Cruisers Forum

Join CruisersForum Today

Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 02-09-2008, 11:50   #1
Registered User

Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 2
Aotohelm st50 tridata problems

On my new boat baba30 i have Autohelm St50 Tridata depth/speed .
Unit workls fine on shallow water. But usually after reaching 30+ feet just freeze on last number and stays there. So far what I have tried:
- check if transducer is not fouled- cleaned it up
- when with unit working and shiowing changing depth I have disconnected transducer- It show last display .Also- is it normal? After shutting power off ( with disconnected transducer) and switching ON- display shows "0". After connecting transducer - will start to show changing depth. Ater reaching deeper water- sometimes 30+, or 50+ feet will freeze again- Comming back to shallow water will start to show depth again. Anyone has any idea what is wrong?

slavek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2008, 15:45   #2
Moderator Emeritus
Ex-Calif's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: May 2007
Location: Singapore
Boat: Maxi 77 - Relax Lah!
Posts: 11,514
Images: 4
That is very strange - I know many units have a setting for "max" depth to display. But the fact it stops at 30 sometimes and 50 sometimes is strange.

After it reaches 30, for example and you return to shallower water, does it go back to showing decreasing depth or do you have to turn it off to make it work again.

Also I don't think I would be running the unit without the transducer hooked up. Probably not a problem but it needs the transducer signal to work properly. Any reading you get with the transducer disconnected would be meaningless.

Maybe you could check the manual about the max depth setting.

Relax Lah! is For Sale <--- Click
Click--> Custom CF Google Search or CF Rules
You're gonna need a bigger boat... - Martin Brody
Ex-Calif is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2008, 16:21   #3
Moderator Emeritus
FrankZ's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Chesapeake Bay
Boat: Bristol 35 Bellesa
Posts: 13,567
Images: 1
Is the transducer a dual frequency one? High frequency might give you greater precision but lack deep penetration. Low frequency should go deeper but not be as percise.
Sing to a sailor's courage, Sing while the elbows bend,
A ruby port your harbor, Raise three sheets to the wind.
......................-=Krynnish drinking song=-
FrankZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2008, 16:42   #4
Registered User

Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: St. Louis, MO; Grenada
Boat: Lagoon 420
Posts: 144
This is why everyone switeches from this system. I recently installed a Lowrance system that includes a GPS, all of the tridata info and much more plus displaying Navionics chips and it is in color with a very bright display. Probably cost less than fixing the tridata. It is a no-brainer to me. I kept the other instruments like wind sppeed and off course.
Bradley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2008, 07:55   #5
Registered User

Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 2
Autohelm ST50 tridata

Ex Calif-Thank you for reply.
I have to do more testing but so far display comes back to "active" while returning to shallower water. I have check manual and there is indication of max depth setting.
There is 2 more concerns. Speed transducer cable is running most of the route close to dept transducer cable, According to manual they should be about 8 inch apart to not cause interference. As for now I do not have speed transducer in well anyway - it's plugged- but cable is connected to display. Do you think disconnecting speed transducer cable and try? Also both cables run in some point very close to engine- it's not the best solution according to manual. Do you this could create problem? My last few testing were under the engine to see how depth sounder behaves, but previously the same was under sail.
Thank you for your time
slavek is offline   Reply With Quote

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
ST50 SeaTalk connectors scotte Marine Electronics 4 14-09-2016 11:36
ST50 / 60 Depth Compatible ? markpj23 Marine Electronics 11 01-06-2011 06:44
Raymarine ST60 or ST50 Wind - Wanted dworkman Classifieds Archive 3 07-06-2008 11:19
Force 10 Problems JusDreaming Provisioning: Food & Drink 5 24-08-2007 07:07

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 20:28.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Social Knowledge Networks
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

ShowCase vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.