Cruisers Forum
 


Join CruisersForum Today

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 11-03-2016, 18:49   #1
Registered User

Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: Milwaukee, WI
Boat: O'day 34
Posts: 40
Cable for Raymarine wind?

I have acquired a second hand Raymarine ST60 wind vane and display, however the wiring for in the mast is not long enough. I can only find Raymarine cable with the vane end connector attached and it is pricey - is there an alternative data or equivalent cable I can use - I can crimp and heat shrink the connections inside the mast.

Thanks,
Scott
__________________

__________________
Scott Fuller is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2016, 05:11   #2
Registered User

Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: Milwaukee, WI
Boat: O'day 34
Posts: 40
Re: Cable for Raymarine wind?

I should add that I don't need a new transducer - just the cable.
__________________

__________________
Scott Fuller is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2016, 05:45   #3
Registered User
 
Rustic Charm's Avatar

Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Tasmania, Australia
Boat: Bieroc 36 foot Ketch
Posts: 4,898
Re: Cable for Raymarine wind?

Isnt it just 3 or 5 strand low voltage cable? Mine was brand new but i tend to remember i had to clamp very small spade connections on to the ends of the wires. In which case its just cable you can get at any irrigation suppliers.
__________________
Rustic Charm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2016, 05:51   #4
Registered User

Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Port Aransas, Texas
Boat: 2002 Seawind 1000 (33 ft) Cat
Posts: 841
Re: Cable for Raymarine wind?

Instrument cable. Small gauge stuff. Nothing special except you want to keep up with colors.
__________________
sailjumanji is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2016, 06:04   #5
Registered User

Join Date: May 2014
Boat: Morgan Out Island 41
Posts: 702
Images: 2
Re: Cable for Raymarine wind?

Defender.com has just the cable, comes from n 2 lengths. If I remember it was $108
__________________
pcmm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2016, 08:27   #6
Registered User

Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Blue Mountain Ont
Boat: Beneteau Oceanis 400 40 ft "Camp David
Posts: 402
Re: Cable for Raymarine wind?

I suggest it should be shielded. 22 awg cable. I believe ancor make a suitable cable. How many feet do you require? I have a lenght I can part with however I am in the Bahamas and will not return til April 5th or so. Solder the wire properly and then heat shrink each conducted the place a good water proof heat shrink with glue over the entire splice. Then ohm the wire to be sure you have it right. Be sure you get the colors right before you pull into the mast.

Fletch

Sent from my SGH-I337M using Cruisers Sailing Forum mobile app
__________________
CampDavid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2016, 09:09   #7
Registered User
 
captmikem's Avatar

Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Ft Lauderdale
Boat: KP 46
Posts: 317
Images: 2
Re: Cable for Raymarine wind?

Just use CAT5, you can get it at home depot cheap. Use scotchlock silicon filled connectors, cheap on amazon.

It is all low voltage low freq signals. The cat 5 is overkill but will last a lifetime and support the run up the mast. The scotchlock connectors are waterproof and solid.

M
__________________
captmikem is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2016, 11:21   #8
Registered User

Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Live in Boise, boat is in Titusville, FL
Boat: 56' CNSO Mikado Ketch S/V Solace
Posts: 231
Re: Cable for Raymarine wind?

I have a new cable assembly. $70.00 plus shipping. Send me a pm if interested.

Jeff
Attached Images
 
__________________
Mikado is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2016, 16:03   #9
Registered User

Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Blue Mountain Ont
Boat: Beneteau Oceanis 400 40 ft "Camp David
Posts: 402
Re: Cable for Raymarine wind?

The new cable is the way to go. That's a fair deal

Sent from my SGH-I337M using Cruisers Sailing Forum mobile app
__________________
CampDavid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2016, 16:36   #10
Registered User
 
captmikem's Avatar

Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Ft Lauderdale
Boat: KP 46
Posts: 317
Images: 2
Re: Cable for Raymarine wind?

Quote:
Originally Posted by CampDavid View Post
The new cable is the way to go. That's a fair deal

Sent from my SGH-I337M using Cruisers Sailing Forum mobile app
I agree, that is more than fare and OEM.

Michael
__________________
captmikem is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2016, 16:47   #11
Registered User
 
Harlequin's Avatar

Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Hong Kong
Boat: Bavaria Vision 44
Posts: 49
Re: Cable for Raymarine wind?

Sounds like you have plenty of options there, Scott, but just in case...

I need a new wind transducer, but not the cable. Unfortunately, it seems to come with 100' of cable (no choice), which bumps the price somewhat.

Could perhaps 'share' the purchase and send you the 100' of cable for $TBA?

Jim
SY Harlequin

PS. Would appreciate Forum advice on the best place to source the ST60 wind transducer. I tried replacing the knackered old transducer bearings, following advice found on the web, but the recommended bearings were the wrong size. Had to bodge a rebuild with epoxy as we were headed offshore, with no time to source the correct ones...
__________________
Harlequin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2016, 17:01   #12
Moderator
 
Pete7's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Solent, England
Boat: Moody 31
Posts: 8,583
Images: 14
Re: Cable for Raymarine wind?

Jim, they come up on UK e bay regularly but are not cheap or you could try these folk:

The Service Centre, Marine Electronic Service, repair and service of equipment
__________________
Moody 31 - April Lass
Pete7 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 13-03-2016, 12:34   #13
Registered User

Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: Ventura Harbor (OK, most of the time Canoga Park)
Boat: Catalina 30
Posts: 150
Re: Cable for Raymarine wind?

The Raymarine wind vane transducer (non-Rotavecta) have changed the style or look of the cups and vanes a couple of times, but they have the same signal, so older/newer only matters in the life expectancy of the bearings.


Sent from my iPhone using Cruisers Sailing Forum
__________________

__________________
Brewgyver is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
marine, raymarine, wind

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
More than one Cable in a Cable Clam? sully75 Electrical: Batteries, Generators & Solar 15 02-08-2014 20:29
Raymarine cable and pin functions for connecting up differerent raymarine cables? surfmachine Construction, Maintenance & Refit 18 16-04-2014 20:06
For Sale: 50' Telephone/Cable TV Combo Cable off-the-grid Classifieds Archive 5 27-10-2009 13:00



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 13:52.


Google+
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Social Knowledge Networks
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

ShowCase vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.