Cruisers Forum
 


Join CruisersForum Today

Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 20-07-2017, 05:14   #1
Registered User

Join Date: Jun 2016
Boat: Jeanneau SO409
Posts: 243
Anemometer not showing wind speed. Why does this keep happening to me?

Hey guys!

I was sailing down from Jersey City, NJ, to Cape May, NJ, last week with my fiancť. But, she got seasick and we ended up stopping in Longport, right outside of Atlantic City. All the electronics were working correctly. Fast forward to last night. I came back to the boat after being away for 4 days. I'm sailing back solo back to Jersey City and what do I notice??? My wind instruments are shot. The anemometer spins on top of the mast and the arrow points in the direction of the wind, but the Raymarine ST70 is stuck. Any thoughts??? It's a 2012 Jeanneau Sun Odyssey 409 and I've owned it for less than a year. Is this a sign of things to come??? Sh*t breaking from now on?

Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_1114.JPG
Views:	107
Size:	270.2 KB
ID:	152308

Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_1117.JPG
Views:	110
Size:	277.9 KB
ID:	152309
__________________

Cool Hand Luke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-07-2017, 13:26   #2
Registered User

Join Date: Sep 2016
Posts: 8
Re: Anemometer not showing wind speed. Why does this keep happening to me?

It is most likely that the Anemometer is not getting power.
That would be the Ground to Red wire which should be +8V.

The Green / Blue are between 2-8V and indicate the angle of wind, the Yellow wire indicates 0-5V depending on wind speed.

Since there is nothing being returned, it's likely that there is no power, or the cable is disconnected.

Trace it to the mast, there is probably a junction box in the mast area too. Ours is a keel stepped mast, so it's right below the entrance of the mast to the boat
__________________

chad-wl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-07-2017, 12:01   #3
Registered User

Join Date: Jun 2016
Boat: Jeanneau SO409
Posts: 243
Re: Anemometer not showing wind speed. Why does this keep happening to me?

Quote:
Originally Posted by chad-wl View Post
It is most likely that the Anemometer is not getting power.
That would be the Ground to Red wire which should be +8V.

The Green / Blue are between 2-8V and indicate the angle of wind, the Yellow wire indicates 0-5V depending on wind speed.

Since there is nothing being returned, it's likely that there is no power, or the cable is disconnected.

Trace it to the mast, there is probably a junction box in the mast area too. Ours is a keel stepped mast, so it's right below the entrance of the mast to the boat


Thank you!! I also I noticed my outlets aren't working. Probably a power issue for both. Would I look at the fuses or circuit breakers anywhere? There's a mess behind the panel and don't know which fuse or circuit to look at first
Cool Hand Luke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2017, 16:15   #4
Registered User

Join Date: Jun 2016
Boat: Jeanneau SO409
Posts: 243
Re: Anemometer not showing wind speed. Why does this keep happening to me?

Still no luck... anyone have any other ideas? I would greatly, greatly appreciate it.
Cool Hand Luke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2017, 16:37   #5
Registered User

Join Date: Sep 2016
Posts: 8
Re: Anemometer not showing wind speed. Why does this keep happening to me?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Cool Hand Luke View Post
Still no luck... anyone have any other ideas? I would greatly, greatly appreciate it.
Get a multimeter and start at the cable powering the wind display, work backwards following the power until you get to the battery or breaker. Not much we can offer other then start at the end and work forward.

Did your outlets start working? Did you mean 12v DC outlets or shore power outlets?
chad-wl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2017, 11:39   #6
Registered User

Join Date: Jun 2016
Boat: Jeanneau SO409
Posts: 243
Re: Anemometer not showing wind speed. Why does this keep happening to me?

Quote:
Originally Posted by chad-wl View Post
Get a multimeter and start at the cable powering the wind display, work backwards following the power until you get to the battery or breaker. Not much we can offer other then start at the end and work forward.

Did your outlets start working? Did you mean 12v DC outlets or shore power outlets?
And what do I do with the multimeter? Sorry to sound like a beginner. If the power is there, then keep moving backwards? And I test for power by pressing the red and black multimeter terminals to the cable? I'm assuming the power is there because the screen works and shows depth, but does not show the wind direction and wind speed. Yet, the top of the mast is spinning

Outlets still out... it's the regular electrical outlets 110/120 V (3 prong) on the vessel that only work on shore power. The boat is connected to shore power and batteries are charging and everything else works. 12V DC cigarette outlets work, too. Just the normal electrical outlets don't work. There are 3 of them - 1 in each cabin.

I looked behind the switch panel and there are a bunch of wires and 10AMP blade fuses and I'm lost on all of it. Ugh
Cool Hand Luke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-09-2017, 22:28   #7
Registered User

Join Date: Jun 2016
Boat: Jeanneau SO409
Posts: 243
Re: Anemometer not showing wind speed. Why does this keep happening to me?

Outlets work. Anemometer still doesn't
Cool Hand Luke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-09-2017, 23:39   #8
Moderator
 
Don C L's Avatar

Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: Channel Islands, CA
Boat: 1962 Columbia 29 MK 1 #37
Posts: 7,847
Images: 48
Re: Anemometer not showing wind speed. Why does this keep happening to me?

Can't say what's wrong with the anemometer, though I would not say it is not necessarily a big thing to worry about. BUT, yes, it is a sign of things to come! Stuff breaks all the time on all boats, new and old! Don't let it get you down. You can sail safely without it till you track down the power loss there.
I know, sorry, not very helpful.
Checked the fuses right?
__________________
DL
Pythagoras
1962 Columbia 29 MKI #37
Don C L is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-09-2017, 12:29   #9
Registered User

Join Date: Jun 2016
Boat: Jeanneau SO409
Posts: 243
Re: Anemometer not showing wind speed. Why does this keep happening to me?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Don C L View Post
Can't say what's wrong with the anemometer, though I would not say it is not necessarily a big thing to worry about. BUT, yes, it is a sign of things to come! Stuff breaks all the time on all boats, new and old! Don't let it get you down. You can sail safely without it till you track down the power loss there.
I know, sorry, not very helpful.
Checked the fuses right?
Thank you! I appreciate it. I checked the fuses but I'll check them again. I guess I'll have to get dirty and start taking it apart. I was thinking of buying a new one... a Raymarine i60. But if it's not the actual display, then it'll be throwing money out the window
Cool Hand Luke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-09-2017, 13:22   #10
Registered User
 
svHyLyte's Avatar

Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Tampa Bay area, USA
Boat: Beneteau First 42
Posts: 3,894
Images: 25
Re: Anemometer not showing wind speed. Why does this keep happening to me?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Cool Hand Luke View Post
Thank you! I appreciate it. I checked the fuses but I'll check them again. I guess I'll have to get dirty and start taking it apart. I was thinking of buying a new one... a Raymarine i60. But if it's not the actual display, then it'll be throwing money out the window
Pull the fuses and ensure that the contacts are clean and dry. Any corrosion can goof you up. Apply a little "NoOx" to the fuse ends before you reinstall them. FWIW...
__________________
"It is not so much for its beauty that the Sea makes a claim upon men's hearts, as for that subtle something, that quality of air, that emanation from the waves, that so wonderfully renews a weary spirit."
svHyLyte is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-09-2017, 13:47   #11
Registered User
 
Tkeeth's Avatar

Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: Nola
Boat: 97 Hunter 430 43 ft.
Posts: 369
Re: Anemometer not showing wind speed. Why does this keep happening to me?

My sensor went out, take it off and send it to Dan Gerhardt, He will fix it for about $100. He did a great job for me on that and st 7000.
Tkeeth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-09-2017, 04:43   #12
Registered User

Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: UK
Boat: Moody 37
Posts: 71
Re: Anemometer not showing wind speed. Why does this keep happening to me?

I sometimes have that problem and it's always caused by corrosion on the connector at the mast foot.
davewtsnape is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-09-2017, 08:23   #13
Registered User

Join Date: Oct 2016
Location: Pensacola Florida
Boat: 1984 Moody 27
Posts: 184
Re: Anemometer not showing wind speed. Why does this keep happening to me?

They're telling you to trace the power from the instrument on the mast backwards, not the meter. It's possible the issue can be the sensor itself, or anywhere in between.

Have you reset the meter yet?

My poor sailboat doesn't even have the windex up right now. A Pelican decided to land on it and pulled it off the mast. At least I was lucky it landed in the cockpit without killing anyone and I get the joy of bolting it back down when I go up to fix the anchor light this week. Indeed things are going to break, but usually it is easy enough to fix. A wise and prudent project is to label every wire and fuse so you can easily find electrical issues when you need to work on things. Make a schematic if possible, you won't be wasting your time.
Seeking Solace is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-09-2017, 09:19   #14
Registered User

Join Date: Jun 2016
Boat: Jeanneau SO409
Posts: 243
Re: Anemometer not showing wind speed. Why does this keep happening to me?

Thank you for the posts, guys!! I'll check out the actual ST60 unit tomorrow. In the meantime, I took my girl apart a little to trace the culprit
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_2007.JPG
Views:	42
Size:	283.4 KB
ID:	156755
Cool Hand Luke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-09-2017, 09:31   #15
Registered User

Join Date: Jun 2016
Boat: Jeanneau SO409
Posts: 243
Re: Anemometer not showing wind speed. Why does this keep happening to me?

Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_2006.JPG
Views:	26
Size:	239.2 KB
ID:	156756
__________________

Cool Hand Luke is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
wind

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Plotter (B&G Vulcan 5) not showing boat/paddlewheel speed phantomracer Marine Electronics 5 02-06-2017 15:01
For Sale: Datamarine LX360 Anemometer Wind Vane retomas Classifieds Archive 2 14-12-2015 14:01
Tack Tick Service for Wind Anemometer/ Vane HBWT Marine Electronics 0 18-05-2015 13:37
Anemometer wind vane connection Ketchgould Marine Electronics 5 21-12-2014 07:02
Anemometer Not Spinning Herbseesmoore Construction, Maintenance & Refit 8 07-08-2011 23:40

Advertise Here


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:59.


Google+
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Social Knowledge Networks
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
×

ShowCase vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.