Cruisers Forum
 


Join CruisersForum Today

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 05-11-2015, 17:58   #16
Registered User

Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Port Aransas, Texas
Boat: 2002 Seawind 1000 (33 ft) Cat
Posts: 840
Re: Cannot read Raymarine ST70 wind transducer pod data from B&G MFD

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rusty007 View Post
The backwards compatibility in SeaTalkNg is for SeaTalk1.
Only if you have a Seatalk to SeatalkNg converter. I am using one of those to convert my Seatalk data coming from ST60 instruments to SeatalkNg, and thereby get Seatalk data onto the N2K. My B&G Zeus2 GPS data is on the same N2K network, and the converter allows the Raymarine S1 autopilot to see the data coming from Zeus2. The converter makes it backwards compatable, IMHO. Not using NMEA0183 wires.

I looked up the ST70, and it says it is SeatalkNg. So it should hook directly into the N2K network using a spur cable. SeatalkNg and NMEA2000 (N2K) are the same thing. OMG, just ignore NMEA0183, sixth pin, or whatever. This is not difficult, but it has to be done exactly correct. Just need to get the right cable and pay attention to backbone and spur connections to instruments. If I were you, I would concentrate on getting all data onto the N2K network, and avoid any extra NMEA0183 hookups. Very clean installation. All one language (i.e., N2K). All equipment on the network (N2K) can see data from other instruments. Don't confuse your daisy-chained, Seatalk cable-connected instruments as sharing N2K network data, because they are not. But one end of that daisy chain needs to be hooked up to N2K network, so that Zeus MFD can see that data.

Am I missing something here?
__________________

__________________
sailjumanji is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2015, 00:38   #17
Registered User

Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Germany
Boat: Beneteau Sense 43
Posts: 53
Re: Cannot read Raymarine ST70 wind transducer pod data from B&G MFD

Thanks for the additional information and background. It was helpful to hear that it basically should work.

What I will try next is to disconnect the existing Spur connection between ST70 pod and the "old" physical end of the NMEA2k bus (the Seatalk NG side) and connect it to the new part where the new components sit. Logically and electrically this is identical, but maybe there are subtle problems with the bus itself which may disappear when relocating the device to a different position on the bus.
Will take some time, though, next visit to my boat is after Christmas...



Sent from my iPhone using Cruisers Sailing Forum
__________________

__________________
mbartosch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2015, 07:49   #18
Registered User

Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Port Aransas, Texas
Boat: 2002 Seawind 1000 (33 ft) Cat
Posts: 840
Re: Cannot read Raymarine ST70 wind transducer pod data from B&G MFD

I am having difficulty understanding your terminology. The N2K network is typically made up of a backbone of cables connecting T's, and spur cables to the instruments coming off of the T's. The backbone cables come into the T on the left side, and exit the right side, and connect to the next T. At the beginning and end of the backbone you need termination plugs.

Each of the N2K instruments are connected to the bottom of the T, using a spur cable for each. Your B&G MFD should have a spur cable coming from it to a T on the backbone. The wind should have a spur cable coming from it to a T on the backbone. Etc, Etc. If you try to hook up the wind to the backbone end of the T it will not work, and will not get data onto the N2K network. Is that what is happening?

I know it doesn't seem to make sense if you are thinking of the T's as being something like electrical connection - whereby any voltage coming into any end of the T is shared by other instruments connected to the other ends of the T. The equipment has to be hooked up on the spurs only. (The only exception is that if you are using the Raymarine Seatalk to SeatalkNg converter, the converter is actually the same thing as a T, and needs to be hooked to it using a backbone cable.)
__________________
sailjumanji is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2015, 09:15   #19
Registered User

Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Germany
Boat: Beneteau Sense 43
Posts: 53
Re: Cannot read Raymarine ST70 wind transducer pod data from B&G MFD

Quote:
Originally Posted by sailjumanji View Post
I am having difficulty understanding your terminology. The N2K network is typically made up of a backbone of cables connecting T's, and spur cables to the instruments coming off of the T's. The backbone cables come into the T on the left side, and exit the right side, and connect to the next T. At the beginning and end of the backbone you need termination plugs.
Apologies if my terminology confuses you, but I am totally aware of the technology down to the hardware level (being an EE I have dealt with field bus systems including CAN Bus systems on electrical and programming level, so I tend to use the terminology I am used to - sorry for this).

However, I am not so good with the Raymarine-Speak.

To answer your question: yes, I am sure that electrically the ST70 device is properly connected. It does work with the old ST70 instruments, as I wrote in the first post of the thread. But I now assume I have a problem with the bus (sic) itself on an electrical level, maybe the connection between the two parts is not OK (I did not do this myself but had it done by an electrician), or I have a problem with bus power or termination. Need to triple-check (did this already, though).

That's why I think moving the point where the wind transducer pod connects to the N2K network - from the old Seatalk NG to the new N2K section might be worth a try.
__________________
mbartosch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-06-2016, 15:41   #20
Registered User

Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Germany
Boat: Beneteau Sense 43
Posts: 53
Re: Cannot read Raymarine ST70 wind transducer pod data from B&G MFD

Reviving my old thread to provide a solution in case someone has the same problem.

It turned out that the old Raymarine wind transducer devices are not compatible with the B&G NMEA2k.

I decided to replace the old transducer with a Raymarine iTC 5 device. This is a more modern design and was supposed to work with non Raymarine equipment.
Today I installed the iTC 5, and presto, plug and play at it's best. Raymarine displays immediately discovered the iTC 5 wind vane (which was no surprise), but more importantly the B&G also presents the iTC 5 as a source for wind speed and angle. Problem solved.

(There was also a second, much cheaper but seriously more complicated and development heavy solution I pondered, but the iTC 5 looked too promising)



Sent from my iPhone using Cruisers Sailing Forum
__________________

__________________
mbartosch is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
marine, raymarine, wind

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
420: Wind Speed not registering on ST70 peterwilliam Lagoon Catamarans 7 03-06-2014 17:43
For Sale: Raymarine ST70 autopilot head (E12196) rja Classifieds Archive 2 27-02-2014 22:50
Raymarine ST6002 Vs. ST70 AP Heads SS Little-Devil Marine Electronics 6 14-08-2013 08:49
Raymarine ST60 v ST70 hoppy Marine Electronics 3 11-07-2011 10:56
Raymarine C80 MFD Won't Read Cards Anymore Sailabel Navigation 0 27-11-2009 20:13



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 13:17.


Google+
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Social Knowledge Networks
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

ShowCase vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.