Cruisers Forum
 


Join CruisersForum Today

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 12-08-2015, 08:22   #1
Registered User
 
phantomracer's Avatar

Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Boston, MA
Boat: 1968 Ohlson 38 Sloop
Posts: 773
Images: 9
Send a message via Yahoo to phantomracer
Connect ST7000/Type 1 AP to NMEA2000 using E22158

title says it all.

My boat has a N2k backbone and I want it to talk with the Autohelm/Raymarine ST7000/Type 1 Seatalk 1 autopilot (which works great)

I assume i need

E22158 converter
STng to NMEA2000 cable.

On the Seatalk 1 cable, I am not sure what to do:

I assume I cut the plug off the supplied ST1 cable and connect the yellow wire to the seatalk terminal on the AP (do I connect the red and bare wires or just the yellow?)

For power, will the E22158 get power from the N2k backbone, or will I have to hook up the red and bare wires as well.

I would guess the unit doesn't want power from both ends.
__________________

__________________
Paul S
Blog - https://www.facebook.com/ohlson38project
website http://www.mildredrose.com
phantomracer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-08-2015, 14:56   #2
Registered User

Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 62
Re: Connect ST7000/Type 1 AP to NMEA2000 using E22158

I used a loose connector from maertron. Then just cut the Seatalkng backbone cable and splice it on to the maetron n2k connector and hook it up to the n2k backnone. Do not put power at Both ends. The backbone will be powered thru the connection.
Click image for larger version

Name:	ImageUploadedByCruisers Sailing Forum1439844996.532121.jpg
Views:	105
Size:	85.2 KB
ID:	107482


Sent from my iPhone using Cruisers Sailing Forum
__________________

__________________
Flod is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-08-2015, 15:31   #3
Registered User
 
phantomracer's Avatar

Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Boston, MA
Boat: 1968 Ohlson 38 Sloop
Posts: 773
Images: 9
Send a message via Yahoo to phantomracer
Re: Connect ST7000/Type 1 AP to NMEA2000 using E22158

Thank you. I was asking about the ST1 cable. which wire do I use to the autohelm Seatalk1 autopilot? Yellow only or yellow, red, ground?
__________________
Paul S
Blog - https://www.facebook.com/ohlson38project
website http://www.mildredrose.com
phantomracer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-08-2015, 16:35   #4
Registered User
 
travellerw's Avatar

Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Martinique
Boat: Fortuna Island Spirit 40
Posts: 1,725
Re: Connect ST7000/Type 1 AP to NMEA2000 using E22158

What do you have for other gear...

On my boat, I just wired my Smart Pilot to the new Plotter using NMEA 0183. This allowed the AP to get data off the NMEA 2000 network and vise versa. Not all plotters will translate back and forth, but most modern ones do.
__________________
travellerw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-08-2015, 19:19   #5
Registered User
 
phantomracer's Avatar

Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Boston, MA
Boat: 1968 Ohlson 38 Sloop
Posts: 773
Images: 9
Send a message via Yahoo to phantomracer
Re: Connect ST7000/Type 1 AP to NMEA2000 using E22158

Quote:
Originally Posted by travellerw View Post
What do you have for other gear...

On my boat, I just wired my Smart Pilot to the new Plotter using NMEA 0183. This allowed the AP to get data off the NMEA 2000 network and vise versa. Not all plotters will translate back and forth, but most modern ones do.
I have a NMEA0183 converter (simrad AT10) connected between the AP and my N2k network, but the rudder sensor info wont pass to the n2k network from the AP.... and the wind info from the N2k network won't pass to the AP

apparently the raymarine converter will fix this..going through the seatalk port instead of the nmea0183 port
__________________
Paul S
Blog - https://www.facebook.com/ohlson38project
website http://www.mildredrose.com
phantomracer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-08-2015, 19:26   #6
Registered User
 
travellerw's Avatar

Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Martinique
Boat: Fortuna Island Spirit 40
Posts: 1,725
Re: Connect ST7000/Type 1 AP to NMEA2000 using E22158

Quote:
Originally Posted by phantomracer View Post
I have a NMEA0183 converter (simrad AT10) connected between the AP and my N2k network, but the rudder sensor info wont pass to the n2k network from the AP.... and the wind info from the N2k network won't pass to the AP

apparently the raymarine converter will fix this..going through the seatalk port instead of the nmea0183 port
Ahhh...

Sorry I don't know your answer, but if it was me, I would hook up all three. I'm guessing your converter will pull power from the Seatalk1 connection (this would make sense for a Raymarine product).
__________________
travellerw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-08-2015, 19:30   #7
Registered User
 
phantomracer's Avatar

Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Boston, MA
Boat: 1968 Ohlson 38 Sloop
Posts: 773
Images: 9
Send a message via Yahoo to phantomracer
Re: Connect ST7000/Type 1 AP to NMEA2000 using E22158

Quote:
Originally Posted by travellerw View Post
What do you have for other gear...

On my boat, I just wired my Smart Pilot to the new Plotter using NMEA 0183. This allowed the AP to get data off the NMEA 2000 network and vise versa. Not all plotters will translate back and forth, but most modern ones do.
attached is the system diagram of the new system..

still dont know which seatalk 1 cable to connect to the AP though
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	11127755_639253129543912_1396654312493839944_n.jpg
Views:	132
Size:	108.2 KB
ID:	107503  
__________________
Paul S
Blog - https://www.facebook.com/ohlson38project
website http://www.mildredrose.com
phantomracer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-08-2015, 19:47   #8
Registered User
 
phantomracer's Avatar

Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Boston, MA
Boat: 1968 Ohlson 38 Sloop
Posts: 773
Images: 9
Send a message via Yahoo to phantomracer
Re: Connect ST7000/Type 1 AP to NMEA2000 using E22158

Quote:
Originally Posted by travellerw View Post
Ahhh...

Sorry I don't know your answer, but if it was me, I would hook up all three. I'm guessing your converter will pull power from the Seatalk1 connection (this would make sense for a Raymarine product).
right..thats my question.. N2k is a powered network.. so it could get the power from there. the manual says not to get power from 2 sources.. just confused..

posted a message on raymarines site.. still not answered yet there.. might give them a call.
__________________
Paul S
Blog - https://www.facebook.com/ohlson38project
website http://www.mildredrose.com
phantomracer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-08-2015, 10:40   #9
Registered User
 
travellerw's Avatar

Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Martinique
Boat: Fortuna Island Spirit 40
Posts: 1,725
Re: Connect ST7000/Type 1 AP to NMEA2000 using E22158

Alright.. I still don't have an answer to your original question, but I did spot an issue in your design.

The E22158 is designed to be a backbone device. It cannot be connected to an NMEA 2000 network via a spur cable. It will need to be put at the end of your NMEA backbone with a terminator in one of the blue ports, then your other terminator will be your wind device. Personally, this would make me nervous as the E22158 isn't actually NMEA 2000 certified.

Would it be possible to connect the autopilot via the Helm Display over NMEA 0183. The only thing you would lose is rudder angle, which may not be a big deal if you have an AP control head that already shows that.
__________________
travellerw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-08-2015, 12:13   #10
Registered User
 
phantomracer's Avatar

Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Boston, MA
Boat: 1968 Ohlson 38 Sloop
Posts: 773
Images: 9
Send a message via Yahoo to phantomracer
Re: Connect ST7000/Type 1 AP to NMEA2000 using E22158

Quote:
Originally Posted by travellerw View Post
Alright.. I still don't have an answer to your original question, but I did spot an issue in your design.

The E22158 is designed to be a backbone device. It cannot be connected to an NMEA 2000 network via a spur cable. It will need to be put at the end of your NMEA backbone with a terminator in one of the blue ports, then your other terminator will be your wind device. Personally, this would make me nervous as the E22158 isn't actually NMEA 2000 certified.

Would it be possible to connect the autopilot via the Helm Display over NMEA 0183. The only thing you would lose is rudder angle, which may not be a big deal if you have an AP control head that already shows that.
Thanks...it helps..

I did have the AP hooked up with a NMEA0183 simrad AT10 converter. it worked but did not have rudder being sent to the N2k devices and wind data wasnt being send to the AP, but heading was. I was trying to replace the at10 with the raymarine unit, as it said it would pass the rudder, wind, heading info.

I did try and use the raymarine converter as a spur. I DID get rudder angle out of the AP and saw it on the NMEA displays and plotter.

I DIDN'T see the wind or heading info on the AP.

You think I might have a shot if I remove the terminator on my backbone, and connect the converter to where the terminator was, and use the terminator on the converter?

Or is there a better way to get it all (wind and heading on the AP) and rudder back to the N2k network?
__________________
Paul S
Blog - https://www.facebook.com/ohlson38project
website http://www.mildredrose.com
phantomracer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-08-2015, 13:26   #11
Registered User
 
travellerw's Avatar

Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Martinique
Boat: Fortuna Island Spirit 40
Posts: 1,725
Re: Connect ST7000/Type 1 AP to NMEA2000 using E22158

Quote:
Originally Posted by phantomracer View Post
Thanks...it helps..

I did have the AP hooked up with a NMEA0183 simrad AT10 converter. it worked but did not have rudder being sent to the N2k devices and wind data wasnt being send to the AP, but heading was. I was trying to replace the at10 with the raymarine unit, as it said it would pass the rudder, wind, heading info.

I did try and use the raymarine converter as a spur. I DID get rudder angle out of the AP and saw it on the NMEA displays and plotter.

I DIDN'T see the wind or heading info on the AP.

You think I might have a shot if I remove the terminator on my backbone, and connect the converter to where the terminator was, and use the terminator on the converter?

Or is there a better way to get it all (wind and heading on the AP) and rudder back to the N2k network?
I have never personally connected an E22158, but its all over the Raymarine forum that it must be connected as part of the backbone. There are quite a few posts where the Ray tech is very clear about this. There are also posts where people have wierd issues (missing data) when they try as a spur device.

Its worth a try, but I would keep an eye on the NMEA 2000 bus and monitor for errors. My worry would be that the Raymarine terminator is a different value then a certified NMEA 2000 terminator. Use your MFD to watch for errors on the bus once you have it all connected.
__________________
travellerw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-08-2015, 15:01   #12
Registered User
 
phantomracer's Avatar

Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Boston, MA
Boat: 1968 Ohlson 38 Sloop
Posts: 773
Images: 9
Send a message via Yahoo to phantomracer
Re: Connect ST7000/Type 1 AP to NMEA2000 using E22158

Quote:
Originally Posted by travellerw View Post
I have never personally connected an E22158, but its all over the Raymarine forum that it must be connected as part of the backbone. There are quite a few posts where the Ray tech is very clear about this. There are also posts where people have wierd issues (missing data) when they try as a spur device.

Its worth a try, but I would keep an eye on the NMEA 2000 bus and monitor for errors. My worry would be that the Raymarine terminator is a different value then a certified NMEA 2000 terminator. Use your MFD to watch for errors on the bus once you have it all connected.
thanks..

I was using it like the Simrad AT10 converter, which works on a spur well.

I posted a message on Raymarines site and never got a reply...still waiting for a call back from tech support.

So if putting this on the backbone doesn't work..then nothing really will, I assume... short of upgrading the AP (which is on the long term list, but this one is working quite well)
__________________
Paul S
Blog - https://www.facebook.com/ohlson38project
website http://www.mildredrose.com
phantomracer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-08-2015, 15:07   #13
Registered User
 
travellerw's Avatar

Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Martinique
Boat: Fortuna Island Spirit 40
Posts: 1,725
Re: Connect ST7000/Type 1 AP to NMEA2000 using E22158

Quote:
Originally Posted by phantomracer View Post
thanks..

I was using it like the Simrad AT10 converter, which works on a spur well.

I posted a message on Raymarines site and never got a reply...still waiting for a call back from tech support.

So if putting this on the backbone doesn't work..then nothing really will, I assume... short of upgrading the AP (which is on the long term list, but this one is working quite well)
My gut feeling is that putting it on the backbone will solve your problems..

I'm in the same boat as you since I have an old SmartPilot with an ST6002. I have no interest in replacing it as it functions like a champ. Like I said, I just settled for hooking it up to the MFD via NMEA0183 and not getting rudder angle on the NMEA2000 network. I looked at the E22158 but decided against it as it was extra expense and complexity for very little gain. I'm fine looking at my ST6002 to get the rudder angle.
__________________
travellerw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-08-2015, 22:35   #14
Registered User
 
CaptNemoO2's Avatar

Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Long Island
Boat: Beneteau Oceanis 510
Posts: 112
Re: Connect ST7000/Type 1 AP to NMEA2000 using E22158

I have the SeaTalk 1 to NG converter to link my Type 300 AP to my plotter and wind instruments. But I don't have a N2K backbone. Mine is hooked up to draw power from the STNG backbone, and the autopilot gets it's own power source. You can hook up the AP to the converter using just the yellow, or yellow and shield. As far as the AP not seeing data... I found that in order to get wind data from STNG to the AP, I needed power the AP first, then turn on the instruments (STNG backbone). I can't comment on heading, I'm still using the AP heading sensor, though I do have a B&G N2K gps/heading/heel sensor hooked up.

Sent from my SCH-I545 using Cruisers Sailing Forum mobile app
__________________
CaptNemoO2 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 19-08-2015, 15:07   #15
Registered User
 
Beausoleil's Avatar

Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Potomac Shores, VA USA
Boat: Formosa 51 Aft Cockpit Ketch - "Beausoleil"
Posts: 565
Images: 1
Re: Connect ST7000/Type 1 AP to NMEA2000 using E22158

Quote:
Originally Posted by travellerw View Post
Alright.. I still don't have an answer to your original question, but I did spot an issue in your design.

The E22158 is designed to be a backbone device. It cannot be connected to an NMEA 2000 network via a spur cable. It will need to be put at the end of your NMEA backbone with a terminator in one of the blue ports, then your other terminator will be your wind device. Personally, this would make me nervous as the E22158 isn't actually NMEA 2000 certified.

Would it be possible to connect the autopilot via the Helm Display over NMEA 0183. The only thing you would lose is rudder angle, which may not be a big deal if you have an AP control head that already shows that.
If the E22158 is connected properly, then it shouldn't be a problem.

If I remember correctly my Raymarine-ese, as depicted in the diagram, the E22158 will be the entire "STng backbone" - assuming that STng terminators are plugged into the two backbone connectors. And the correct way to connect it to an NMEA 2000 network is via a spur cable as indicated. That way each network (STng and NMEA2k) will appear to the other as a spur.

You'll probably need to power the E22158 via its supplied power cable; and make sure the SeaTalk1 cable is powered by the AP (don't connect the red power lead to the yellow ST1 cable - only use the bare/shield and the yellow data lead).
__________________

__________________
Cap'n Jon (KB1HTW)
S/V Beausoleil -1979 Formosa 51 Ketch
"If it's gonna happen, it's gonna happen out there." - Captain Ron
Beausoleil is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
nmea

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
how to receive rudder sensor data out of Autohelm ST7000/Type 1 phantomracer Marine Electronics 12 10-08-2015 07:29
For Sale: Raymarine Type 100 Autopilot & ST7000 Head irwin37 Classifieds Archive 4 31-03-2015 16:48
For Sale: E22158 Raymarine Coupler C Skip R Classifieds Archive 1 05-10-2013 10:37
Autohelm ST7000 Linear Drive Type 2 Needs Brushes varekai Marine Electronics 1 02-06-2012 08:02
Can I Connect 2 NMEA2000 Networks using Garmin Marine network? The_Gentleman Marine Electronics 2 21-05-2012 08:46



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:26.


Google+
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Social Knowledge Networks
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

ShowCase vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.