Cruisers Forum
 


Join CruisersForum Today

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 08-05-2014, 06:31   #46
Registered User
 
NahanniV's Avatar

Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: On the Boat
Boat: Finnsailer 38
Posts: 1,143
Re: Any current Maretron Wind Speed Users?

The WSO100 has configurable internal damping.

From the manual:

"
2.5.3
Wind Data Damping Period
You may adjust the damping that the WSO100 applies to transmitted wind speed and direction readings. The WSO100 comes from the factory preset with a damping period of 1.5 seconds, which should be appropriate for most applications. However, you may tune the damping period to anywhere between 0.1 seconds and 5.0 seconds if you desire
"

This is the same as the Garmin NMEA2000 wind sensor and others.

Most displays can also apply a damping to the wind data they receive over the network as well; This could cause an undesirable lag (double Damping).

The NMEA2000 network is Certainly NOT the problem.
__________________

__________________
NahanniV is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2014, 19:03   #47
Registered User
 
zboss's Avatar

Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: On a boat
Boat: Cabo Rico 38
Posts: 3,426
Re: Any current Maretron Wind Speed Users?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Opie91 View Post
Pretty sure Mark is right about your set up.



What Garmin unit are you talking about? A chart plotter or instrument. Pretty sure you can choose the preferred gps source. I have 2 sounders on my network and can choose between them. Have to admit it took me a while to figure it out, pretty sure it is in the settings-->communications-->NMEA2000 setup area.



Its true about displaying some of the parameters, the chart plotter do not display/recognize some PGN's. The Garmin instruments (GMI10 & 20) are better at displaying more information, but do not come close to the Maretron units.

I have 2 GMI20, a ghp20 autopilot, and a 741xs chartplotter. They show the airmar but you cannot select it for GPS. If you try they just default back to the garmin unit. The latest updates improve the visibility for some of the parameters but you still cannot select the airmar as the gps.
__________________

__________________
zboss is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2014, 19:11   #48
Registered User

Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Narragansett Bay
Boat: Able 50
Posts: 3,057
Re: Any current Maretron Wind Speed Users?

It's definitely doable. My Airmar weather station is the primary GPS for all my NMEA 2000 systems and works well. There is also a backup Raymarine GPS which is isolated from everything.

I wish I was smart enough to help solve your issues.
__________________
savoir is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2014, 21:23   #49
Registered User
 
zboss's Avatar

Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: On a boat
Boat: Cabo Rico 38
Posts: 3,426
Re: Any current Maretron Wind Speed Users?

Quote:
Originally Posted by savoir View Post
It's definitely doable. My Airmar weather station is the primary GPS for all my NMEA 2000 systems and works well. There is also a backup Raymarine GPS which is isolated from everything.

I wish I was smart enough to help solve your issues.
This thread wasn't really about my airmar issues, but specifically about the maretron transducer. I was just commenting that, based on my experiences with the airmar, I am not sure that any ultrasonic transducer is worth the money over a standard sensor.
__________________
zboss is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2014, 08:48   #50
Senior Cruiser
 
Opie91's Avatar

Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: CT
Boat: C&C 34
Posts: 811
Re: Any current Maretron Wind Speed Users?

Quote:
Originally Posted by zboss View Post
This thread wasn't really about my airmar issues, but specifically about the maretron transducer. I was just commenting that, based on my experiences with the airmar, I am not sure that any ultrasonic transducer is worth the money over a standard sensor.
There is a big price difference between the Airmar and Maretron. You can get the WSO100 for about $600 usd and that is pretty competitive with standard transducers.
__________________
Opie91 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-11-2014, 08:43   #51
Formerly: Capt Wraun
 
Sir Rondo Normal's Avatar

Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Port Louis, Haida Gwaii (The edge of the world)
Boat: Corbin39 CC Cutter Rig
Posts: 431
Re: Any current Maretron Wind Speed Users?

If I may resurrect and old thread, I have just installed my new equipment and I'm having trouble getting data. I would appreciate any ideas of how to proceed.
Here is what I have:

Maretron DST110 triducer
Maretron WSO100 weather sensor
Actisense NGT-1 gateway
Macbook pro running MacENC v.8.75 on OSX Mavericks 10.9.5

What I have done:
I have been through the wiring and verified all connections
I have installed VCP drivers
I have uninstalled VCP drivers
I have installed d2xx drivers
I have uninstalled d2xx drivers
I have upgraded to Mavericks from Snow Leopard 10.6.8

Does anyone have some experience with this combination or some ideas? I am out of ideas and almost out of hair.

Thanks,

Rondo
__________________
*** If it ain't broke... just wait! ***
Sir Rondo Normal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-11-2014, 08:55   #52
Formerly: Capt Wraun
 
Sir Rondo Normal's Avatar

Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Port Louis, Haida Gwaii (The edge of the world)
Boat: Corbin39 CC Cutter Rig
Posts: 431
Re: Any current Maretron Wind Speed Users?

If I may resurrect an old thread, I have just installed my new equipment and I'm having trouble getting data. I would appreciate any ideas of how to proceed.
Here is what I have:

Maretron DST110 triducer
Maretron WSO100 weather sensor
Actisense NGT-1 gateway
Macbook pro running MacENC v 8.75 on OSX Mavericks 10.9.5

What I have done:
I have been through the wiring and verified all connections
I have installed VCP drivers
I have uninstalled VCP drivers
I have installed d2xx drivers
I have uninstalled d2xx drivers
I have upgraded to Mavericks from Snow Leopard 10.6.8
I have tried all baud rate selections

When at baud rate 57600, I get a yellow indicator button on the instruments panel and some garble-dee-gook on the monitor panel (MacENC) but that's the most I've gotten so far.
Does anyone have some experience with this combination or some ideas? I am out of ideas and almost out of hair.

Thanks,

Rondo
__________________
*** If it ain't broke... just wait! ***
Sir Rondo Normal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-11-2014, 15:45   #53
Registered User

Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Narragansett Bay
Boat: Able 50
Posts: 3,057
Re: Any current Maretron Wind Speed Users?

It's moments like these that I'm glad I don't understand computer stuff. I bought an Airmar 100 unit with a Furuno RD33 screen and connected them with a wire. It has worked faultlessly ever since.

Whew !
__________________
savoir is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-11-2014, 15:47   #54
Formerly: Capt Wraun
 
Sir Rondo Normal's Avatar

Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Port Louis, Haida Gwaii (The edge of the world)
Boat: Corbin39 CC Cutter Rig
Posts: 431
Re: Any current Maretron Wind Speed Users?

With all due respect, I came here looking for assistance, not someone to gloat to me.
__________________
*** If it ain't broke... just wait! ***
Sir Rondo Normal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-11-2014, 10:25   #55
Vendor
 
witzgall's Avatar

Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Eastern Shore, MD
Boat: Camper Nicholson 44 Ketch
Posts: 1,775
Re: Any current Maretron Wind Speed Users?

Rondo,

In my mind the first thing you need to do is to make sure that the N2K network is setup properly and does not have issues. To do this, you should either connect any N2K display, or a maretron diagnostic meter. If you can borrow a display, most will work fine, then you can see if this part of your installation is done right. I have come across networks, even professionally installed, that were improperly designed, terminated or wired.

Chris
__________________
witzgall is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-11-2014, 22:39   #56
Formerly: Capt Wraun
 
Sir Rondo Normal's Avatar

Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Port Louis, Haida Gwaii (The edge of the world)
Boat: Corbin39 CC Cutter Rig
Posts: 431
Re: Any current Maretron Wind Speed Users?

Hi Chris and thank-you. I had also posted the same question in its own thread, so to avoid confusion I'll link to it from here and address your reply there.

Sorry 'bout that

Maretron Electronics
__________________

__________________
*** If it ain't broke... just wait! ***
Sir Rondo Normal is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
wind, current

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Maretron vs. Airmar Ultrasonic Wind Dockhead Marine Electronics 124 14-08-2017 15:34
[SOLD] Davis Wind Wizard Wind Speed Indicator SailorHarry Classifieds Archive 0 21-12-2013 11:24
For Sale: Maretron WSO-100 ultrasonic wind sensor xymotic Classifieds Archive 2 29-01-2013 23:44
Current or Potential SeaClear or OpenCPN Users . . . Sumner Navigation 3 06-12-2011 08:08
Experience with Maretron WSO100 Wind System Austin Marine Electronics 2 24-04-2011 23:09



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 18:42.


Google+
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Social Knowledge Networks
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

ShowCase vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.