you can see names of commercial and pleasure craft, etc.

But unless you also have AIS transmit capability, they can't "see" you on their AIS receiver, can't hail you by name, etc. (They may see you on their radar, but not know your name.)

The additional GPS that comes with an AIS transceiver... doesn't necessarily add anything to the GPS you already have (assuming you already have one) unless you're transmitting.

Feel free to PM me for more discussion...

-Chris
__________________
Selby Bay, South River, Chesapeake Bay, USA.
ranger42c is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-02-2013, 07:59   #50
Registered User
 
Kache Walk's Avatar

Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Deale, MD
Boat: Hinterhoeller Nonesuch 30U
Posts: 69
Ranger, your comments were right in line with the advice from others. Thanks for taking the time to respond. With AIS it just makes sense to be able to receive and send, so I'll be heading in that direction.
__________________
In the end no one will sell you what you need...
you can't buy it off the shelf, you got to grow it from the seed. No Love Today, Chris Smither
Kache Walk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-03-2013, 16:09   #51
Registered User

Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 28
Re: Do I need AIS?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kache Walk View Post
Ranger, your comments were right in line with the advice from others. Thanks for taking the time to respond. With AIS it just makes sense to be able to receive and send, so I'll be heading in that direction.
Good decision.

I'll just add that the market here in Scandinavia has already shifted so much that almost no boats will buy receive-only units any longer, >90% buys the real thing. I went from RX-only to ClassB transponder back in 2007 and what a difference it makes out there. The US market is a bit slower but I'm sure it's headed in the same direction.

/Marcus
__________________
Shipraiser is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2014, 18:58   #52
Registered User
 
surfmachine's Avatar

Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Cruising the West coast of Sumatra and the offshore islands, surfing!!
Boat: Feltz Skorpion mark 11A, Aluminium 39' sloop, constructed Hamburg. http://photobucket.com/eloise_01
Posts: 674
Images: 9
Send a message via Skype™ to surfmachine
Re: Do I need AIS?

Ahoy. I installed an Australian made GME, AIS class B transponder, antenna splitter and dedicated external GPS, with nmea 2000 link to Raymarine ng network. Connected to new Raymarine A78 mfd.

Problems with buying ais gear overseas and installing Australian mmsi numbers.

All works wonderfully!
Can see target boats altering course as vector goes red or green.

Took a lot of space and cabling and money.

Well worth it though?
Fair winds from Keith.

Sent from my ThL W7 using Cruisers Sailing Forum mobile app
__________________

__________________
Keith, "But I was born very young and grew up knowing little of the world!" http://surfmachine-surfmachine.blogspot.com.au/
surfmachine is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
ais

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 14:52.


Google+
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Social Knowledge Networks
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

ShowCase vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.