Cruisers Forum
 


Join CruisersForum Today

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 28-08-2015, 15:10   #46
Registered User
 
phantomracer's Avatar

Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Boston, MA
Boat: 1968 Ohlson 38 Sloop
Posts: 773
Images: 9
Send a message via Yahoo to phantomracer
Re: Connect ST7000/Type 1 AP to NMEA2000 using E22158

Quote:
Originally Posted by phantomracer View Post
my bad. didn't proofread the picture. updated pic. Had a brain cramp!
Finally got the new STng and N2k cables and spliced them Hooked them up on the backbone... no change still not seeing heading and wind on the ST1 Autopilot The rudder info IS being sent from the AP to the N2k system though.. It is working one way (as it did when I set it up as a spur).

I called Raymarine tech support. got a person, believe it or not!

Went through what I did. He said it should work. No other suggestions other than to send it into raymarine to have it checked out, in case there is a problem with the unit. He confirmed that it is on the latest version

I belive it IS wired up correctly (confirmed by the tech):
  • getting the 'wired correctly' blinks on the LED on the unit, that the STng and ST1 are talking
  • the rudder IS being sent from the AP to the N2k system, so data is being sent

It is set up on the backbone. The blue STng terminator is in and all the devices seem happy and talking to each other.

Any other thoughts or suggestions?

Thanks again!
__________________

__________________
Paul S
Blog - https://www.facebook.com/ohlson38project
website http://www.mildredrose.com
phantomracer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-08-2015, 20:44   #47
Registered User

Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Port Aransas, Texas
Boat: 2002 Seawind 1000 (33 ft) Cat
Posts: 840
Re: Connect ST7000/Type 1 AP to NMEA2000 using E22158

Did you test the cable you made for continuity?
__________________

__________________
sailjumanji is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-08-2015, 23:31   #48
Registered User
 
CaptNemoO2's Avatar

Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Long Island
Boat: Beneteau Oceanis 510
Posts: 112
Re: Connect ST7000/Type 1 AP to NMEA2000 using E22158

Quote:
Originally Posted by phantomracer View Post
Finally got the new STng and N2k cables and spliced them Hooked them up on the backbone... no change still not seeing heading and wind on the ST1 Autopilot The rudder info IS being sent from the AP to the N2k system though.. It is working one way (as it did when I set it up as a spur).

I called Raymarine tech support. got a person, believe it or not!

Went through what I did. He said it should work. No other suggestions other than to send it into raymarine to have it checked out, in case there is a problem with the unit. He confirmed that it is on the latest version

I belive it IS wired up correctly (confirmed by the tech):
  • getting the 'wired correctly' blinks on the LED on the unit, that the STng and ST1 are talking
  • the rudder IS being sent from the AP to the N2k system, so data is being sent

It is set up on the backbone. The blue STng terminator is in and all the devices seem happy and talking to each other.

Any other thoughts or suggestions?

Thanks again!
I stated this earlier, but maybe you could try this... I had the same problem. N2K wind was not getting passed through to the ST1 autopilot. What solved the problem was making sure the autopilot was turned on first, then turn on the N2K/STng network. If done the other way, the data was not passed on through the converter.


Sent from my SCH-I545 using Cruisers Sailing Forum mobile app
__________________
CaptNemoO2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-08-2015, 05:43   #49
Registered User
 
phantomracer's Avatar

Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Boston, MA
Boat: 1968 Ohlson 38 Sloop
Posts: 773
Images: 9
Send a message via Yahoo to phantomracer
Re: Connect ST7000/Type 1 AP to NMEA2000 using E22158

Quote:
Originally Posted by sailjumanji View Post
Did you test the cable you made for continuity?
Yup. I am getting data one way, and i reversed the cable. Basically , it is working the same as when i installed it as a spur
__________________
Paul S
Blog - https://www.facebook.com/ohlson38project
website http://www.mildredrose.com
phantomracer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-08-2015, 05:47   #50
Registered User
 
phantomracer's Avatar

Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Boston, MA
Boat: 1968 Ohlson 38 Sloop
Posts: 773
Images: 9
Send a message via Yahoo to phantomracer
Re: Connect ST7000/Type 1 AP to NMEA2000 using E22158

Quote:
Originally Posted by CaptNemoO2 View Post
I stated this earlier, but maybe you could try this... I had the same problem. N2K wind was not getting passed through to the ST1 autopilot. What solved the problem was making sure the autopilot was turned on first, then turn on the N2K/STng network. If done the other way, the data was not passed on through the converter.
I remember that. I did not try that. The AP and N2k are all turned on with the same breaker. I did try to turn the N2k on, then plug in the converter, and it was the same.

I was re-reading the updated manual, it says, if you have a ST1 autopilot, to power the converter with the AP's power and not power the backbone directly. I can't imagine that it makes a difference.. OTOH, if Raymarine goes out of its way to point out that one anomaly, then there might be something to that.

That is what I will try next, change the AP and N2k to different breakers and power the AP first , and power the converter through the AP and remove the 12v power spur from the system. See if that makes any difference.
__________________
Paul S
Blog - https://www.facebook.com/ohlson38project
website http://www.mildredrose.com
phantomracer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-08-2015, 20:14   #51
Registered User

Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Port Aransas, Texas
Boat: 2002 Seawind 1000 (33 ft) Cat
Posts: 840
Re: Connect ST7000/Type 1 AP to NMEA2000 using E22158

When I say test for continuity, I mean to use a meter to make sure each of the wires is continuous from end to end. My cheap electrical meter did this with an audible signal.
__________________
sailjumanji is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-08-2015, 21:34   #52
Registered User

Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: canada
Posts: 1,698
Re: Connect ST7000/Type 1 AP to NMEA2000 using E22158

disconnect the red wire between the AP and the converter. have only the yellow and shield. you are double powering the converter. and you are sending power from the n2k bus to the pilot seatalk port.
__________________
smac999 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-08-2015, 23:04   #53
Registered User
 
phantomracer's Avatar

Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Boston, MA
Boat: 1968 Ohlson 38 Sloop
Posts: 773
Images: 9
Send a message via Yahoo to phantomracer
Re: Connect ST7000/Type 1 AP to NMEA2000 using E22158

Quote:
Originally Posted by sailjumanji View Post
When I say test for continuity, I mean to use a meter to make sure each of the wires is continuous from end to end. My cheap electrical meter did this with an audible signal.
yes, of course
__________________
Paul S
Blog - https://www.facebook.com/ohlson38project
website http://www.mildredrose.com
phantomracer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-08-2015, 23:07   #54
Registered User
 
phantomracer's Avatar

Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Boston, MA
Boat: 1968 Ohlson 38 Sloop
Posts: 773
Images: 9
Send a message via Yahoo to phantomracer
Re: Connect ST7000/Type 1 AP to NMEA2000 using E22158

Quote:
Originally Posted by smac999 View Post
disconnect the red wire between the AP and the converter. have only the yellow and shield. you are double powering the converter. and you are sending power from the n2k bus to the pilot seatalk port.
I only have the yellow and shield connected. I never connected the red.

The updated manual says to power the converter with the AP (ie use all 3 wires) and NOT power the n2k (well, STng) with the power pigtail. havent tried that yet..
__________________

__________________
Paul S
Blog - https://www.facebook.com/ohlson38project
website http://www.mildredrose.com
phantomracer is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
nmea

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
how to receive rudder sensor data out of Autohelm ST7000/Type 1 phantomracer Marine Electronics 12 10-08-2015 07:29
For Sale: Raymarine Type 100 Autopilot & ST7000 Head irwin37 Classifieds Archive 4 31-03-2015 16:48
For Sale: E22158 Raymarine Coupler C Skip R Classifieds Archive 1 05-10-2013 10:37
Autohelm ST7000 Linear Drive Type 2 Needs Brushes varekai Marine Electronics 1 02-06-2012 08:02
Can I Connect 2 NMEA2000 Networks using Garmin Marine network? The_Gentleman Marine Electronics 2 21-05-2012 08:46



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:51.


Google+
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Social Knowledge Networks
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

ShowCase vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.