Cruisers Forum
 


Join CruisersForum Today

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 09-05-2008, 09:51   #1
Registered User

Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 1
Cmapecs help for newbie

Hi. This is my first post to the forum. I'm not a yachting person, but I'm trying to get a Cmapecs system working for a friend of mine (who's not an I/T person, but is a yachting person ). I have a problem with configuring Cmapecs on a laptop. I have installed the software but cannot seem to configure it correctly. When I start the program, I get a message box saying: "NMEA port doesn't open". I've tried to configure the software using the ECS Configuration page and the NMEA tab, but when I enter the Talker as GPS and try to find a COM port, it doesn't show me any COM ports in the dropdown list.

Would it be easier to configure the software for a USB port? (It's quite an old laptop, but there is a USB port...)

Many thanks in advance for any assistance. Peter.
__________________

__________________
PetervH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2008, 11:23   #2
Senior Cruiser

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Nevada City. CA
Boat: Sceptre 41
Posts: 3,745
Images: 9
Hi Peter:

I know you ssaid that the laptop was old. Is the software old? If it is the old "Russian Version" of the software you will need to run it in the simulator mode where the color is not as good as the current. If that is the case and you need help I will get the info for you on how to start it. I did a quick search on my computer put couldn't find it. I'll look harder if you need.
__________________

__________________
Fair Winds,

Charlie

Between us there was, as I have already said somewhere, the bond of the sea. Besides holding our hearts together through long periods of separation, it had the effect of making us tolerant of each other's yarns -- and even convictions. Heart of Darkness
Joseph Conrad
Charlie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2008, 15:59   #3
Long Range Cruiser
 
MarkJ's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Australian living on "Sea Life" currently in England.
Boat: Beneteau 393 "Sea Life"
Posts: 12,828
Images: 25
Is that with a Garmin hand portable GPS?

The GPS may not actually have NMEA but a Garmin system that pretends to be NMEA.

It does work, I have forgotten the solution to it, I think theres another option to use instead of searching for an nmea connection.


Hope this helps



Mark
__________________
Notes on a Circumnavigation.
OurLifeAtSea.com

Somalia Pirates and our Convoy
MarkJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-09-2008, 03:23   #4
Registered User

Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 7
Hi Peter

Did you ever resolve this one....I have the same setup and it works brilliantly....withe either a hand held gps or the boats main gps.....sometimes it needs just a little longer to aquire the serial port....I'm not sure there is a version that works with USB direct

Steve
__________________
stephenmartin is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Hello from a Newbie tybee Meets & Greets 11 15-09-2009 03:12
newbie- help kingpin320 Meets & Greets 2 06-08-2007 20:54
another newbie saying hello svOnWatch Meets & Greets 1 30-12-2006 21:27
Help out a newbie? vilanomark Multihull Sailboats 3 03-03-2006 07:49
another newbie Jerry Meets & Greets 3 08-02-2006 03:00



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 13:01.


Google+
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Social Knowledge Networks
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

ShowCase vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.