Cruisers Forum
 


Join CruisersForum Today

Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 19-01-2018, 14:03   #1
Registered User

Join Date: May 2017
Posts: 88
Brookhouse wifi to NMEA data

Is Brookhouse still (?) the gold standard in collecting NMEA Data and broadcasting to useful devices such as phones / tablets / Time Zero, via Wifi?
B
__________________

Ferrari is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-01-2018, 07:59   #2
Registered User

Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: SF Bay Area (Boat in La Paz)
Boat: Valiant V40
Posts: 579
Re: Brookhouse wifi to NMEA data

Depends on your needs.

If you have a single stream of NMEA data compatible with RS232 or 422, then an inexpensive RS232-Wifi bridge is all you need.

If you need to multiplex several NMEA and/or Seatalk, then you need to go to a more sophisticated (and expensive) solution such as Brookhouse, VYachts and others.

I've had varying luck with all.

First Brookhouse failed, and they replaced it after a bit of "discussion" with a newer model, but I had to pay for the price difference. Second one is fine, but they used an older chip that does NOT work with Windows 7+ and they just say "buy a new one".

VYachts works as described, but its a 1-man operation so little support.

The e-bay (Chinese) RS232-WiFi converters work perfectly, but no tech support and the manual sucks, but once you work it out, it is fine.
__________________

jamhass is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-01-2018, 10:01   #3
Registered User
 
Capt.Don's Avatar

Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Altadena, CA
Boat: Tartan 3500
Posts: 764
Images: 1
Re: Brookhouse wifi to NMEA data

Or purchase an AIS transponder with wifi. I'm leaning towards replacing my vYacht wifi with Vesper XB-8000.
Don
Capt.Don is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-01-2018, 11:01   #4
Registered User
 
boom23's Avatar

Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Med.
Boat: Amel 50
Posts: 792
Re: Brookhouse wifi to NMEA data

Quote:
Originally Posted by Capt.Don View Post
Or purchase an AIS transponder with wifi. I'm leaning towards replacing my vYacht wifi with Vesper XB-8000.
Don
I’m using the Vesper XB-8000 AIS to send NMEA data to Timezero on my PC over WiFi and it works great!
boom23 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-01-2018, 12:36   #5
Registered User

Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Brighton, UK
Boat: Westerly Oceanlord
Posts: 394
Re: Brookhouse wifi to NMEA data

As some folks will be aware I err on the DIY side when it comes to nmea-to-wifi multiplexing so I have no personal experience of commercial products but whilst I've not heard anyone say anything bad about Brockhouse, aren't shipmodul's multiplexers more of the "gold standard" in the commercial domain? Not saying that their products are any better but shipmodul are NMEA members their founder was the one who registered port 10110 for NMEA-0183 data with the IANA
muttnik is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-01-2018, 13:56   #6
Registered User
 
Exile's Avatar

Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Land of Disenchantment
Boat: Bristol 47.7
Posts: 4,329
Re: Brookhouse wifi to NMEA data

Quote:
Originally Posted by boom23 View Post
Iím using the Vesper XB-8000 AIS to send NMEA data to Timezero on my PC over WiFi and it works great!
How about radar data?
Exile is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2018, 18:02   #7
Registered User

Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Hong Kong
Posts: 121
Re: Brookhouse wifi to NMEA data

I am debating whether to go with Shipmodul (MiniPlex-3Wi-N2K) or Brookhouse iMux-ST. The former is 409 EUR with shipping included world wide - the second seem a big secret what the price is ("email us and ask" seems a bit shady. I saw a second hand unit sold for 229 on eBay though)

My system is quite old (purchased in 2006), Raymarine ST290. The DPU seems to be broken and rather than replacing that, I am looking at getting a Raymarine ITC-5 (for my speed/depth/wind sensors) box and then add some kind of multiplexer for access to iPad.

Currently using Navionics Boating HD app but also getting iNavX to compare. The latter has access to Navionics charts but ... does that also include SonarCharts?

Oh so many questions - but first of all -

ITC5 + Brookhouse?
ITC5 + MiniPlex-3Wi-N2K?

Or something else? Maybe there is a better way to access my old sensors than the ITC-5.

Finally ... a 15 USD adapter between SeatTalkNG and SeaTalk2 - should enable me to keep my two ST2 data displays?

Almost everything works, except that DPU in the ST290 system. I just want my data back, and then be able to use my iPad including depth from the boats sounder.
__________________

DITB is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
nmea, wifi

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
NMEA data over WiFi FChichester Marine Electronics 18 06-05-2018 09:37
For Sale: Comar NMEA-2-WIFI NMEA 0183 Converter $230 4arch Classifieds Archive 1 02-11-2015 03:02
Multiplexing NMEA on a router (NMEA over WiFi redux) Mollymawk Marine Electronics 16 21-10-2014 05:18
Muxing NMEA data over IP WiFi on Windows Peter McNamara OpenCPN 5 06-10-2014 05:52
Transmitting NMEA data to shore via wifi Mardi Gras Marine Electronics 2 29-04-2013 16:22



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 15:09.


Google+
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Social Knowledge Networks
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

ShowCase vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.