Cruisers Forum

Go Back   Cruisers & Sailing Forums > Engineering & Systems > Marine Electronics
Cruiser Wiki Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Log in

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 10-02-2010, 07:55   #1

Boat: Amel Super Maramu
Comar AIS Receiver and Splitter

I am actually evaluating AIS receivers. Does anybody have experience with Comar AIS receiver & splitter? Is this a good choice or is the ICOM MXA-5000 the better one? Thanks for any reply.
Regards Paul
Polo2010 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2010, 09:58   #2

We are in the process of evaluating AIS also here at the Naval Academy for the new fleet of sailboats. I have little hands on experience with this so I can't speak for one unit or another but the one thing that I do not like about Comar splitters is that they come with pigtail cables instead of jacks on the unit. The cable for attachment to the VHF is 1 meter long and for the AIS unit, 2 meters. This limits where you can put the thing unless you want to use extension cables which I don't like to do. We've been looking at the EasySplit splitter.

Eric
fairbank56 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2010, 10:51   #3

Boat: Schock 35
Drop an e-mail to Mike Mills at Milltech Marine. He sells several different units and can advise you on which one is best for your boat. Many members of our Yacht Club have bought from him and are very happy with the selection.

Welcome to Milltech Marine - your AIS experts
Tom Spohn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2010, 12:11   #4

Boat: Northwind 50 - 50ft - Camille