Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 13-01-2017, 09:41   #1

Boat: 41' yawl
Buying new instruments, speed paddle, GPS...

This year I'm looking to replace:

- My masthead wind speed/direction instrument (I have an old, non-networked Datamarine unit now)

- My speed-through-the-water paddlewheel that's never worked

- My inside and outside GPS chartplotters.

- And in a few years I'll want radar that I can overlay on my charts.

I imagine with that level of information the thing could be auto-generating polar plots for me, fun stuff like that... I've been a low tech sailor for some time, but geeking out on data sounds fun. Anyways, at the very least I'd like the display to be able to assemble this info and tell me the TRUE wind speed + direction.

I'd love to hear a sampling of people's opinions about what gear I should buy and why.
chris95040 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-01-2017, 10:28   #2

Boat: Beneteau First 42
Re: Buying new instruments, speed paddle, GPS...

Chris,

We are in the midst of going through the same thing and I spent months going back and forth on the matter. While I prefer Furuno equipment for its robustness and repairability, we have finally settled for B&G instruments and replacement equipment based upon the cost/benefit trade-off given the time we are likely to continue owning our boat. There are several, if not many, threads on the various equipment one might choose that you can find suing the Search function (above) that might be worth taking a look at.

N'any case, good luck!
"It is not so much for its beauty that the Sea makes a claim upon men's hearts, as for that subtle something, that quality of air, that emanation from the waves, that so wonderfully renews a weary spirit."
svHyLyte is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-01-2017, 10:44   #3