Cruisers Forum
 


Join CruisersForum Today

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 07-09-2010, 07:36   #16
Senior Cruiser

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: between the devil and the deep blue sea
Boat: a sailing boat
Posts: 17,314
1) check connections - sometimes the wires get worn at the box,
2) any new equipment added recently? - interference possible,
3) check the sensor (e-mail Raymarine for instructions - resistance is measured),
4) use your neighbour's sensor, if it works fine, yours is busted.

For those who get weird readings - make sure you have been thru full calibration of the autopilot. This is important. Not only the circles but also the alignment correction. Re-calibrate, in necessary. Unfortunately, these sensors do break down at times.

b.
__________________

__________________
barnakiel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2010, 08:20   #17
Moderator
 
Dockhead's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Cowes (Winter), Baltic (Summer) (the boat!); somewhere in the air (me!)
Boat: Cutter-Rigged Moody 54
Posts: 19,737
Quote:
Originally Posted by barnakiel View Post
1) check connections - sometimes the wires get worn at the box,
2) any new equipment added recently? - interference possible,
3) check the sensor (e-mail Raymarine for instructions - resistance is measured),
4) use your neighbour's sensor, if it works fine, yours is busted.

For those who get weird readings - make sure you have been thru full calibration of the autopilot. This is important. Not only the circles but also the alignment correction. Re-calibrate, in necessary. Unfortunately, these sensors do break down at times.

b.
OK, thanks, but our autopilot works perfectly. My real puzzle is how could the autopilot be getting good heading data when the radar/plotter does not. It doesn't make any sense to me. They're all on one network as far as I understand. Or?
__________________

__________________
Dockhead is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2010, 09:06   #18
Registered User
 
fishwife's Avatar

Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: South coast of England, moving around a bit.
Boat: Long range motor cruiser
Posts: 750
Your autopilot may be taking it's heading from the GPS so that's possibly a red herring. It seems more and more likely that the gyro may be at fault. Sorry I can't be more helpful.

P.
__________________
The message is the journey, we are sure the answer lies in the destination. But in reality, there is no station, no place to arrive at once and for all. The joy of life is the trip, and the station is a dream that constantly out distances usĒ. Robert Hastings, The Station
fishwife is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2010, 10:42   #19
Registered User
 
Dreaming Yachtsman's Avatar

Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Kennewick, WA
Posts: 490
Images: 5
Send a message via Skype™ to Dreaming Yachtsman
Dockhead,

I have been trying to fix a similar problem on my system (Raymarine autopilot, Furuno radar/chartplotter) and have come to the conclusion that it is an input/output problem on the radar unit, which is now at the factory awaiting repair. Autopilot works fine sending correct heading information throughout the system but the radar/chartplotter remains in "Heads up" mode. Also, the chartplotter is not sending correct position output to my Skymate and VHF. On occasion, the "Lost GPS input" alarm sounds on the chartplotter, really giving me a fit. Hopefully the factory tech will call me soon so she can find and fix the problem.
__________________
John
Formerly S/V Yachtsman's Dream
Go sailing now. Life is too short not to enjoy it.
Dreaming Yachtsman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2010, 11:55   #20
Senior Cruiser

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: between the devil and the deep blue sea
Boat: a sailing boat
Posts: 17,314
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dockhead View Post
OK, thanks, but our autopilot works perfectly. My real puzzle is how could the autopilot be getting good heading data when the radar/plotter does not. It doesn't make any sense to me. They're all on one network as far as I understand. Or?
You are jumping to conclusions when you think the autopilot is getting good heading data (while the radar (apparently) does not). What is certain, the radar shows erratic info while the autopilot seems to be doing just fine.

Possible reasons, non-exclusive list:

- autopilot does data processing fine, radar does not (software problems or hardware problems),
- one of the above using compass data while the other using data from another source,
- differences in set-up mask erratic data (e.g. by the use of averaging filter),
etc..

Depending on your autopilot unit, you may be able to tune the averaging to the allowed minimum and check the readout in standby. Another thing one can do is unplug the compass from the unit and plug it in at another point (network bus or the other instrument).

Again, make sure the cabling is fine (shorten the cables and plug in freshly stripped cores), make sure the compass is fine (by doing the tests as per Raymarine instruction) and by observing the compass readout on compass (or autopilot) instrument with tuned down averaging.

Go piece by piece, starting with the most obvious: connections, cables, the sensor, and so on. One element at a time, and you will find the bug.

PS You do not have to take the boat out for tests - just dismount the compass sensor and turn it by hand).

b.
__________________
barnakiel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2010, 02:31   #21
Moderator
 
Dockhead's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Cowes (Winter), Baltic (Summer) (the boat!); somewhere in the air (me!)
Boat: Cutter-Rigged Moody 54
Posts: 19,737
Thanks, everyone, most useful. I'll have another go at it next time I'm on the boat.
__________________

__________________
Dockhead is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Someone please explain this to me. Aquah0lic General Sailing Forum 30 14-02-2009 02:16
Can you explain... beetlejuice30 Monohull Sailboats 8 18-01-2009 16:17
Polars, please explain ameardevil Multihull Sailboats 2 11-08-2008 19:57
Can someone please explain this to me? disco192 Marine Electronics 20 16-05-2008 16:00



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 22:15.


Google+
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Social Knowledge Networks
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

ShowCase vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.