Cruisers Forum
 


Join CruisersForum Today

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 22-08-2015, 07:44   #1
Registered User
 
jr_spyder's Avatar

Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Boston area
Boat: Little Harbor 46 (1988)
Posts: 222
B&G AIS target - my own boat

I have a full suite of B&G electronics including a Zeus 12 and a Zeus 8 MFD (not the Zeus II models). I also have their AIS-300 installed. It all works fine and always has. One annoyance is that an AIS target for my own boat is always on my screens, basically covering up the expected boat icon for my position. I have entered in my MMSI number across my systems so I'd think the MFD would be smart enough to know that target is me, and shouldn't be displayed.

This is actually more than annoying on my radar screen (4G) where my own boat shows as a vessel in a danger zone, so I can't set any guard zones as the alarm immediately goes off saying I'm about to collide with myself!

As an interesting side note my dedicated AIS GPS antenna and my regular nav GPS antenna are about 15 feet apart from each other, so my AIS system usually says the dangerous boat (me) is +/- 15 feet away.

This doesn't make sense but I can't figure out what I may have configured incorrectly to make this go away. I also have a vague memory that it didn't used to be this way so perhaps some upgrade I did to my Zeus's changed the feature, or messed up my configs.

How does this work for other people with these products? Any help appreciated!

Thanks,

JR
__________________

__________________
jr_spyder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-08-2015, 17:44   #2
Registered User

Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 1
Re: B&G AIS target - my own boat

There's a setting in one of the Zeus screens (don't remember which one) that allows you to enter the MMSI for your boat. Once you enter that number, it won't show up as a target.
__________________

__________________
sflier is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-08-2015, 21:10   #3
Registered User
 
jr_spyder's Avatar

Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Boston area
Boat: Little Harbor 46 (1988)
Posts: 222
Re: B&G AIS target - my own boat

I thought that may be the case and have set the MMSI number in the Zeus, but still have the issue. I must be missing exactly the right setting. Can't seem to find it.


Sent from my iPhone using Cruisers Sailing Forum
__________________
jr_spyder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-08-2015, 01:35   #4
Registered User

Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Europe
Boat: Luffe 45
Posts: 44
Re: B&G AIS target - my own boat

I had the same problem with Raymarine - finally I figured out that the problem was the AIS Splitter - check if he is working proper .....I don't think its related to B&G....

Lifgun
__________________
lifgun is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-08-2015, 05:27   #5
Moderator Emeritus
 
GordMay's Avatar

Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Thunder Bay, Ontario - 48-29N x 89-20W
Boat: (Cruiser Living On Dirt)
Posts: 31,577
Images: 240
Re: B&G AIS target - my own boat

Greetings and welcome aboard the CF, sflier.
__________________
Gord May
"If you didn't have the time or money to do it right in the first place, when will you get the time/$ to fix it?"



GordMay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-08-2015, 05:59   #6
Registered User
 
jr_spyder's Avatar

Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Boston area
Boat: Little Harbor 46 (1988)
Posts: 222
Re: B&G AIS target - my own boat

Quote:
Originally Posted by lifgun View Post
I had the same problem with Raymarine - finally I figured out that the problem was the AIS Splitter - check if he is working proper .....I don't think its related to B&G....

Lifgun
By AIS splitter do you mean for that antenna? I don't have one of those as I have a dedicated AIS antenna.
__________________
jr_spyder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-08-2015, 06:10   #7
Senior Cruiser
 
colemj's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Presently on US East Coast
Boat: Manta 40 "Reach"
Posts: 10,049
Images: 12
Re: B&G AIS target - my own boat

Is the AIS-300 the only AIS input into the chart plotter?

We had a VHF/DSC/AIS also going into our chart plotter along with our AIS transponder and I had to turn off the AIS part of the VHF feed to keep from seeing our own vessel (keeping the DSC component).

Mark
__________________
www.svreach.com

You do not need a parachute to skydive. You only need a parachute to skydive twice.
colemj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-08-2015, 06:31   #8
Registered User
 
jr_spyder's Avatar

Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Boston area
Boat: Little Harbor 46 (1988)
Posts: 222
Re: B&G AIS target - my own boat

Yes, the AIS-300 is my only AIS data source. You have me thinking, however, if one or both of the Zues's is repeating the signal back onto the network and then causing a similar problem to yours. I'm not on the boat right now but will keep this idea in mind to test if nothing else comes up.
__________________
jr_spyder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-08-2015, 11:57   #9
Registered User
 
wrwakefield's Avatar

Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Wrangell Island, Alaska
Boat: Nauticat 43
Posts: 861
Re: B&G AIS target - my own boat

Quote:
Originally Posted by jr_spyder View Post
I have a full suite of B&G electronics including a Zeus 12 and a Zeus 8 MFD (not the Zeus II models). I also have their AIS-300 installed. It all works fine and always has. One annoyance is that an AIS target for my own boat is always on my screens, basically covering up the expected boat icon for my position. I have entered in my MMSI number across my systems so I'd think the MFD would be smart enough to know that target is me, and shouldn't be displayed.

This is actually more than annoying on my radar screen (4G) where my own boat shows as a vessel in a danger zone, so I can't set any guard zones as the alarm immediately goes off saying I'm about to collide with myself!

As an interesting side note my dedicated AIS GPS antenna and my regular nav GPS antenna are about 15 feet apart from each other, so my AIS system usually says the dangerous boat (me) is +/- 15 feet away.

This doesn't make sense but I can't figure out what I may have configured incorrectly to make this go away. I also have a vague memory that it didn't used to be this way so perhaps some upgrade I did to my Zeus's changed the feature, or messed up my configs.

How does this work for other people with these products? Any help appreciated!

Thanks,

JR
Hi JR,

On our Zeus Touch 8, the vessel's MMSI number is entered on the Settings/Vessels Page.

It works as expected [i.e., we don't see our own vessel on AIS] with either of 2 AIS input sources we have on the network [Vesper Watchman 850 and B&G V50 VHF with AIS rx.]

If I were having the same issue, I would double-check I entered the same MMSI [and hopefully correct one as well... ] which I suspect you have already done...

If you need more specifics about software version [most current offered last we checked...] etc. please let me know.

In case this is helpful.

Cheers!

Bill
__________________
SV Denali Rose

Short on opinions; focused on research, facts & experience [yours and ours...]
wrwakefield is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-08-2015, 12:56   #10
Registered User
 
jr_spyder's Avatar

Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Boston area
Boat: Little Harbor 46 (1988)
Posts: 222
Re: B&G AIS target - my own boat

Solved.

I need new glasses.

It turns out I had the wrong MMSI number in one MFD (I had transposed two digits ). Once corrected all works fine.

Dumb me!

JR
__________________

__________________
jr_spyder is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
ais

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How can I select any AIS target as own ship on OPENCPN? chiangkent Navigation 9 14-12-2013 14:46
Virtual AIS target useris OpenCPN 0 06-04-2013 13:51
Maxsea 10.3.2.1 does not display AIS Class B target names svBeBe Marine Electronics 7 17-03-2013 09:59
OpenCPN v2.5.0 Unable to Display AIS Target Query Window jsavage Navigation 4 28-11-2011 01:35
AIS Target Mouseover Data idpnd OpenCPN 11 18-06-2010 04:34



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 15:36.


Google+
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Social Knowledge Networks
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

ShowCase vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.