Cruisers Forum
 


Join CruisersForum Today

Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 05-05-2018, 03:02   #1
Registered User

Join Date: Sep 2014
Boat: Moody 376
Posts: 105
Breaker size for Raymarine ACU-200

Hi all,

Just want some help with clarification on something.

We are installing a Raymarine Evolution autopilot, with the Type 1 Mechanical Linear drive and the ACU-200 unit.

According to the documentation, the maximum continuous amp draw by the drive is 15amps.

The ACU-200 has an internal 20amp fuse.

Iíve calculated wire size to limit to 3% voltage drop and am going with AWG8 wire.

So, wire can take about 80amps - no problem there.

Question is, what size breaker should I use? Iíve read to size the breaker to 150% of max amps, which I guess is 20amps since the ACU-200 internal fuse is 20amps?? But then again, I want the breaker to trip before the internal fuse blows. So maybe 15amps for the breaker is better?

But Iím not totally sure. Any guidance appreciated.

Thanks
__________________

benzy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2018, 03:29   #2
Registered User

Join Date: Mar 2016
Posts: 165
Re: Breaker size for Raymarine ACU-200

Hi,

no definite tip here but something to consider: Which type of fuse. Old "melt" type automotive fuses will take 200% rated amperage for minutes, newer electronically ones might trip quite fast. Since the linear drive will produce some spikes this might be something to consider.

As a rule of thump, fuses protect the wiring, so there should be nothing wrong with going 20A (or more) as well.

Andi
__________________

_andi_ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2018, 03:33   #3
Registered User

Join Date: Mar 2016
Posts: 165
Re: Breaker size for Raymarine ACU-200

To clarify the rule of thumb: Nobody fuses an outlet to 1A when running a phone charger and then changing to 10A for the cooler. Internal fuse protects the device, external fuse the wiring. Conditions may apply :-)
_andi_ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2018, 03:51   #4
Registered User

Join Date: Sep 2014
Boat: Moody 376
Posts: 105
Re: Breaker size for Raymarine ACU-200

Thanks Andi, makes sense.

Maybe I go the 150% rule: so 30amp breaker (well within the 80amp limit for the wire). Allows for spikes from the motor. Internal fuse handles device protection.
benzy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2018, 04:16   #5
Registered User

Join Date: Mar 2016
Posts: 165
Re: Breaker size for Raymarine ACU-200

Sounds reasonable, manual says 20A (rather slow tripping blade fuse) as a guideline. (page 24).

http://www.jgtech.com/pdf/87180-2-EN...structions.pdf

Ah, one thing: Often folks don't calculate the full cable length (plus and minus cable length added) but just the distance from junction box to appliance, being off on the final result by the factor of two. Mostly no biggie but a common mistake anyways.
_andi_ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2018, 06:35   #6
Registered User

Join Date: Sep 2014
Boat: Moody 376
Posts: 105
Re: Breaker size for Raymarine ACU-200

Ok cool.

Yep accounted for full length of run. Itís 7 meters.

According to a few books we have, 7m run with max 3% voltage drop falls between AWG 10 and AWG 8.

So for us metrics, a 6mm^2 cable should do.
benzy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2018, 10:34   #7
Registered User
 
Cadence's Avatar

Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: SC
Boat: None,build the one shown of glass, had many from 6' to 48'.
Posts: 7,645
Re: Breaker size for Raymarine ACU-200

Quote:
Originally Posted by benzy View Post
Hi all,

Just want some help with clarification on something.

We are installing a Raymarine Evolution autopilot, with the Type 1 Mechanical Linear drive and the ACU-200 unit.

According to the documentation, the maximum continuous amp draw by the drive is 15amps.

The ACU-200 has an internal 20amp fuse.

Iíve calculated wire size to limit to 3% voltage drop and am going with AWG8 wire.

So, wire can take about 80amps - no problem there.

Question is, what size breaker should I use? Iíve read to size the breaker to 150% of max amps, which I guess is 20amps since the ACU-200 internal fuse is 20amps?? But then again, I want the breaker to trip before the internal fuse blows. So maybe 15amps for the breaker is better?

But Iím not totally sure. Any guidance appreciated.

Thanks
I think you are on target with the 15A breaker. JMHO
Cadence is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2018, 21:32   #8
Registered User

Join Date: Sep 2014
Boat: Moody 376
Posts: 105
Re: Breaker size for Raymarine ACU-200

Hey Cadence,

Fair enough. Could you explain why?

Cheers
benzy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2018, 22:07   #9
Registered User
 
Dsanduril's Avatar

Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Panama Awaiting Transit
Boat: Outremer 50S
Posts: 1,863
Re: Breaker size for Raymarine ACU-200

The standard breaker curve for DC applications allows between 1.05 and 1.3 x rating for 3600 seconds (one hour). So, a 15A breaker will pass between 15.75A and 19.5A for up to an hour. They'll also provide 20A for just about a minute if you need it for some reason. This is true for B, C, and D curve breakers which pretty much covers anything you'll find easily on the market (the various curves diverge at times below 3 seconds).

Since the AP should only draw max amps for short bursts a 15A breaker should be fine and will most likely trip before the fuse blows (no guarantees - without the trip curves for both devices and information on the available short circuit current no trip coordination can be calculated).
Dsanduril is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2018, 01:41   #10
Registered User

Join Date: Sep 2014
Boat: Moody 376
Posts: 105
Re: Breaker size for Raymarine ACU-200

Thanks Dsanduril

Guess I can try with the 15amp breaker and if it trips prematurely then upgrade to a bigger breaker.
benzy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2018, 10:29   #11
Registered User
 
Cadence's Avatar

Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: SC
Boat: None,build the one shown of glass, had many from 6' to 48'.
Posts: 7,645
Re: Breaker size for Raymarine ACU-200

Quote:
Originally Posted by Cadence View Post
I think you are on target with the 15A breaker. JMHO
My rational is the spec. was max.. A breaker, in all likelihood, won't trip instantaneously. I certainly wouldn't want to be trying to replace the internal fuse for a momentary need. It is probably there as a fail safe. JMHO
Cadence is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-2018, 21:11   #12
Registered User

Join Date: Sep 2014
Boat: Moody 376
Posts: 105
Re: Breaker size for Raymarine ACU-200

Yep understand. Thanks
benzy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2018, 00:33   #13
Registered User

Join Date: Mar 2016
Posts: 165
Re: Breaker size for Raymarine ACU-200

I'd just stick to the manual...

Quote:

Fuses and circuit protection

There are 3 levels of power protection in the autopilot system.
The motor and associated cables are initially protected by the
current sensing and stall condition detection within the ACU
hardware and software. A second level of protection is provided
to these parts and the ACU components by the unit's main
power fuse. Protection for the entire autopilot system and its
wiring back to the main power distribution panel is provided by
your vesselís circuit breaker / fuse.

Power supply circuit protection
Protect the power supply for the Evolution system at the
distribution board with a fuse or circuit breaker that is suitable for
the ACU. For guidance, refer to main power fuse rating stated on
the ACU connector panel. If in doubt, consult your local dealer.
Internal fuses

The ACU uses standard automotive blade fuses. Spare fuses
are located on the underside of the removable cover.
__________________

_andi_ is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
marine, raymarine, size

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Raymarine acu-200 and Lowrance Elite nmea 2000 set up MB23 Marine Electronics 1 26-11-2017 21:11
Breaker sizing (Amps) in breaker panel geoffr Electrical: Batteries, Generators & Solar 33 28-04-2017 08:26
For Sale: EV 200 Autopilot Type 1 Drive and ACU - used Bay Breeze Classifieds Archive 1 04-02-2016 08:36
Raymarine SPX-30 compatible with ACU-400 roetter Marine Electronics 0 24-06-2015 11:27



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 17:04.


Google+
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Social Knowledge Networks
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

ShowCase vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.