Cruisers Forum
 


Join CruisersForum Today

Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 06-12-2016, 07:23   #1
Registered User

Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: Mechanicsburg, PA
Boat: Beneteau 49
Posts: 8
Autopilot

I recently completed the Caribbean 1500 with 10 days of hand steering as my Raymarine E 120's autopilot failed. It would come back on momentarily at times and at one point even the chart plotter went out and we steered by compass. When it goes out, first Heading Not Available, then Fixed Postion Lost comes on the screen. The boat is currently docked in St Thomas. Any recommendations on a competent Marine Electronics technician there or Tortola? I tried one in Nanny Cay to no avail.
__________________

scobane is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2016, 15:39   #2
Are you serious?
 
sailorboy1's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: currently in Booy Key/Marathon Fl
Boat: Hunter 410
Posts: 15,605
Re: Autopilot

Before you waste a bunch of money check power and ground connections and the seatalk connections as that is where the problem seem to be.
__________________

__________________
jobless, houseless, clueless, living on a boat and cruising around somewhere
sailorboy1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2016, 17:40   #3
Registered User
 
ka4wja's Avatar

Join Date: May 2007
Location: Florida
Boat: Catalina 470
Posts: 2,299
Re: Autopilot

I hope the Cruiser's Forum moderators will move this thread to the Marine Electronics forum...

scobane,

In addition to what sailorboy posted (which I agree with)....have a look at this info here...




While you see a lot of boats there, and you'd think the islands would have plenty of marine electronics shops, unfortunately the plethora of charter boats (without much in the way of sophisticated electronics) in the Virgin Islands, means that there are few actual marine electronics experts that are affordable!

But, sobane, further down the road of unfortunates....until we know what autopilot you have, what is actually happening, what is actually being displayed on the autopilot control heads, how your system is wired, etc. etc., there is little that I can offer you in way of specifics...
But, be aware that if it is in fact the E-120 that is shutting off (???), then this was a problem with early software versions, so you may find just downloading new software (or buying a CF card with the new software from Raymarine), to be a quick fix...
But, I think there is another problem here....I just don't know what you have on-board, nor exactly what your problem is....
Quote:
Originally Posted by scobane View Post
I recently completed the Caribbean 1500 with 10 days of hand steering as my Raymarine E 120's autopilot failed. It would come back on momentarily at times and at one point even the chart plotter went out and we steered by compass. When it goes out, first Heading Not Available, then Fixed Postion Lost comes on the screen. The boat is currently docked in St Thomas. Any recommendations on a competent Marine Electronics technician there or Tortola? I tried one in Nanny Cay to no avail.
The E-120 is a MFD (Multi Function Display), not an autopilot....

Typical Raymarine autopilots of the same era of the E-120, would be an S3 or S3G....(or the smaller S2 or S2G)....and typically the autopilot control heads would be ST-6002+ or ST-7002+....

But, most importantly here is that what you describe happening is a bit confusing as the E-120 is the "chartplotter"....
And "heading not available" on the E-120 is completely understandable if the autopilot is off (non-functioning), as the heading sensor is usually connected directly to the autopilot core pak / course computer (i.e. the S3G)...
"heading not available" on the ST-6002+ or ST-7002+ would usually be "HDNG ERROR"....so, I'm assuming the "heading not available" is on the E-120???

"Fix Position Lost", is a bit of an odd error for the autopilot, as it usually means the GPS module/receiver has lost a fix or has lost power....
But, it is possible that someone wired the RayStar 125 GPS thru the autopilot??? And, when autopilot is non-functioning (or powered off) there is no GPS working???



I know this hasn't answered your question....so sorry about that....
But, I do hope you find some of this useful...

Fair winds...

John
__________________
John, KA4WJA
s/v Annie Laurie, WDB6927
MMSI# 366933110
ka4wja is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2016, 18:17   #4
Registered User

Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 4,413
Re: Autopilot

How many hours and under what conditions did the AP work properly... that is before this problem surfaced?
Sandero is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2016, 19:55   #5
Bailing as fast as I can.
 
GILow's Avatar

Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Adelaide, South Australia
Boat: Swanson 42
Posts: 5,602
Re: Autopilot

This all feels like a fault on the seatalk bus to me. Most of the Comms to things like GPS receiver, flux gate compass etc are on the bus.


Sent from my iPhone using Cruisers Sailing Forum
__________________
Count-down has commenced.
GILow is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2016, 00:52   #6
Senior Cruiser
 
bstreep's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: San Antonio, TX/Port Aransas, TX
Boat: 1990 Macintosh 47, "Merlin"
Posts: 2,377
Re: Autopilot

I'll second checking your power source. They hate low voltage and corroded connections.
__________________
Bill Streep
San Antonio/Port Aransas, TX
bstreep is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2016, 05:25   #7
Senior Cruiser
 
GordMay's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Thunder Bay, Ontario - 48-29N x 89-20W
Boat: (Cruiser Living On Dirt)
Posts: 36,356
Images: 241
Re: Autopilot

Greetings and welcome aboard the CF, scobane.

Budget Marine gives give referrals for marine services in St Thomas.
http://www.budgetmarine.com/Store.aspx?id=St.%20Thomas
__________________
Gord May
"If you didn't have the time or money to do it right in the first place, when will you get the time/$ to fix it?"



GordMay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2016, 06:37   #8
Moderator Emeritus
 
nigel1's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Manchester, UK
Boat: Beneteau 473
Posts: 5,469
Re: Autopilot

Quote:
Originally Posted by ka4wja View Post
I hope the Cruiser's Forum moderators will move this thread to the Marine Electronics forum...
We have now
__________________
Nigel
Beneteau 473
Manchester, UK
nigel1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2016, 06:47   #9
Registered User

Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 4,413
Re: Autopilot

Let me give some advice about APs.

YOU are the skipper... you set the course.... which with an AP means entering the course to steer.

When you interface a GPS to an AP... you abdicate your responsibility to a very vulnerable electric system with multiple places for failure. KISS

You leave the GPS out of the steering. Use it as an adviser.
Sandero is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2016, 07:05   #10
Registered User

Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: SW Florida
Boat: FP Belize, 43' - Dot Dun
Posts: 3,822
Re: Autopilot

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sandero View Post
Let me give some advice about APs.

YOU are the skipper... you set the course.... which with an AP means entering the course to steer.

When you interface a GPS to an AP... you abdicate your responsibility to a very vulnerable electric system with multiple places for failure. KISS

You leave the GPS out of the steering. Use it as an adviser.
Huh?

You believe that telling your AP to follow a track abdicates the skipper's responsibility???

You believe there are less failure modes for an AP when following the wind or a heading?

Please explain yourself.
__________________

DotDun is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
autopilot

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New Autopilot Control, old Autopilot motor Pablo Danic Marine Electronics 3 29-06-2016 00:28
CPT autopilot plus Monitor windvane or just W-H autopilot? graydog Construction, Maintenance & Refit 9 03-05-2015 23:21
Connecting OpenCPN autopilot output via USB into data plug for ST3000 autopilot boatrips Marine Electronics 1 14-02-2015 14:38
Autopilot irwinsailor Seamanship & Boat Handling 11 21-05-2003 03:05
Looking at B&G autopilot kd7lmq Marine Electronics 0 14-05-2003 17:03

Advertise Here


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 18:58.


Google+
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Social Knowledge Networks
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
×

ShowCase vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.