Cruisers Forum
 


Join CruisersForum Today

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 12-01-2016, 15:34   #1
Registered User
 
BobH260's Avatar

Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 160
Cable for AIS to plotter ?

I have a new Standard Horizon GX2200 VHF radio with DSC, AIS. I need to run a cable from the nav station where the radio is to the helm to plug into my Raymarine C120W plotter. Does this need to be a shielded cable ? I don't see anything suitable at Defender or WM, suggestions ?
Thanks, Bob
__________________

__________________
BobH260 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2016, 16:17   #2
Registered User
 
Wench'sCaptain's Avatar

Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: On the Boat
Boat: Hunter Helsen 470
Posts: 132
Re: Cable for AIS to plotter ?

If I remember correctly it all depends if you are connection with NEMA 0183 or 2000 which cable you use. Most simply use 0183 so they do not need a converter or backbone.

Just ask at WM or Defender for NMEA XXXX.

I might add there are known issues with the C120 and AIS make sure you have the latest SW update. Some messages are not processed correctly even with the update but that is just a nuisance you will be seen and they will see you.

"Please note that while the C-Series Widescreen MFDs are compatible with a number of NMEA 2000 devices (most notably for engine integration), they are not NMEA 2000 Certified. The complete list of NMEA 2000 Certified Raymarine products may be found here. Should you be experiencing the reported symptoms, then it would be recommended that the AIS/VHF Radio be interfaced via NMEA 0183 communications protocol to the MFD."
__________________

__________________
Wench'sCaptain is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2016, 18:12   #3
Registered User
 
BobH260's Avatar

Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 160
Re: Cable for AIS to plotter ?

I should have said it will be done using the NEMA 0183 interface at 38400 !
Bob
__________________
BobH260 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-01-2016, 04:47   #4
Registered User

Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 4,413
Re: Cable for AIS to plotter ?

You can do this with two small gauge wires... I do it thru / with ray seatalk box.
__________________
Sandero is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-01-2016, 06:11   #5
Senior Cruiser
 
Sailmonkey's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Houston
Boat: '76 Allied Seawind II, 32'
Posts: 5,793
Re: Cable for AIS to plotter ?

I use this stuff

http://www.ancorproducts.com/en/153010

However virtually any wire will work, even (shudder) lamp cord from the Home Depot.


Sent from my iPhone using Cruisers Sailing Forum
__________________
Sailmonkey is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 13-01-2016, 09:24   #6
Registered User
 
S/V Alchemy's Avatar

Join Date: May 2008
Location: Toronto
Boat: Custom 41' Steel Pilothouse Cutter
Posts: 4,577
Re: Cable for AIS to plotter ?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sailmonkey View Post
I use this stuff

Instrument Cable, 20/3 AWG (3 x 0.5mm˛), Round - 100ft | Ancor

However virtually any wire will work, even (shudder) lamp cord from the Home Depot.


Sent from my iPhone using Cruisers Sailing Forum
As far as I am aware this is indeed correct. I would ideally, however, opt for tinned wires, which I would then cable-tie that corrugated loom over.
__________________
Can't sleep? Read www.alchemy2009.blogspot.com for fast relief. Can't read? Avoid www.volumesofsalt.blogspot.com, because it's just personal reviews of sea books.
S/V Alchemy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-01-2016, 09:34   #7
Registered User

Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Pensacola, FL
Boat: Island Packet 35
Posts: 48
Re: Cable for AIS to plotter ?

I recently did exactly what you are describing on my IP35. I had recently replaced my Raymarine chartplotter at the helm and also replaced my VHS at the nav station with an GX2200. I extended the blue STng backbone cables from the Autopilot to Chartplotter and on to Nav station. Then I used an actisense AIS module to connect the GX2200 to the STng Backbone. It worked perfectly as soon as I turned on the power to the STng instruments.
actually terrified me at first, It came up saying I was on a collision course with a boat up on land in the shipyard since they had not turned off their AIS.
__________________
jhstacy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-01-2016, 10:31   #8
Registered User
 
travellerw's Avatar

Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Martinique
Boat: Fortuna Island Spirit 40
Posts: 1,726
Re: Cable for AIS to plotter ?

Technically you will want shielded cable to meet the NMEA0183 specs. A good source of shielded cable is old transducers (wind, depth).

Another source is Shielded Cat 5/6 cable. Although unshielded Cat 5/6 will work, I would only use it for temporary connection.

Amazon has NMEA 0183 cable but is WAY overpriced. Maybe you can google a cheaper option.
Amazon.com: Cobra Wire 22/4 Shielded Comm Cable - NMEA 0183 - Cable By The Foot - Grey: Electronics
__________________
travellerw is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 13-01-2016, 14:05   #9
Registered User
 
BobH260's Avatar

Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 160
Re: Cable for AIS to plotter ?

Thanks for all the suggestions. I have a good idea now of what to look for.
Bob
__________________

__________________
BobH260 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
ais

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
More than one Cable in a Cable Clam? sully75 Electrical: Batteries, Generators & Solar 15 02-08-2014 20:29
Raytheon 425 Plotter Power / Nema Cable nicksa10 Marine Electronics 0 10-01-2012 14:06
For Sale: 50' Telephone/Cable TV Combo Cable off-the-grid Classifieds Archive 5 27-10-2009 13:00
The Chart plotter is in, the AIS is in, the new radio is in, etc CSY Man Marine Electronics 25 04-06-2007 14:18



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 15:41.


Google+
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Social Knowledge Networks
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

ShowCase vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.