Cruisers Forum
 


Join CruisersForum Today

Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 27-08-2017, 09:28   #1
Registered User

Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Currently in Spain
Boat: Island Packet 420
Posts: 240
Can I network a "broken" E80 with a good one?

My Raymarine E80 motherboard appears to have problems. After doing a lot of tracing and using freezing spray on the motherboard components, the problem appears to be the CPU heating up and switching itself off after about 5 minutes. At any rate, the unit is toast. Since I did not feel like updating everything, I have found a slightly used E80 to replace my old one with. I am thinking that perhaps, if the new one is the one that is doing all the computing as the master, I should be able to use the old one as a slave to have a second screen below deck, as my primary one is by the helm. My question for you electronic gurus---- would I have the same problems with the old one if it is not the one doing the computing, and just acting as a second screen if I attach them via the ethernet cable?

Basically what it was doing was freezing up after about 5 minutes and/or rebooting itself. Sometimes, to turn it back on, I had to shut down the breaker for it for about 3 minutes, then turn it on. And then the unit would last about another 5 minutes.

We froze several components with the unit out of the case and narrowed things down to the motherboard with no other visual apparent issue.
sailing_gal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-08-2017, 18:25   #2
Registered User

Join Date: Dec 2012
Boat: Jeanneau SO45.2
Posts: 184
Re: Can I network a "broken" E80 with a good one?

I've e been told by RM people that the dc-dc converter transformer for the display backlight fails - I've had mine black out though not lock up, not that you can see anything in daylight. If that's your problem then the CPU is alive. If your CPU is truly dying, the unit can't network with the good one - the slave is more than just a display - it's a full MFD that just shares the charts over the network.
Redline452 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Good Food, Good Flavor, Good Value, Good Packaging Steadman Uhlich Provisioning: Food & Drink 23 10-08-2018 07:19
Through Hull-Valve Broken or Not-Broken? Jado27 Monohull Sailboats 15 16-03-2016 06:14
Garmin GMS 10 network port expander vs network hub gettinthere Marine Electronics 0 04-06-2013 16:42

Advertise Here


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 19:08.


Google+
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Social Knowledge Networks
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
×

ShowCase vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.