Cruisers Forum
 


Join CruisersForum Today

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 18-04-2007, 10:31   #1
Registered User

Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Rhode Island
Boat: Tayana FD-12
Posts: 612
Images: 6
Connector for JRC 1000

The salty tropics are taking a toll on my electronics. the 10 wire connector at the panel of the JRC 1000 had deteriorated pretty badly. I managed to re-solder the wires into an old plug I had from before. I've heard that the unit will not even start if all connections are not good. So it took me few days of patient soldering to get the connections to work. So now the unit starts up, and the NMEA LAT/LON/Speed are being displayed along with all other radar functions. However after few days, the radar stopped functioning. When I press the xmit button the radar scan just stands still as opposed to sweeping across. I suspect that the wire carying 12V to the rotating antenna element has a bad connection and so the antenna is not rotating. Does anyone know which wire might that be?
Petar
__________________

__________________
phorvati is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-04-2007, 16:14   #2
Moderator Emeritus
 
Pblais's Avatar

Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Hayes, VA
Boat: Gozzard 36
Posts: 8,700
Images: 15
Send a message via Skype™ to Pblais
I had something like what happened to you but it was not at all related to the connector. The motor went bad. You could try to hear if the motor is working and no signal is coming or if the motor has stopped if it has voltage and is itself bad. Sometimes when you fix a problem you find a new one that was unrelated to the first. The same elements at work in another location. At least a motor isn't a huge bill.
__________________

__________________
Paul Blais
s/v Bright Eyes Gozzard 36
37 15.7 N 76 28.9 W
Pblais is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-04-2007, 12:24   #3
Registered User

Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Rhode Island
Boat: Tayana FD-12
Posts: 612
Images: 6
Got it to work. It was a weakly soldered wire that carries the ground side of the circuit for the motor. It was hanging by the last of tiny threads. As soon as I re-soldered it with enough connection surface the radar funstion started working. I hope it continues to work. JRC didn't respond to email at all. Few years back they did answer buch of installation questions via telephone. Anyway, I am glad its working again.
__________________
phorvati is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-03-2009, 12:18   #4
Registered User

Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 34
phorvati,

Are you sure we received your email? Our spam filters can be pretty strick sometimes.

Please email any questions you have to marineservice"at"jrcamerica.com.

We try to answer all questions the same day if possible.
__________________
JRC Support is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2009, 23:33   #5
Registered User

Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 3
JRC 1000 Radome connections

Hi, not sure if this thread is still active.
I have a JRC 1000 radar on my yacht. During shipping the mast was removed. unfortunately the persons removing the Radome from the mast just pulled the wires out and left the plugs in.
I am able to see the colors of the data cable, but the three power wires are pulled out with no colors left in the connector.
Is there anybody that has a unit that I can get a picture of the inside to get the locations of the 3 power wires?
The Plug is marked with a 1 on the one side but I am not sure of the order of these power wires.
Thanking you.
__________________
wolfh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2009, 09:38   #6
Registered User

Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 34
Hello Wolf,

The power wires will differ depending on the length of the cable you have. They will either be Green, Yellow and White if the cable is 15m or 20m or the wires will be Red, Blue and Orange.

It's not a big dea though. Here's how the break out:

Green or Red goes to the 1A pin which is pin number 1 of P1
Yellow or Blue goes to the 2A pin which is pin 2 of P1
White or Orange goes to the +12V pin which is pin 3 of P1

To make it a littel easier, the Green or Red wire will go into the connector at the position closest to the stepper motor. That is pin 1.

I hope this helps. Please let me know if there is anything else I can do for you.
__________________
JRC Support is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2009, 10:34   #7
Registered User

Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 3
JRC 1000 Radome

Many thanks for the reply with this information, I have the red, blue and orange wires.

This is a great help, I will now be able to re-assemble the plug power plug.

Again many thanks to the JRC Support team for a speedy reply.
__________________
wolfh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2009, 23:18   #8
Registered User

Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 3
In this day of shoddy service I mus again thank the guys at JRC America. Not only did they solve my problem in a most speedy way, they actually sent me a replacement part at no charge.

Keep up the good work at JRC.
__________________

__________________
wolfh is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
1000 days on a boat - POLL Benny Cruising News & Events 96 21-10-2008 21:57
kipor generators KevinE Electrical: Batteries, Generators & Solar 16 04-05-2006 19:45



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 14:14.


Google+
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Social Knowledge Networks
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

ShowCase vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.