Cruisers Forum
 


Join CruisersForum Today

Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 27-11-2017, 00:50   #1
Registered User

Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Lake Macquarie, NSW, Australia
Boat: Beneteau, Oceanis, 34
Posts: 41
Any way to test before I replace

I've just read most of the threads I could find on the DST800. Mine is connected to a Simrad display and few weeks ago the depth sensor stopping sending data and then a couple of days later the speed and temperature failed. On rebooting the Simrad system the sensor is no longer found. My guess is the tri-sensor has failed and needs replacing. Fine. But before I replace it I have a couple of questions:

1) Is there any testing / troubleshooting I can do to confirm its dead.

2) Would you simply replace it with a like-for-like or would you look for something else? There seems to be many complaints about this sensor in this forum. But mine has been working fine for 5 years. If it gave up, I do not know why.

By the way, I have checked / cleaned the connection.

Any help is appreciated.
__________________

capblasters is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-11-2017, 01:41   #2
Registered User

Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: Essex, England
Boat: Hartley Tahitian 48
Posts: 333
Re: Any way to test before I replace

No Speed or Temperature with DST800

Try here.
__________________

paulajayne is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-12-2017, 02:13   #3
Registered User

Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Lake Macquarie, NSW, Australia
Boat: Beneteau, Oceanis, 34
Posts: 41
Re: Any way to test before I replace

Managed to run what tests I could. Folks at Raymarine were helpful until we got to the sealed trisensor. After some further cleaning I now have an intemittent problem. Depth sometimes works - generally in shallow (<5m) waters, sometimes flashes depth and most of the time just dashes.

Any thoughts before I fork out money for a new sensor?
capblasters is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-12-2017, 03:23   #4
Registered User
 
TheOffice's Avatar

Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Annapolis
Boat: Hylas 44
Posts: 701
Re: Any way to test before I replace

Contact Airmar to see if they can help you troubleshoot
TheOffice is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-12-2017, 17:54   #5
Registered User

Join Date: Feb 2015
Posts: 709
Images: 1
Re: Any way to test before I replace

I have had two of these fail in three years. The most recent only lasted 10 months. Total garbage. I won't waste my time on another.

I don't know of any alternative for direct N2K connect. Next time I'll install another Furuno FCV628 with conventional transducer. At least it's reliable.
__________________
www.MVTanglewood.com
tanglewood is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Lines - To replace, or not to replace? TooCoys General Sailing Forum 31 25-04-2017 13:32
Any way to test empty LPG systems on old boats? critter Construction, Maintenance & Refit 21 03-01-2015 11:28
To Test or Not to Test... hotspur Families, Kids and Pets Afloat 13 29-07-2010 04:43



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 21:44.


Google+
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Social Knowledge Networks
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

ShowCase vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.