Cruisers Forum
 


Join CruisersForum Today

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 26-04-2009, 17:41   #1
Registered User

Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Canada
Boat: None
Posts: 77
Autopilot Raymarine ST6000+

Hi,

My autopilot has a strange behavior...Let say, I put it in auto at 350deg and it run ok for periods of 10 to 20 minutes, and my mag compass (the bubble with oil in it!) says the same thing 350deg...then suddently the compass on my auto shift to 005deg !!! So it steers the boat to go back at 350deg, but now my real heading on the mag compass is now 335deg...

To resume, it shift back and forth by 15deg by period of 10 to 15 minutes.

For the record: I am traveling north on the ICW and I am currently anchored near the bridge in CocoaBeach for the night.

Sylvain
__________________

__________________
Rastarea is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-04-2009, 18:28   #2
Registered User
 
roger.waite's Avatar

Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Plimmerton, New Zealand
Boat: Samsara, a Ross 930
Posts: 380
Is the voltage of your DC system remaining reasonably high? Had a similar issue once where (in my case) it seemed to be due to voltage drop, i.e. well charged house batteries could not keep up with total power drain of lights, autopilot, radios, etc.
__________________

__________________
roger.waite is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-04-2009, 18:31   #3
Registered User

Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Canada
Boat: None
Posts: 77
Voltage is ok because yhis happens with engine running.
__________________
Rastarea is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-04-2009, 18:51   #4
Long Range Cruiser
 
MarkJ's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Australian living on "Sea Life" currently in England.
Boat: Beneteau 393 "Sea Life"
Posts: 12,828
Images: 25
Check there is nothing metal near, or in the cupboard next to, the fluxgate compass.


A friend of mine put his spare alternator in the cupboard next to the fluxgate compass and wondered why he kept sailing in circles........
__________________
Notes on a Circumnavigation.
OurLifeAtSea.com

Somalia Pirates and our Convoy
MarkJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-04-2009, 19:00   #5
Registered User

Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Canada
Boat: None
Posts: 77
thank, I will try to locate this fluxgate compas, somebody can post a picture?
__________________
Rastarea is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-04-2009, 19:05   #6
Registered User

Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Canada
Boat: None
Posts: 77
....and where is it usualy located?
__________________
Rastarea is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-04-2009, 19:42   #7
Long Range Cruiser
 
MarkJ's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Australian living on "Sea Life" currently in England.
Boat: Beneteau 393 "Sea Life"
Posts: 12,828
Images: 25
Click on the photo below to blow it up.

It will often be in an aft cabin screwed into the wall of a hanging locker.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	14937.gif
Views:	421
Size:	33.0 KB
ID:	7927  
__________________
Notes on a Circumnavigation.
OurLifeAtSea.com

Somalia Pirates and our Convoy
MarkJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-04-2009, 19:57   #8
Registered User
 
Strygaldwir's Avatar

Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Deale, Maryland
Boat: SeaView - Privilege 37
Posts: 1,020
Images: 5
I had some interesting issues with my Raymarine autopilot a while back. After much hair pulling, it turned out to be corrosion on the power lines going to the drive unit of all places. I thought it was corrosion on the power lines going to the corepack. It seems that the additional draw from the drive would cause an under current condition in the corepack and generated very interesting issues periodically. This was even though my engines were on and putting out 13.5 volts or so. Worth a check.
__________________
Strygaldwir is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-04-2009, 22:57   #9
Registered User
 
scotte's Avatar

Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: SF Bay Area, CA, USA
Boat: Privilege 39
Posts: 664
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rastarea View Post
....and where is it usualy located?
It's always located at the end of the wires from the autopilot computer, so I would start there and trace them. As it's location depends entirely on who installed it, it could be pretty much anywhere.
__________________
scotte is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-04-2009, 18:33   #10
Registered User

Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Canada
Boat: None
Posts: 77
Ok the device has been located, but looks ok, no shafe wires or visual damages. I will have to try the calibration procedure.
__________________
Rastarea is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2009, 19:04   #11
Registered User

Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Pittwater, Sydney, Australia
Boat: Swanson 38" 'SWANSONG 1'
Posts: 46
SPX Autopilot Raymarine with ST56002 Controller

We could find no instructions in the supplied installation guide on how to calibrate the compass.

There is no owner's manual available in print either, just a CD.

In any case, there are no calibrating instructions in this manual either, although it is recommended to follow Raymarine 'commissioning' instructions.

The fluxgate compass seems to be reasonably distant from other magnetic fields, but will have this checked.

Raymarine Australia have promised they will identify the problem and rectify it. They were so far quite competent and willing.

Will let you know.

Regards
__________________
Paolo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2009, 23:05   #12
Registered User
 
scotte's Avatar

Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: SF Bay Area, CA, USA
Boat: Privilege 39
Posts: 664
I don't know if your model is available there, but Raymarine has lots of manuals at their website - which I've found really useful. While I've got paper manuals for everything, I downloaded the PDF documents for everything aboard onto the computer for easy reference.

On my autopilot (which is a different model than yours), there's a setup mode and I drive the boat in slow circles until the thing calibrates itself.
__________________
scotte is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2009, 01:28   #13
Registered User

Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Pittwater, Sydney, Australia
Boat: Swanson 38" 'SWANSONG 1'
Posts: 46
Thanks, Scotte.
Indeed, I found now manuals online and Raymarine Australia have sent me a PDF copy of the commissioning manual.
Hopefully, all will be sorted out.
Regards
__________________
Paolo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2009, 04:23   #14
Registered User

Join Date: May 2006
Location: Cruising the east coast.
Boat: 1994 Fountaine Pajot Tobago-35 "Lauren Marie"
Posts: 63
Autopilot

Paolo,

I had a very similar experience with my Raymarine 6002 last year. After working with their help desk for a week or so, they assignrd me a tech to work wiih. We tried many things, including 3 different computers and fluxgate compasses, but it turned out to be a simple solution that, for some reason, is not on their help desk's check list.

The location of the computer. The Computer was located too close to other instruments even though it had been installed by a Raymarine master tech. The solution was to move the computer as far away from other instruments as the cables would allow but, a minimum of 3 feet.

Hope this helps

Mike....
__________________
mfeene01 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2009, 08:18   #15
Registered User

Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Pittwater, Sydney, Australia
Boat: Swanson 38" 'SWANSONG 1'
Posts: 46
Will show also this message to the good people at Raymarine Australia.

I am sure the problem will be sorted out.

Thanks!
__________________

__________________
Paolo is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
autopilot, raymarine

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Raymarine X-5 Autopilot Anyone? Orion Jim Marine Electronics 19 30-06-2010 22:32
Raymarine X-5 Autopilot rvennis Marine Electronics 1 20-03-2009 10:53
Raymarine Autopilot Instal In Catalina? Hubec Marine Electronics 7 17-05-2007 12:34
Interface Raymarine chartplotter to Autopilot tilmonday Marine Electronics 4 18-05-2006 09:16
Raymarine autopilot irwinsailor Construction, Maintenance & Refit 3 14-09-2005 20:48



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 22:54.


Google+
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Social Knowledge Networks
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

ShowCase vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.