Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 01-01-2014, 05:21   #1

Boat: Furia-37
Question Autohelm-5000 Analogic

Dear all,

First of all let me introduce myself given that this is my first time in the forum. I'm a Spanish lover of sailing and after some years owning a 19 feet Hunter Europa, I've just bought a 37 feet Spanish sailboat (Furia) built in 1984.

So, as you can imagine, I'm working a lot trying to renew almost everything

The boat is fitted out with an Autohelm 5000 autopilot and a RayNav 575 GPS. The autopilot is not working at all. The drive unit lacks the circuit board and I don't know where to get it. Any advise about it?

The second question is: Could the RayNav be linked to the autopilot system? I mean, does the RayNav give the instructions to the autohelm pilot to follow the course? And additionally, do anyone know where can I find the RayNav 575 owner's manual?

Thanks in advance
Briboon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2014, 07:31   #2

Boat: Manta 40 "Reach"
Re: Autohelm-5000 Analogic

I don't have any real knowledge for you on these, only to point out that those are very old units and you probably won't find OEM replacement parts for them. Maybe ebay, etc for used units that you can piece together.

If the drive unit on the AP is bad and a below-deck drive, you can probably buy another drive unit - they tend to be pretty generic. If it is one of the wheel drives with belts, then you probably cannot buy a new one.

And I think that RayNav is a Loran unit and not GPS? If so, Loran no longer exists, so it isn't very useful.

Good luck and welcome to CF!

Mark

You do not need a parachute to skydive. You only need a parachute to skydive twice.
colemj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2014, 07:28   #3

Thanks a lot Mark for so useful information.