Cruisers Forum
 


Join CruisersForum Today

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 09-05-2016, 10:45   #1
Registered User

Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: RI
Boat: Tartan 3800
Posts: 122
B&G Zeus T12 question

I installed a Zeus T12 in the Fall with a 4G Radar and it all works great. I also have B&G Network Auto pilot and wind, speed, depth and Nav gauges, that are all 0183. I was wondering if I could tie all of these and my VHF into the video/0183 wire? Has anyone tried this?

Thank You
Tartan 3800
RI
__________________

__________________
bmm32005 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2016, 19:09   #2
Registered User
 
leftbrainstuff's Avatar

Join Date: May 2011
Location: San Francisco and Australia
Boat: Liberty 458
Posts: 1,979
Re: B&G Zeus T12 question

We're installing a complete B&G nav system in June.

Have seen others have issues with overly complex networks. Specifically auto pilot issues and very chatty tritons. Haven't seen any new posts in the last few months.

Sent from my SM-N900T using Cruisers Sailing Forum mobile app
__________________

__________________
leftbrainstuff is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2016, 19:16   #3
Registered User

Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: canada
Posts: 1,700
Re: B&G Zeus T12 question

Of course, that's what's its for.

If they are comming from seperate sources you will need a multiplexer as the screen only has one Input.

If it's all a single unit like an h3000 you shouldn't need one
__________________
smac999 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2016, 05:26   #4
Registered User

Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: RI
Boat: Tartan 3800
Posts: 122
Re: B&G Zeus T12 question

The Network is all connected together with one network cable. Thanks I'll try it out.
__________________
bmm32005 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2016, 08:47   #5
Registered User

Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 23
Re: B&G Zeus T12 question

Quote:
Originally Posted by bmm32005 View Post
The Network is all connected together with one network cable. Thanks I'll try it out.
Could you let us know how it goes, I have my eye on a Zeus 7, and would be interested to see how it goes.
__________________
philtrick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2016, 10:21   #6
Registered User

Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: RI
Boat: Tartan 3800
Posts: 122
Re: B&G Zeus T12 question

Quote:
Originally Posted by philtrick View Post
Could you let us know how it goes, I have my eye on a Zeus 7, and would be interested to see how it goes.
Sure will. It took me 4 trips 1/2 way up the mast to fish the Radar wire through the base of the mast. I had to cut off the telephone connector piece then it fished right through. Easy to re-attach with the right tool. Everything else went great.

Obviously if everything is NMEA 2000 it is plug and play.

I'll tie in my antique 0183 stuff this weekend and re post.
__________________
bmm32005 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2016, 10:51   #7
Registered User

Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: Vilamoura - Portugal
Posts: 23
Re: B&G Zeus T12 question

These information are in the Network pilot manual.


NMEA OUTPUT
NMEA output is via the network cable connection tail, use a special 3m
NMEA output cable 610-OA-030 (Red sig+, Blue sig-).
Dependent on system devices, the following sentences are transmitted:
$IIHDM Heading
$IIVHW Speed and heading
$IIDBT Depth below transducer
$IIVWR Apparent wind angle and speed
$IIMTW Water temperature
__________________
dietervoegeli is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2016, 13:18   #8
Registered User

Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Homeport: Oswego, NY
Boat: 1993 Sabre 362 #113
Posts: 351
Re: B&G Zeus T12 question

Quote:
Originally Posted by bmm32005 View Post
I installed a Zeus T12 in the Fall with a 4G Radar and it all works great. I also have B&G Network Auto pilot and wind, speed, depth and Nav gauges, that are all 0183. I was wondering if I could tie all of these and my VHF into the video/0183 wire? Has anyone tried this?

Thank You
Tartan 3800
RI
Recently asked the same question of B&G Tech Support. If you have the "Network" series of instruments you may have some difficulty with the connection. Apparently, the Network series is based on NMEA 0183 v1.5 which is not supported by the Zeus2 series, but may, sometimes work.

From B&G:

Quote:
Dave,

The Network system only transmits 0183 data in Version 1.5 and the Zeus2 system only plays well with version 2.0. The correct baud rate is 4800 but some functions may not communicate well. Unfortunate do to the age of the network system we do not test it with the new equipment. It us worth trying as some customer have had good luck but if you do want to better your chances of full two way communication there is a company in England called Tinley that makes an NMEA 0183 version converter that can bring it to a version of 2.0 or higher.

If the Zeus2 is receiving 0183 data it will bridge it to NMEA 2000. The only thing it will not bridge is AIS information.

Thank you for choosing Navico products!

Sincerely,

John

Navico Technical Support
__________________
Dave Lochner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-05-2016, 18:30   #9
Registered User

Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: RI
Boat: Tartan 3800
Posts: 122
Re: B&G Zeus T12 question

OK so I did a bunch of investigating in my Network wires. I had a NMEA 0183 network cable coming out of the middle of my NAV display and another coming out of the middle of the Network Pilot. I connected the wires from the NAV to the 0183 wires coming from my Zeus T12. I'm seeing speed, depth on the Zeus and the Network pilot is talking to the autopilot. I think I need to re-calibrate the pilot since it was off a bit. I do not see any wind being displayed on the Zeus. I'll do a good sea trial this weekend.

If anyone needs to know what color wires went to what let me know. I'll continue to play with the wind issue. May need to play around in Settings on the Zeus or install a converter.
__________________
bmm32005 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-05-2016, 03:08   #10
Registered User

Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: Vilamoura - Portugal
Posts: 23
Re: B&G Zeus T12 question

Look for the wind sensor 0183 appears in the device list.
Settings> Advanced> Source (or device list).
You may need to enable wind in 0183.
__________________
dietervoegeli is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-05-2016, 03:33   #11
Registered User

Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: Vilamoura - Portugal
Posts: 23
Re: B&G Zeus T12 question

NMEA 0183 SUPPORTED SENTENCES ZEUS T

WIND > MWV, MWD

OUTPUT FORM NETWORK IS VWR
__________________

__________________
dietervoegeli is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
B&G Zeus MFD - Has Anyone Tried it ? hoppy Marine Electronics 94 12-04-2017 19:08
B&G Zeus T12 Installation Questions rgleason Marine Electronics 2 05-08-2016 09:41
Any B&G Zeus 2 owners? CAELESTIS Marine Electronics 1 24-09-2014 13:36
Migrating to B&G Zeus Touch so34chi Marine Electronics 3 11-07-2014 22:17
Cool Sailing Functions in B&G Zeus Dockhead Marine Electronics 0 31-03-2014 05:45



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:57.


Google+
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Social Knowledge Networks
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

ShowCase vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.