Cruisers Forum
 


Join CruisersForum Today

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 26-01-2015, 15:23   #16
Senior Cruiser
 
colemj's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Presently on US East Coast
Boat: Manta 40 "Reach"
Posts: 10,049
Images: 12
Re: class A AIS

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dockhead View Post
The deal-breaker for me for Class "A" AIS is the fact that you have to program it with voyage data every time you go out.

Theoretically, you even have to reprogram it every time you go from sail to power or back.

This is fine for ships, but not suitable for casual or short-handed sailing.
What does "have to" mean? We have certainly experienced commercial ships with incorrect voyage information showing on their AIS. Even anchored ones moving at quite a clip, as well as ones in transit showing as anchored.

How does the AIS know what the ship is doing or where it is going?

Mark
__________________

__________________
www.svreach.com

You do not need a parachute to skydive. You only need a parachute to skydive twice.
colemj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-01-2015, 16:06   #17
Moderator
 
Dockhead's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Cowes (Winter), Baltic (Summer) (the boat!); somewhere in the air (me!)
Boat: Cutter-Rigged Moody 54
Posts: 19,741
Re: class A AIS

Quote:
Originally Posted by colemj View Post
What does "have to" mean? We have certainly experienced commercial ships with incorrect voyage information showing on their AIS. Even anchored ones moving at quite a clip, as well as ones in transit showing as anchored.

How does the AIS know what the ship is doing or where it is going?

Mark
You have to enter the data every time you leave or arrive or change status. It's designed for well-crewed commercial vessels, not us.

Yes, many ships have the wrong data entered. I would not want to sail around broadcasting Class "A" with the wrong data in it, worse than defeating the purpose.
__________________

__________________
Dockhead is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 26-01-2015, 16:10   #18
Senior Cruiser
 
Jim Cate's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: May 2008
Location: cruising SW Pacific
Boat: Jon Sayer 1-off 46 ft fract rig sloop strip plank in W Red Cedar
Posts: 11,447
Re: class A AIS

Yet another reason that I will never join such a rally!

Jim
__________________
Jim and Ann s/v Insatiable II , lying Port Cygnet, Tasmania once again
Jim Cate is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-01-2015, 16:39   #19
Marine Service Provider
 
Emmalina's Avatar

Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Thailand
Boat: Herreshoff Caribbean 50
Posts: 482
Re: class A AIS

Class A was developed for commercial shipping ! They developed class B for pleasure craft with a lower tx power and less frequent TX so they don't "clutter up" busy ports. Why the ARC require a class A is ignorance or a typo IMHO
__________________
Steve .. It was the last one that did this !
Emmalina is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-01-2015, 17:00   #20
Senior Cruiser
 
colemj's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Presently on US East Coast
Boat: Manta 40 "Reach"
Posts: 10,049
Images: 12
Re: class A AIS

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dockhead View Post
You have to enter the data every time you leave or arrive or change status. It's designed for well-crewed commercial vessels, not us.

Yes, many ships have the wrong data entered. I would not want to sail around broadcasting Class "A" with the wrong data in it, worse than defeating the purpose.
I see, so class A has data fields that are available to be filled, not that they have to be filled in order for the AIS to work.

If so, then it is simple - just leave those fields blank.

Or fill them with the words most commonly heard out of the mouths of these WARCer's: "We're going around the world!".

Mark
__________________
www.svreach.com

You do not need a parachute to skydive. You only need a parachute to skydive twice.
colemj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-01-2015, 17:30   #21
Registered User
 
ka4wja's Avatar

Join Date: May 2007
Location: Florida
Boat: Catalina 470
Posts: 2,033
Re: class A AIS

Well it looks like MarkJ is correct here guys!!!

RDW, not sure who sent you the World ARC info, or when....but it appears you were given an old doc (with either a typo or old information)....
Quote:
Originally Posted by RDW View Post
I need to upgrade to class A AIS. Required for World Arc.
Quote:
Originally Posted by MarkJ View Post
I just checked and the World ARC does not require Class A. It requires either Class A or Class B

http://www.worldcruising.com/CMS/CMS/Library/Safety_Regs/WCC_2015_Safety_Equipment_Regulations_ENG_Web.pdf

There ya go, I just saved you over $2,000!!!!! Raymarine 650 Class B is about $900.

Quote:
Originally Posted by transmitterdan View Post
This is their safety requirements:
http://www.worldcruising.com/CMS/CMS/Library/Safety_Regs/WCC_2014_Safety_Equipment_Regulations_ENG.pdf
And yes, they require a class A transponder.
Quote:
Originally Posted by colemj View Post
Strange, the 2015 world ARC is currently swarming around us now, and almost all of them have class B AIS.
Quote:
Originally Posted by transmitterdan View Post
From 2015 onwards they require class A I think.
Quote:
Originally Posted by RDW View Post
MarkJ
The the information I received from World Cruising stated class A transponder.
I checked again after your post.
Thanks for trying to save me $
rdw
On first glance, the links appear to be the same document, but they are not!!!

The earlier doc that RDW has...
http://www.worldcruising.com/CMS/CMS...ations_ENG.pdf
Shows "2014" at the top, and "c World Cruising Club, 2013-14" at the bottom of the pages....
(and does list a Class A AIS transponder as being required....by mistake or oversight, I assume...)


The new doc that MarkJ posted the link for....
http://www.worldcruising.com/CMS/CMS...ns_ENG_Web.pdf
Shows "2015" at the top, and "c World Cruising club 2014-15" at the bottom of the pages....
(and this newer doc lists either a Class A or Class B transponder, as being required...)

So....

So, whether the earlier doc was in error or an oversight, etc. I have no idea...
But, it seems clear that going forward the World ARC is requiring either a Class A or Class B AIS transponder....

(and for their racing division, they use the ISAF Cat 1 standards / "special regulations" as their basis of their requirements....)


I hope this helps clarify things....
And, RDW, MarkJ DID just save you $2000!!! (so you owe him a cold Fosters!


fair winds...

John
s/v Annie Laurie
__________________
ka4wja is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-01-2015, 18:03   #22
RDW
Registered User

Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Lexington, Kentucky
Boat: Morris 1996 46' Lexington
Posts: 378
Re: class A AIS

My information came directly from World Cruising.
I have read it again.
I just emailed them for more clarification.
Thanks for everyone's concern and help.
rdw
__________________
RDW is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-01-2015, 18:35   #23
Registered User
 
ka4wja's Avatar

Join Date: May 2007
Location: Florida
Boat: Catalina 470
Posts: 2,033
Re: class A AIS

RDW,
Not questioning that World Cruising sent you the doc....
But, look at the doc....does it say "2015" on the top, and "c World Cruising Club 2014-15" at the bottom of the pages???
I assume it says "2014" at the top, and "c World Cruising Club 2013-14" at the bottom of the pages???
Quote:
Originally Posted by RDW View Post
My information came directly from World Cruising.
I have read it again.
If my assumption is correct, they sent you last year's information....honest error, no big deal!!



Good luck....

BTW, I'm with Dockhead on this one....having to input the additional data all the time, etc. is just one more reason to save the $$$$ and NOT install a Class A unit!!!


Fair winds...

John
s/v Annie Laurie
__________________
ka4wja is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-01-2015, 20:05   #24
RDW
Registered User

Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Lexington, Kentucky
Boat: Morris 1996 46' Lexington
Posts: 378
Re: class A AIS

Looked again and it is titled world arc 2016-2017
I also emailed them for clarification.
rdw
__________________
RDW is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-01-2015, 21:04   #25
Registered User
 
ka4wja's Avatar

Join Date: May 2007
Location: Florida
Boat: Catalina 470
Posts: 2,033
Re: class A AIS

Okay, let's see what they say....
Quote:
Originally Posted by RDW View Post
Looked again and it is titled world arc 2016-2017
I also emailed them for clarification.
rdw
But, remember Jimmy is getting up there in years....and I'm not sure anyone/everyone at the WCC is very well versed in these specifics....
Not to mention that most of these things are never proof-read by anyone technical....


Fair winds...

John
s/v Annie Laurie
__________________
ka4wja is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-01-2015, 06:14   #26
Registered User
 
denverd0n's Avatar

Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Tampa, FL
Posts: 3,949
Images: 6
Re: class A AIS

Quote:
Originally Posted by ka4wja View Post
Well it looks like MarkJ is correct here guys!!!
Yep.

Quote:
Originally Posted by ka4wja View Post
And, RDW, MarkJ DID just save you $2000!!! (so you owe him a cold Fosters! )
Or eight or ten, along with a nice steak dinner to wash down with them!
__________________
denverd0n is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-01-2015, 06:36   #27
RDW
Registered User

Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Lexington, Kentucky
Boat: Morris 1996 46' Lexington
Posts: 378
Re: class A AIS

Quote:
Originally Posted by ka4wja View Post
Okay, let's see what they say....
But, remember Jimmy is getting up there in years....and I'm not sure anyone/everyone at the WCC is very well versed in these specifics....
Not to mention that most of these things are never proof-read by anyone technical....


Fair winds...

John
s/v Annie Laurie
Jimmy sold it around 2011. A pretty organized group runs it now. The do several different rallys. To me they appear to do a very good job. The stuff they send out gets read and questioned by the skippers that are trying to meet all their requirements.
rdw
__________________
RDW is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-01-2015, 07:09   #28
Long Range Cruiser
 
MarkJ's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Australian living on "Sea Life" currently in England.
Boat: Beneteau 393 "Sea Life"
Posts: 12,828
Images: 25
Re: class A AIS

Quote:
Originally Posted by ka4wja View Post
Well it looks like MarkJ is correct
Yay!

Well, I hope so!

There would be a large number of rather angry people if forced to change their Class B to Class A. I dont think the W Arc is that stupid. But one never knows.
__________________
Notes on a Circumnavigation.
OurLifeAtSea.com

Somalia Pirates and our Convoy
MarkJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-01-2015, 09:59   #29
Nearly an old salt
 
goboatingnow's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 13,649
Images: 3
Re: class A AIS

Class B by the way was developed primarily for fishing boats not yachts etc
__________________
Check out my new blog on smart boat technology, networking and gadgets for the connected sailor! - http://smartboats.tumblr.com
goboatingnow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-01-2015, 10:49   #30
RDW
Registered User

Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Lexington, Kentucky
Boat: Morris 1996 46' Lexington
Posts: 378
Re: class A AIS

It is really going to be interesting how this turns out.
If you want to see for yourself and interested, I emailed mail@worldcruising.com and asked for detailed information about the World ARC 2015-2016. Make sure you are not asking about other lessor rallies or earlier World ARCs.
I may get World Cruising to post to the thread.
Now the real question was can I just plug in a new class a transponder where my old class b was. I think I know from a little reading that the class a has more features, own GPS, own antenna and therefore I can not do a real simple exchange one unit for the other. So for the fun of it lets assume that indeed I have to have a class A transponder, has anyone experience doing the install yourself. I have a Raymarine E 80 chart plotter, raymarine radar and sea talk and also have a lap top connected to the whole mess.
RDW
__________________

__________________
RDW is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
ais

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Icom MA-500TR Class B AIS - Anyone Used it Yet ? beetle Marine Electronics 19 22-09-2017 11:17
AIS Class B Can Be Filtered Out by Big Ship Radars goboatingnow Marine Electronics 28 30-01-2012 03:10
Simrad Class B AIS via Simnet to NX40 Connector ? SvenG Marine Electronics 11 13-03-2011 15:59
Class B AIS ozboatie Marine Electronics 4 27-06-2010 09:40
Class B AIS finally approved AnchorageGuy Navigation 12 22-09-2008 10:19



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:32.


Google+
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Social Knowledge Networks
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

ShowCase vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.