Cruisers Forum
 


Join CruisersForum Today

Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 06-05-2018, 21:43   #16
Registered User
 
Bigjim's Avatar

Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Waukegan, IL
Boat: Columbia 10.7
Posts: 381
Images: 90
Re: Depth transducer location

That's interesting. The box and the label attached to it all say that it is a P319. Someone is trying to pull a fast one, or they are hopelessly disorganized at Raymarine.
__________________

Bigjim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2018, 22:21   #17
Registered User

Join Date: Aug 2016
Location: Long Island, NY
Boat: Cal 33-2
Posts: 114
Re: Depth transducer location

The 30 year old Datamarine depth system on by Cal 33 stopped working a few years ago. Diagnosed it as a bad transducer. I bought a refurbished Norcross Hawkeye system with a transom mount/glue-in transducer (cost $70). Epoxied the Hawkeye transducer to the hull near the old Datamarine thru-hull transducer and spliced it into the old Datamarine wiring. Was able to get reliable readings up to 200 ft. Note that Norcross uses 200 kHz Airmar transducers which are compatible with many older depth systems.
__________________

__________________
S/V First Tracks
1985 Cal 33-2
JimsCAL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-05-2018, 08:19   #18
Registered User
 
Bigjim's Avatar

Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Waukegan, IL
Boat: Columbia 10.7
Posts: 381
Images: 90
Re: Depth transducer location

I have epoxied the PVC pipe to the bottom. I should be able to install the transducer this weekend.
Bigjim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-05-2018, 08:32   #19
Registered User

Join Date: Apr 2018
Location: Coming to a Marina Near You
Boat: Hallberg-Rassy 49
Posts: 294
Re: Depth transducer location

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bigjim View Post
That's interesting. The box and the label attached to it all say that it is a P319. Someone is trying to pull a fast one, or they are hopelessly disorganized at Raymarine.
Well, my Raymarine buddy finally got back to me and said it was a P319. But I called my buddy at JK Navigation, who has three on the shelf, and he says it is most certainly a P19. And I know I have installed a few and they have been P19. This Raymarine webpage says they are P19. And this Defender webpage says it's a P19.

Who knows what's going on...
__________________
Professional Reality Checker
KeelMe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-05-2018, 09:15   #20
Registered User
 
Bigjim's Avatar

Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Waukegan, IL
Boat: Columbia 10.7
Posts: 381
Images: 90
Re: Depth transducer location

I'm telling you that all the labels on the transducer say it's a P319. But you are right, the model number says it's only a P19. Sounds fishy to me.
__________________

Bigjim is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
depth

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
A Transducer is a Transducer, Correct? Herbseesmoore Marine Electronics 3 22-06-2013 06:23
Want To Buy: Raymarine Rotary Rudder Transducer and Fluxgate Transducer Kristian Classifieds Archive 0 22-02-2010 04:09
Depth transducer Thermal Marine Electronics 5 13-05-2007 02:30
removing a Depth Sounder Thru Hull Transducer chuck711 Construction, Maintenance & Refit 14 19-02-2007 16:29



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:15.


Google+
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Social Knowledge Networks
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

ShowCase vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.