Cruisers Forum
 


Join CruisersForum Today

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 18-07-2013, 23:49   #1
Marine Service Provider

Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 209
Depth Gauge Gives Wrong Readings, Raymarine

I have suddenly a problem with my about 10 years old depth gauge on a Raymarine ST60
It now always ready about 2.4 to 2.6 meters depth even though we have a depth of hundreds of meters but at least 20 meters and more. I assume this is an electrical problem. Has anybody a suggestion of to figure out what problem it is exactly? How can I track that down to the root cause?
__________________

__________________
myocean is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-07-2013, 04:03   #2
Moderator
 
Paul Elliott's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 3,872
Images: 4
Re: Depths Gauge gives wrong readings, Raymarine

Have you checked your hull and transducer for fouling? Weed that covers the transducer can really screw up the readings.
__________________

__________________
Paul Elliott, S/V VALIS - Pacific Seacraft 44 #16 - Friday Harbor, WA
www.sailvalis.com
Paul Elliott is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-07-2013, 06:46   #3
Registered User

Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Caribbean Sea
Boat: Wildcat 35
Posts: 202
Re: Depths Gauge gives wrong readings, Raymarine

The transducer is where I would start too. If it is inside the hull, make certain that it is still bonded to the hull securely.
__________________
DavidLGCrawford is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-07-2013, 07:40   #4
cruiser

Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Tampa Bay area
Boat: Hunter 31'
Posts: 5,731
Re: Depths Gauge gives wrong readings, Raymarine

Quote:
Originally Posted by myocean View Post
I have suddenly a problem with my about 10 years old depth gauge on a Raymarine ST60
It now always ready about 2.4 to 2.6 meters depth even though we have a depth of hundreds of meters but at least 20 meters and more. I assume this is an electrical problem. Has anybody a suggestion of to figure out what problem it is exactly? How can I track that down to the root cause?

If your transducer is exposed to the water, dive down and check that. If it's inside your boat, open it up and make sure the fluid hasn't leaked out. That happened to me once. If that's good, check the wiring. Check the strength of the signal through the wire. Are you sure it's not the screen readout?
__________________
Rakuflames is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-07-2013, 11:28   #5
********* Emeritus
 
SaucySailoress's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 8,236
Re: Depth Gauge Gives Wrong Readings, Raymarine

Mate, we have the same instruments, and same problem - although our instruments are a little older than ten years. And ours actually alternates with the wind guage - they take it in turn to work correctly!

It's not fouling, and it's not wiring. It's plain old old age. Throw the thing if you need reliable instruments. We keep ours cos we have a perfectly good wind vane (for when the wind instruments go) and an awesome new sonar depth sounder - so we keep the old instruments around for a laugh. And the speed thing still works - and we need that to record the max speeds for each helmsman on each voyage. Not that it's a race, of course. Not at all.

Oh, and the autopilot is fun too. It reads about a hundred degrees out, and won't be realigned no matter how carefully we follow the instructions. But it still holds a good course... so long as you can accept that it won't read the same number as on the GPS!!!
__________________

SaucySailoress is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-07-2013, 11:37   #6
Registered User
 
Teknav's Avatar

Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Texas - USA
Boat: Twin Otter de Havilland Floatplane
Posts: 1,838
Re: Depth Gauge Gives Wrong Readings, Raymarine

Hiya Saucy! In the middle east, just about anything in life is an approximation...

Mauritz
__________________

__________________
Retired - Don't Ask Me To Do A Damn Thing!
Teknav is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
raymarine, depth

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Raymarine C-Series Waypoint and Route Import + Export scotte Marine Electronics 42 18-09-2012 21:30
For Sale: Airmar Depth Transducer for Raymarine Instrument capnbob5698 Classifieds Archive 0 12-09-2011 17:24
Want To Buy: Raymarine Autohelm ST-50 Depth Display Unit Fairwinds88 Classifieds Archive 2 06-09-2011 08:16
For Sale: Raymarine st60+ Depth and Speed Control Heads av8rdj Classifieds Archive 1 18-07-2011 12:59
For Sale: Raymarine ST60+ Depth Display - Brand New In Box av8rdj Classifieds Archive 4 20-06-2011 23:14



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:07.


Google+
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Social Knowledge Networks
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

ShowCase vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.