Cruisers Forum
 


Join CruisersForum Today

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 19-08-2015, 15:47   #16
Registered User
 
travellerw's Avatar

Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Martinique
Boat: Fortuna Island Spirit 40
Posts: 1,726
Re: Connect ST7000/Type 1 AP to NMEA2000 using E22158

Quote:
Originally Posted by Beausoleil View Post
If the E22158 is connected properly, then it shouldn't be a problem.

If I remember correctly my Raymarine-ese, as depicted in the diagram, the E22158 will be the entire "STng backbone" - assuming that STng terminators are plugged into the two backbone connectors. And the correct way to connect it to an NMEA 2000 network is via a spur cable as indicated. That way each network (STng and NMEA2k) will appear to the other as a spur.

You'll probably need to power the E22158 via its supplied power cable; and make sure the SeaTalk1 cable is powered by the AP (don't connect the red power lead to the yellow ST1 cable - only use the bare/shield and the yellow data lead).
I do not beleive that is correct.. I'm %90 sure Canbus is limited to a single backbone/trunk and has no provision to connect 2 trunks together. Since SeatalkNG is essentially a Canbus using proprietary connectors, that is what you would be doing in the scenario you describe.

The E22158 must be inserted in the Trunk/Backbone. I was worried that Raymarine might use different values of resistors for termination. You can easily test this with a multimeter, they should be 120 ohm.

The more I have read about Canbus over the last few days, the more confident I am that it will work if you insert the E22158 into the backbone. Here is one of the Raymarine forum posts about this!
Seatalk to NMEA2000 - Raymarine Technical Forum

P.S. I have found the answer to your first question. the E22158 can get power through the Canbus
Check E22158 software version - Raymarine Technical Forum
__________________

__________________
travellerw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-08-2015, 19:34   #17
Registered User
 
phantomracer's Avatar

Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Boston, MA
Boat: 1968 Ohlson 38 Sloop
Posts: 773
Images: 9
Send a message via Yahoo to phantomracer
Re: Connect ST7000/Type 1 AP to NMEA2000 using E22158

I will try and make it part of the backbone and see what happens..

also a couple other thoughts.. the following pdf I was using as inspiration

looking at it it says to use 3 terminators,,, but only 2 are supplied.. and 2 blanking plugs.

I put the 2 terminators in the blue ports.. the light was blinking showing it was hooked up correctly (could see the N2k and st1 networks) .. and got the rudder but nothing back to the AP...

so possibly making it part of the backbone will work..

this pdf apparently shows it as a spur and may get the data HE needed.. but obviously isnt working for me..
Attached Files
File Type: pdf SeaTalk HookUp.pdf (165.2 KB, 21 views)
__________________

__________________
Paul S
Blog - https://www.facebook.com/ohlson38project
website http://www.mildredrose.com
phantomracer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-08-2015, 19:47   #18
Registered User
 
phantomracer's Avatar

Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Boston, MA
Boat: 1968 Ohlson 38 Sloop
Posts: 773
Images: 9
Send a message via Yahoo to phantomracer
Re: Connect ST7000/Type 1 AP to NMEA2000 using E22158

Quote:
Originally Posted by travellerw View Post
I do not beleive that is correct.. I'm %90 sure Canbus is limited to a single backbone/trunk and has no provision to connect 2 trunks together. Since SeatalkNG is essentially a Canbus using proprietary connectors, that is what you would be doing in the scenario you describe.

The E22158 must be inserted in the Trunk/Backbone. I was worried that Raymarine might use different values of resistors for termination. You can easily test this with a multimeter, they should be 120 ohm.

The more I have read about Canbus over the last few days, the more confident I am that it will work if you insert the E22158 into the backbone. Here is one of the Raymarine forum posts about this!
Seatalk to NMEA2000 - Raymarine Technical Forum

P.S. I have found the answer to your first question. the E22158 can get power through the Canbus
Check E22158 software version - Raymarine Technical Forum
you mentioned earlier that it has to be at the end of the network. That can be done easily (just need to get a different STng to N2k cable)

so I would
1) remove the n2k terminator off my backbone
2) insert the STng converter to the end of the backbone with a n2k to STng cable
3) insert (I assume) terminator in the converter
** so now it is part of the backbone and terminated (assuming it is the correct value)

then I need to:
  1. connect the ST1 to STng cable between the AP and converter
    1. using yellow (or yellow and shield) wires
    2. converter should get power from the n2k backbone as it did before
  2. pray!

Question...
does it HAVE to be at the end of the backbone and terminated on the converter? or can the converter be placed in line earlier using 2 N2k to STng cables (one on each blue port. Then the backbone would still be terminated with the current correct terminator. Was just a thought. I have to buy another cable anyway (need a F end on the n2k cable, have a m end now) so i could put it in line..
__________________
Paul S
Blog - https://www.facebook.com/ohlson38project
website http://www.mildredrose.com
phantomracer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-08-2015, 19:51   #19
Registered User
 
phantomracer's Avatar

Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Boston, MA
Boat: 1968 Ohlson 38 Sloop
Posts: 773
Images: 9
Send a message via Yahoo to phantomracer
Re: Connect ST7000/Type 1 AP to NMEA2000 using E22158

I do appreciate all the brain power put on this issue.. have learned a lot.

still waiting to hear back from Raymarine (from their callback service and their forum) on this issue.

But I think if it becomes part of the backbone it should work..at least it makes sense in my head..

STng is a superset of N2k from what I understand (like simnet).. so in theory it should work... but only time will tell
__________________
Paul S
Blog - https://www.facebook.com/ohlson38project
website http://www.mildredrose.com
phantomracer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-08-2015, 20:22   #20
Senior Cruiser
 
DeepFrz's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Winnipeg
Boat: None at this time
Posts: 7,930
Re: Connect ST7000/Type 1 AP to NMEA2000 using E22158

This is incredible. How simple it would have been for Raymarine to include proper documentation with their product. They have made it exceptionally difficult to use by not doing so.
__________________
The Blue Dot Campaign. This Changes Everything.
DeepFrz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-08-2015, 20:46   #21
Senior Cruiser
 
DeepFrz's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Winnipeg
Boat: None at this time
Posts: 7,930
Re: Connect ST7000/Type 1 AP to NMEA2000 using E22158

Raymarine SeaTalk NG Networking
This document might help to clear it up. You need to splice a NMEA 2000 and a SeaTalk_ng cable together. The SeaTalk_ng to SeaTalk converter kit then is inserted into the N2K backbone. It doesn't need to be at the end but if it isn't you need to splice another 2 cables at the other side of the converter. Then you can use the converter for three SeaTalk or SeaTalk_ng drops.

Instead of splicing cables you can buy adapter cables.
__________________
The Blue Dot Campaign. This Changes Everything.
DeepFrz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-08-2015, 21:05   #22
Registered User
 
phantomracer's Avatar

Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Boston, MA
Boat: 1968 Ohlson 38 Sloop
Posts: 773
Images: 9
Send a message via Yahoo to phantomracer
Re: Connect ST7000/Type 1 AP to NMEA2000 using E22158

Quote:
Originally Posted by DeepFrz View Post
This is incredible. How simple it would have been for Raymarine to include proper documentation with their product. They have made it exceptionally difficult to use by not doing so.
They do have documentation but doesn't show everything. It even says so in the manual. I also didn't read it! LOL.

They should have at least shown how to connect it to a n2k network, as it is a popular use of it
__________________
Paul S
Blog - https://www.facebook.com/ohlson38project
website http://www.mildredrose.com
phantomracer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-08-2015, 21:07   #23
Registered User
 
phantomracer's Avatar

Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Boston, MA
Boat: 1968 Ohlson 38 Sloop
Posts: 773
Images: 9
Send a message via Yahoo to phantomracer
Re: Connect ST7000/Type 1 AP to NMEA2000 using E22158

Quote:
Originally Posted by DeepFrz View Post
Raymarine SeaTalk NG Networking
This document might help to clear it up. You need to splice a NMEA 2000 and a SeaTalk_ng cable together. The SeaTalk_ng to SeaTalk converter kit then is inserted into the N2K backbone. It doesn't need to be at the end but if it isn't you need to splice another 2 cables at the other side of the converter. Then you can use the converter for three SeaTalk or SeaTalk_ng drops.

Instead of splicing cables you can buy adapter cables.
Since I'd have to buy n2k cables to splice, it is easier and less expensive to just buy the n2k to STng cable premade
__________________
Paul S
Blog - https://www.facebook.com/ohlson38project
website http://www.mildredrose.com
phantomracer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-08-2015, 22:01   #24
Registered User

Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: canada
Posts: 1,700
Re: Connect ST7000/Type 1 AP to NMEA2000 using E22158

It works fine as a spur as long as you don't put the blue resistors in. If you only have one thing pluged in (sea talk 1 cable). Then It's only a single item drop anyways. If you use all ng plugs on the converter then you'd want it in the bus

Since the pilot head is probably already connected to the ap. and powered from the ap through sea talk 1. just connect the yellow and sheid only from the sea talk cable to converter. The pilot will power the control head. The n2k will power the converter.

I have put a few in. Sometimes as a drop and sometimes as the bus. Depending if other seatalk ng cables were needed

There is no need to put it on the end of the n2k bus. It can go anywhere in bus. But if it goes in middle you need to make 2 converter cables instead of one. And you'd make them with blue backbone cables. Not the white one shown in pic
__________________
smac999 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-08-2015, 22:08   #25
Registered User

Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: canada
Posts: 1,700
Re: Connect ST7000/Type 1 AP to NMEA2000 using E22158

Quote:
Originally Posted by phantomracer View Post
Since I'd have to buy n2k cables to splice, it is easier and less expensive to just buy the n2k to STng cable premade
Nobody makes a n2k to seatalk ng backbone cable. Which is what you need to put converter in the bus. Only seatalkng drop cable.
__________________
smac999 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-08-2015, 22:15   #26
Registered User

Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: canada
Posts: 1,700
Re: Connect ST7000/Type 1 AP to NMEA2000 using E22158

Quote:
Originally Posted by phantomracer View Post
attached is the system diagram of the new system..

still dont know which seatalk 1 cable to connect to the AP though
Where is your pilot control head? It will already have seatalk cable between pilot and display.
__________________
smac999 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-08-2015, 22:35   #27
Senior Cruiser
 
DeepFrz's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Winnipeg
Boat: None at this time
Posts: 7,930
Re: Connect ST7000/Type 1 AP to NMEA2000 using E22158

Quote:
Nobody makes a n2k to seatalk ng backbone cable. Which is what you need to put converter in the bus. Only seatalkng drop cable.
I thought I saw it in there someplace but probably my dyslexia.
__________________
The Blue Dot Campaign. This Changes Everything.
DeepFrz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-08-2015, 03:42   #28
Registered User
 
phantomracer's Avatar

Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Boston, MA
Boat: 1968 Ohlson 38 Sloop
Posts: 773
Images: 9
Send a message via Yahoo to phantomracer
Re: Connect ST7000/Type 1 AP to NMEA2000 using E22158

Quote:
Originally Posted by DeepFrz View Post
I thought I saw it in there someplace but probably my dyslexia.
Wouldn't this work?

http://www.defender.com/product3.jsp...879&id=1108756
__________________
Paul S
Blog - https://www.facebook.com/ohlson38project
website http://www.mildredrose.com
phantomracer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-08-2015, 10:13   #29
Registered User

Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: canada
Posts: 1,700
Re: Connect ST7000/Type 1 AP to NMEA2000 using E22158

Quote:
Originally Posted by phantomracer View Post
That is an ng drop cable. Designed to put a single ng device into a n2k network. The ng backbone cables are blue and have a different connector. To convert the bus you'd need an ng backbone to n2k. I just make my own with maretron field ends.
__________________
smac999 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-08-2015, 10:41   #30
Registered User

Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: canada
Posts: 1,700
Re: Connect ST7000/Type 1 AP to NMEA2000 using E22158

Quote:
Originally Posted by smac999 View Post
That is an ng drop cable. Designed to put a single ng device into a n2k network. The ng backbone cables are blue and have a different connector. To convert the bus you'd need an ng backbone to n2k. I just make my own with maretron field ends.
That cable would work if you put the converter in as a drop. But not as a bus.
__________________

__________________
smac999 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
nmea

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
how to receive rudder sensor data out of Autohelm ST7000/Type 1 phantomracer Marine Electronics 12 10-08-2015 07:29
For Sale: Raymarine Type 100 Autopilot & ST7000 Head irwin37 Classifieds Archive 4 31-03-2015 16:48
For Sale: E22158 Raymarine Coupler C Skip R Classifieds Archive 1 05-10-2013 10:37
Autohelm ST7000 Linear Drive Type 2 Needs Brushes varekai Marine Electronics 1 02-06-2012 08:02
Can I Connect 2 NMEA2000 Networks using Garmin Marine network? The_Gentleman Marine Electronics 2 21-05-2012 08:46



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:54.


Google+
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Social Knowledge Networks
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

ShowCase vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.