Cruisers Forum
 


Join CruisersForum Today

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 20-03-2016, 10:12   #1
Registered User

Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Alaska/Portugal
Boat: Custom 55
Posts: 800
B&G zeus touch install problem

Hi all,

I just got done installing a new radar/plotter, and the damned thing won't detect the radome.

This is a standalone installation: MFD-Radar interface box-Scanner. I've got power where it needs to go, the cables are connected, and while the plotter works on the MFD, it will not recognize that a radar is hooked up.

Does anybody have any idea what I might be missing here? I see that there is an Ethernet switch in most of the wiring diagrams, but I assume that this is only for networked applications. I am not doing that.

I'd love to hear if anyone else has encountered this.

Thanks, TJ
__________________

TJ D is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 20-03-2016, 10:45   #2
Moderator
 
a64pilot's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Albany Ga.
Boat: Island Packet 38
Posts: 18,410
Re: B&G zeus touch install problem

Been awhile since I installed mine, but there was an interface box that was required, my Garmin plugged straight in, the B&G did require an interface.


Sent from my iPad Pro using Cruisers Sailing Forum
__________________

a64pilot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-03-2016, 10:47   #3
Moderator
 
a64pilot's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Albany Ga.
Boat: Island Packet 38
Posts: 18,410
Re: B&G zeus touch install problem

Called the R10 interface box?


Sent from my iPad Pro using Cruisers Sailing Forum
a64pilot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-03-2016, 11:04   #4
Registered User

Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Alaska/Portugal
Boat: Custom 55
Posts: 800
Re: B&G zeus touch install problem

Ok...

On the third reading of the install manual, I finally noticed the little tidbit that the yellow and red wires BOTH had to be connected to +12vdc.

I now have a working radar! Perhaps I should read more carefully prior to posting?

Thanks much. TJ
TJ D is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 20-03-2016, 11:12   #5
Moderator
 
a64pilot's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Albany Ga.
Boat: Island Packet 38
Posts: 18,410
Re: B&G zeus touch install problem

There is a lot to learn about the Zeus, I'm still learning, lot of stuff not in the manual, or I'm just old and don't comprehend so well.


Sent from my iPad Pro using Cruisers Sailing Forum
a64pilot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-03-2016, 11:19   #6
Registered User
 
Stu Jackson's Avatar

Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Cowichan Bay, BC (Maple Bay Marina)
Posts: 6,603
Re: B&G zeus touch install problem

Quote:
Originally Posted by TJ D View Post
Ok...

On the third reading of the install manual, I finally noticed the little tidbit that the yellow and red wires BOTH had to be connected to +12vdc.

I now have a working radar! Perhaps I should read more carefully prior to posting?

Thanks much. TJ
TJ, good for you, for both your fixit and your honesty.

May I use this as an example to show to folks who get all fussy pants and snarky when I suggest RTFM???
__________________
Stu Jackson
Catalina 34 #224 (1986) C34IA Secretary
Cowichan Bay, BC, (Maple Bay Marina) SR/FK, M25, Rocna 10 (22#) (NZ model)
Stu Jackson is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 20-03-2016, 12:23   #7
Registered User

Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Alaska/Portugal
Boat: Custom 55
Posts: 800
Re: B&G zeus touch install problem

Sure, Stu, go ahead. In my case, I had to rtfm 3 times!

TJ
TJ D is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 20-03-2016, 21:23   #8
Registered User

Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: canada
Posts: 1,923
Re: B&G zeus touch install problem

the yellow wire from the radar should be connected to the yellow wire of the zeus. set zeus to master in the power settings.


then the plotter will turn on the radar. if you just wire the yellow radar to 12v, it will always be powered on.
smac999 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-03-2016, 08:13   #9
Registered User
 
Cadence's Avatar

Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: SC
Boat: None,build the one shown of glass, had many from 6' to 48'.
Posts: 6,734
Re: B&G zeus touch install problem

Quote:
Originally Posted by TJ D View Post
Ok...

On the third reading of the install manual, I finally noticed the little tidbit that the yellow and red wires BOTH had to be connected to +12vdc.

I now have a working radar! Perhaps I should read more carefully prior to posting?

Thanks much. TJ
I would like to have a nickel for every time I had to read the manual three times. Glad you solved it.
__________________

Cadence is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Raymarine EV-100 and B&G Zeus Touch WaterGod Marine Electronics 26 12-05-2017 08:33
Difference between B&G Zeus Touch and Zeus2? Maika Marine Electronics 115 18-06-2016 14:32
B&G Zeus Touch 2 connect to Raymarine Backbone? darrelweb Marine Electronics 6 15-09-2015 07:25
Migrating to B&G Zeus Touch so34chi Marine Electronics 3 11-07-2014 21:17



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 14:15.


Google+
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Social Knowledge Networks
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

ShowCase vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.