Cruisers Forum
 


Join CruisersForum Today

Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 20-10-2018, 14:03   #1
Registered User
 
lateral's Avatar

Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: NZ
Boat: S34 Bob Stewart - 1959 Patiki class. Re--built by me & good mate.
Posts: 785
B7G zeus2 and go5

Anyone know if you network these two via N2K and use the Go5 WiFi for the network?
Odd question I realize. No ethernet plug on the Go5.
__________________

lateral is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-10-2018, 22:21   #2
Registered User

Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: canada
Posts: 2,310
Re: B7G zeus2 and go5

no. they do not network. that is why it is cheaper.
__________________

smac999 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-10-2018, 14:10   #3
Registered User
 
lateral's Avatar

Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: NZ
Boat: S34 Bob Stewart - 1959 Patiki class. Re--built by me & good mate.
Posts: 785
Re: B7G zeus2 and go5

Quote:
Originally Posted by smac999 View Post
no. they do not network. that is why it is cheaper.
Do they network via the ethernet port?
The network capable models.
lateral is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-10-2018, 14:15   #4
Registered User

Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 398
Re: B7G zeus2 and go5

Quote:
Originally Posted by lateral View Post
Do they network via the ethernet port?
The network capable models.
Yeah, you can connect a Zeus to another Zeaus, and in that network they can share radar, sonar and so on. Go-serie cannot do this kind of networking/sharing.
__________________
To much plastic in our oceans! Follow us sailing around the world on our 44ft trimaran Facebook &Youtube
andreas.mehlin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-10-2018, 15:43   #5
Registered User
 
lateral's Avatar

Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: NZ
Boat: S34 Bob Stewart - 1959 Patiki class. Re--built by me & good mate.
Posts: 785
Re: B7G zeus2 and go5

Quote:
Originally Posted by andreas.mehlin View Post
Yeah, you can connect a Zeus to another Zeaus, and in that network they can share radar, sonar and so on. Go-serie cannot do this kind of networking/sharing.
But they do connect to N2K network.....receive only?
Confusing.
lateral is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-10-2018, 07:17   #6
Registered User
 
OS2Dude's Avatar

Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Atlanta, GA
Boat: Catalina 30
Posts: 213
Images: 5
Re: B&G zeus2 and go5

If both are NMEA2K, then they will share ALL data on the NMEA network. RADAR and the fish-finder image are NOT among that data. (Depth, yes) What are you trying to share?

I have a Simrad EVO2 NSS (Same hardware as Zeus2) and a Vulcan 7FS. They share all NMEA data.
OS2Dude is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-10-2018, 09:23   #7
Registered User
 
lateral's Avatar

Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: NZ
Boat: S34 Bob Stewart - 1959 Patiki class. Re--built by me & good mate.
Posts: 785
Re: B&G zeus2 and go5

Quote:
Originally Posted by OS2Dude View Post
If both are NMEA2K, then they will share ALL data on the NMEA network. RADAR and the fish-finder image are NOT among that data. (Depth, yes) What are you trying to share?

I have a Simrad EVO2 NSS (Same hardware as Zeus2) and a Vulcan 7FS. They share all NMEA data.
Hopefully to:
Download from the internet.
ie predict wind data for Zeus2.
Firmware updates etc.
Use the Go5 for WiFi. (both modes) I guess it wont mirror the Zeus.

I dont want to share FF & radar.
Am I correct in that N2k does not have the capacity for that data density?
Thanks
lateral is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-10-2018, 13:05   #8
Registered User
 
OS2Dude's Avatar

Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Atlanta, GA
Boat: Catalina 30
Posts: 213
Images: 5
Re: B7G zeus2 and go5

You can load device updates over it if the devices are the SAME manufacturer. The updates are sent over the physical layer, but not using NMEA protocols. The update protocol is a proprietary method.

In our setup (B&G V50 VHF, B&G Vulcan 7FS & Simrad NSS EVO2) The Vulcan has WiFi and the Simrad does not. (You can buy a Simrad WiFi network device it can use, but it will not see the Vulcan as such.) The Vulcan knows about the EVO2 and the V50 and will download updates for both. The V50 is updated over the NMEA network, but the EVO2 update has to be loaded to a micro SD card that I then manually load into the EVO2. Your Zeus2 -MAY- be able to see the GO as a WiFi access point, otherwise you should be able to do the same as I.
OS2Dude is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-10-2018, 13:18   #9
Registered User
 
lateral's Avatar

Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: NZ
Boat: S34 Bob Stewart - 1959 Patiki class. Re--built by me & good mate.
Posts: 785
Re: B7G zeus2 and go5

Quote:
Originally Posted by OS2Dude View Post
NMEA was not designed for video. NMEA2000 evolved from a purely text based protocol NMEA0183.

In our setup (B&G Vulcan 7FS & Simrad NSS EVO2) The Vulcan has WiFi and the Simrad does not. (You can buy a WiFi network device it can use, but it will not see the Vulcan as such.) The Vulcan knows about the Simrad and will download updates for it to a SD card that I then manually load into the EVO2. Your Zeus2 -MAY- be able to see the GO as a WiFi access, otherwise you should be able to do the same as I.
Thanks. Great info, succinctly put.
So you don't use any third partly real time subscribed data on your Evo2?
Ok, last, (but not least) I just bought a Gofree WiFi-1 but have read I will need two for real time updates of Predictwind "observations". One in gateway mode and one in client. Does the vulcan run both at the same time? Or, do you have to refresh?
lateral is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-10-2018, 13:38   #10
Registered User
 
OS2Dude's Avatar

Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Atlanta, GA
Boat: Catalina 30
Posts: 213
Images: 5
Re: B7G zeus2 and go5

Quote:
Originally Posted by lateral View Post
Thanks. Great info, succinctly put.
So you don't use any third partly real time subscribed data on your Evo2?
Ok, last, (but not least) I just bought a Gofree WiFi-1 but have read I will need two for real time updates of Predictwind "observations". One in gateway mode and one in client. Does the vulcan run both at the same time? Or, do you have to refresh?
No, no third party data.

Our Vulcan can be configured as a client, needing a HotSpot to access the internet. In this mode it acts like a browser and the Vulcan has direct access to what is there. It can also be configured as a local server so other WiFi devices can see it and its info. (An app lets me control the Vulcan from my Android via WiFi). It can not do both at the same time.

I am not familiar with your hardware, I would interpret the above to be that one GoFree would be to access the internet over a WiFi hotspot and the other to be a local server to make that information available to other WiFi devices. If you are not sharing the data beyond your chartplotter, I don't believe you would need a second GoFree. I would suggest you call the company's Customer Support to verify.
__________________

OS2Dude is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Calibrating B&G Zeus2 Heading and COG? IL1333 Marine Electronics 13 12-08-2018 21:08
B and G Zeus2 upgrade CAELESTIS Marine Electronics 0 23-12-2017 13:57
Difference between B&G Zeus Touch and Zeus2? Maika Marine Electronics 115 18-06-2016 15:32
B&G Zeus2 MFD muttskie Marine Electronics 12 08-06-2016 19:40
Chart Bundle with B&G Zeus2 sailjumanji Navigation 1 09-03-2015 21:50



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 13:38.


Google+
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Social Knowledge Networks
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

ShowCase vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.