Cruisers Forum
 


Join CruisersForum Today

Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 09-06-2019, 00:30   #1
Registered User
 
msmoraas's Avatar

Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Norway
Boat: Elan 384
Posts: 5
Dashes on Furuno radar display

Hi all

As you can see on the attached photo, when displaying the radar image on my Furuno 1623 the image is cluttered with faint dashes. Its also dashes when radar is in standby and the display shows nav-info.

But when accessing menus the display is clear. Any idea whats causing this?
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	DSC_0935.jpg
Views:	24
Size:	284.8 KB
ID:	193540  
msmoraas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2019, 16:24   #2
Moderator
 
JPA Cate's Avatar

Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: aboard, cruising in Australia
Boat: Sayer 46' Solent rig sloop
Posts: 16,041
Re: Dashes on Furuno radar display

If you mean the dots on the display, they are just noise. You might back off a tad on the gain. Actual dashes and dots will be displayed where there are racon signals. There is one near Goro in Havannah Pass in New Caledonia on one of the lighthouses on the reef, and the radar display shows the dash dash dit for "G".

Use the Custom Google Search on CF for a discussion of how to use the radar correctly. I forget where it is hiding (probably in the Navigation archives), but it was quite thorough.

Ann
__________________
Who scorns the calm has forgotten the storm.
JPA Cate is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2019, 23:00   #3
Registered User
 
msmoraas's Avatar

Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Norway
Boat: Elan 384
Posts: 5
Re: Dashes on Furuno radar display

Thanks for your reply, unfortunately the fix is not that easy :/ The dashes are present on all pages, even the startup page, when radar is off, and gain has no impact.

See attached , they are present even on the nav-info box below the radar screen. Its only when accsessing menus they disappear.

Edit: I recon the display unit is broken somehow, was hoping someone have had similar problems and knew of a fix.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	DSC_0934.JPG
Views:	11
Size:	259.7 KB
ID:	193609  
msmoraas is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
furuno, radar

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Xantrex xm1800 pro Showing dashes phorvati Electrical: Batteries, Generators & Solar 3 06-11-2018 05:52
Tacktick Wind All Dashes fla.sailor Marine Electronics 9 12-04-2013 18:17
For Sale: Furuno Radar 1721 Mark 2 Display and Scanner Unit jdecris Classifieds Archive 1 12-01-2013 12:00
For Sale: Furuno 1622 Radar / 15" Radome - Also rd-30 Multi Display pressuredrop Classifieds Archive 13 25-07-2011 09:33



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 21:26.


Google+
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Social Knowledge Networks
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

ShowCase vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.