Cruisers Forum
 


Join CruisersForum Today

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 21-05-2012, 06:08   #1
Registered User

Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 2
Lightbulb Can I Connect 2 NMEA2000 Networks using Garmin Marine network?

Hey Guys,

I am new to this forum so please excuse my ignorance to any conventional rules that you use in here.

I have there garmin 4212 chartplotters, two in the main cabin and one in the flybridge. They are all connected to a garmin radar and a garmin fishfinder via a garmin marine network expander. The chartplotter on the flybridge is connected to a GPS 17x NMEA 2000 receiver. GPS data, Chart data, Radar, and depth are available at all screens with no problem.

I added a heading sensor (AIRMAR H2183 NEMA 2000 cable) (certified by Garmin) to one of the chartplotters in the main cabin via a seperate NMEA 2000 network... "This NMEA 2000 network is not connected to the GPS NMEA 2000 network on the flybridge"

Heading information appears on all three plotters but I lose GPS signal on the two plotters in the main cabin. It seems like there is a conflict of addressing or something of that sort.

Is there anyway that I can resolve this issue?? Hopefully without having to run NEMA 2000 cable from the flybridge to the main cabin.

Would it be helpful if i installed another GPS receiver down in the main cabin with the heading sensor temporarily to resolve addressing issues? (Wild guess)

Any Help is sincerely appreciated.
Regards
Mike
__________________
The_Gentleman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-05-2012, 08:03   #2
Nearly an old salt
 
goboatingnow's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 13,649
Images: 3
Re: Can I Connect 2 NMEA2000 Networks using Garmin Marine network?

Mu understanding ( I have a similar system) is that the NMEA 2000 can only go into one of the Garmin units on the GMN. i.e. the same one. You can't have separate NMEA 2000 networks one, on each chart plotter and then correctly replicate over the GMN. This was based on a conversation with a Garmin tech a few years ago, and its what I did.

It may be different now, but after reading your post, I don't think so.

Dave
__________________
Check out my new blog on smart boat technology, networking and gadgets for the connected sailor! - http://smartboats.tumblr.com
goboatingnow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-05-2012, 08:46   #3
Registered User

Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 2
Re: Can I Connect 2 NMEA2000 Networks using Garmin Marine network?

Thanks for your comments.

I might have to move the GPS receiver to the main cabin with the heading sensor and have just one NMEA 2000 network connected to one plotter... Hopefully that will solve the problem.
I will try that..
Regards
Mike
__________________
The_Gentleman is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
garmin, marine

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 15:09.


Google+
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Social Knowledge Networks
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

ShowCase vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.