Cruisers Forum
 


Join CruisersForum Today

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 19-03-2011, 10:30   #1
Registered User

Join Date: Feb 2008
Boat: Cape Dory 330
Posts: 157
Anyone set up a Matrix 2150 with Raymarine C-series plotter

Hi,
I'm thinking about buying the Matrix 2150 VHF/AIS system, and am wondering if anyone knows how best to set this up?
I'm thinking I'll need to connect my GPS (raystar) with the Matrix 2150, and then have the output of that (gps + ais data) go back to the chartplotter with nmea cable.
A brief search of the net for NMEA cable seems to indicate it is hard to find in good lengths, although I think I have spare cable on my current chartplotter->gps link.

Thx for any tips
__________________

__________________
sgtPluck is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-03-2011, 19:32   #2
Registered User
 
Pau Hana Daz's Avatar

Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Placida, FL
Boat: IP38 cutter
Posts: 171
Images: 4
Re: Anyone set up a Matrix 2150 with Raymarine C-series plotter

I just installed a 2150 and interfaced it with my Garmin 4212 today. Went quite smoothly (and this from someone who has never worked with NMEA0183 before).

Standard Horizon's web site has instructions for wiring to most plotters - Here's instructions for the C series:
http://www.standardhorizon.com/downl...pplication/pdf

As for cable, I just used a 5 conductor 28 ga cable and made my own color conversion chart. Works like a charm.

PS - If you haven't bought yours yet, take a look at Anchor Express - They have the best price I've found. I bought mine for around $315 with $10 shipping for my entire order (radio, RAM, 2 heads, etc).
__________________

__________________
Daz
Pau Hana Daz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-03-2011, 20:02   #3
Registered User
 
funjohnson's Avatar

Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Currently Indiantown FL
Boat: 37' aluminum pilothouse "Elements"
Posts: 1,846
Re: Anyone set up a Matrix 2150 with Raymarine C-series plotter

Quote:
Originally Posted by DWJensen View Post

PS - If you haven't bought yours yet, take a look at Anchor Express - They have the best price I've found. I bought mine for around $315 with $10 shipping for my entire order (radio, RAM, 2 heads, etc).
You got a 2150 and a ram mike for $315? I added both to my cart and I'm already over $405. Did you have a code?
__________________
funjohnson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-03-2011, 20:13   #4
Registered User
 
Pau Hana Daz's Avatar

Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Placida, FL
Boat: IP38 cutter
Posts: 171
Images: 4
Re: Anyone set up a Matrix 2150 with Raymarine C-series plotter

Sorry - No, didn't mean to imply that the radio and RAM were $315, just the radio. I did get the RAM for a great price and the heads as well (Raritan Elegance and Jabsco T&L).

West Marine lists it for $399 and Defender for $349 IIRC.
__________________
Daz
Pau Hana Daz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-03-2011, 20:30   #5
Registered User
 
funjohnson's Avatar

Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Currently Indiantown FL
Boat: 37' aluminum pilothouse "Elements"
Posts: 1,846
Re: Anyone set up a Matrix 2150 with Raymarine C-series plotter

Daz,

I just reread your first post and understand now... my misunderstanding.
__________________
funjohnson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-03-2011, 04:07   #6
Registered User

Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 45
Re: Anyone set up a Matrix 2150 with Raymarine C-series plotter

I set one up a month ago you need a Raymarine NMEA Cable $52 from Raymarine. Part number R08004

I comes around 3 foot long just splice to it. Bare End. It's a easy install.

Power and Sail Boat Repair

New Bern, North Carolina
__________________
chuck711 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-03-2011, 15:08   #7
Registered User

Join Date: Feb 2008
Boat: Cape Dory 330
Posts: 157
Re: Anyone set up a Matrix 2150 with Raymarine C-series plotter

Thanks for the info - I just ordered it from Anchor Express.

From the wiring document it looks like I'll just use NMEA cable port from my chartplotter to wire it as described in the document.

The only thing I don't like about this (apart from having to do wiring through my steering pedestal) is that it means my chartplotter is the middleman, and if it fails for some reason I'll lose GPS signal to the Matrix as well. I have a usb puck gps, so maybe I could use that as backup.

I take it I can use any 28 awg 5 conductor cable rather than the Raymarine NMEA cable? At $52 for 3 feet foot it will be very expensive to set this up, the radio is around 9 feet from the chartplotter.
__________________
sgtPluck is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-03-2011, 19:59   #8
Registered User
 
r.furborough's Avatar

Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Norfolk, VA
Boat: Freedom 32 (Hoyt)
Posts: 223
Re: Anyone set up a Matrix 2150 with Raymarine C-series plotter

No you need the Raymarine cable as it has the correct plug to connect to the chart plotter, you can them slice this to almost any cheaper 4 or 5 core cable to extend the run to the radio. The Standard Horizon website has specific instructions for connecting and configuring the 2150 to a Raymarine C or E series plotter.
__________________
------------------------------------------------
the memories of a man in his old age, are the dreams of a man in his prime
Pink Floyd - 'Free Four'
r.furborough is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-03-2011, 03:43   #9
Registered User

Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 45
Anyone set up a Matrix 2150 with Raymarine C-series plotter

Gemco sells the connectors only.
__________________
chuck711 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-03-2011, 09:17   #10
Registered User

Join Date: Feb 2008
Boat: Cape Dory 330
Posts: 157
Re: Anyone set up a Matrix 2150 with Raymarine C-series plotter

It looks like I have a lot of spare wire running to my Raystar GPS. I can probably cut some of that out, the GPS can do seatalk and nmea so I presume it'll work.

I just ordered the R08004 part from West Marine.

Thanks!
__________________
sgtPluck is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-03-2011, 09:27   #11
Registered User
 
ShaunJ's Avatar

Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Md, USA
Posts: 430
Re: Anyone set up a Matrix 2150 with Raymarine C-series plotter

Mine was delivered yesterday, will try to install it this weekend.

ShaunJ
__________________
ShaunJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-06-2011, 06:30   #12
Registered User

Join Date: Feb 2008
Boat: Cape Dory 330
Posts: 157
Re: Anyone set up a Matrix 2150 with Raymarine C-series plotter

I'm finally getting around to an attempt at installing this, however the guide from Standard Horizon on setting up the C70 doesn't agree with the actual colors on the C70 NMEA wires.

The standard horizon guide for this say that the Matrix green wire should connect to the blue and green wires on the C70 end. There is no blue wire on the C70 connector end. On the C70 end I have green, yellow, brown, white and black. I *think* I can substitute brown for blue, but am not sure. Google has not yet provided the answer.
__________________

__________________
sgtPluck is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
raymarine

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
For Sale: Garmin 500 Series Plotter Chip - Eastern Caribbean artsteffey Classifieds Archive 2 11-09-2010 08:47
Raymarine C80 Plotter and Furuno 821 Radar mbiciola Marine Electronics 1 16-10-2009 21:18
track distance on Raymarine RC435 plotter pete33458 Navigation 10 21-01-2009 14:26
Raymarine E80 plotter is rebooting Cat Ted Marine Electronics 6 10-03-2008 06:01
Raymarine 425 Chart plotter problems. sailvi767 Marine Electronics 0 11-10-2007 05:52



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:28.


Google+
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Social Knowledge Networks
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

ShowCase vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.