Cruisers Forum
 


Join CruisersForum Today

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 27-09-2015, 22:45   #1
Registered User

Join Date: May 2015
Location: Newport, OR
Boat: 1983 Catalina 27
Posts: 57
Chartplotter

I have a Lowrance chartplotter, new, it clearly has a power connection for 12V the other wire they refer to as the data cord. I need to go down stream right away any reason to believe I can't just plug in for power and tell where am with out doing the data cord too? I suspect the data cord goes to the VHF? Thanks
__________________

__________________
fgraham is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-09-2015, 22:52   #2
Registered User
 
travellerw's Avatar

Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Martinique
Boat: Fortuna Island Spirit 40
Posts: 1,725
Re: Chartplotter

It would help a lot if you listed the model number!
__________________

__________________
travellerw is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 28-09-2015, 00:04   #3
Registered User

Join Date: May 2015
Location: Newport, OR
Boat: 1983 Catalina 27
Posts: 57
Re: Chartplotter

Elite-4mhd
__________________
fgraham is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-09-2015, 00:12   #4
Registered User
 
travellerw's Avatar

Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Martinique
Boat: Fortuna Island Spirit 40
Posts: 1,725
Re: Chartplotter

That plotter has a built in GPS.. So yes, you can simply hook it up to 12V and use it for navigation. You probably want to keep it in the cockpit as the internal GPSs sometimes aren't strong enough to work through the cabin.

The data cable they talk about is NMEA0183. It can be hooked to any device that speaks NMEA0183 (Wind meter, Fluxgate compass, VHF, AIS, ect).
__________________
travellerw is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 29-09-2015, 03:06   #5
Registered User
 
northoceanbeach's Avatar

Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: California
Boat: Cape Dory 28
Posts: 445
Re: Chartplotter

Plug it in and o. Lowlands are good plotters do the money, can I assume I came with charts installed ? Lots come with navionics gold. Enjoy your trip, where are you going?
northoceanbeach is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
chartplotter

« AIS | xm/fm radio »
Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Simrad nsc8 chartplotter, charts to use and how to add them to chartplotter chrismin Marine Electronics 1 10-11-2013 12:21
To Chartplotter or not to Chartplotter, that is the question. tardog Navigation 44 20-03-2011 17:56
Interface Raymarine chartplotter to Autopilot tilmonday Marine Electronics 4 18-05-2006 09:16
Chartplotter or not?! Rippy Marine Electronics 25 16-04-2006 10:12
chartplotter/fish finder jerry f Marine Electronics 6 12-08-2005 21:01



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:15.


Google+
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Social Knowledge Networks
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

ShowCase vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.