Cruisers Forum
 


Join CruisersForum Today

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 27-06-2010, 16:51   #1
RDW
Registered User

Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Lexington, Kentucky
Boat: Morris 1996 46' Lexington
Posts: 378
AIS with Garmin 492 Chartplotter

I am helping a friend solve a problem and I do not have enough experience or expertise to solve his problem. So here are the details:
He has a Standard GX2100 VHF radio with AIS. He has a Garmin GPS Map 492 GPS chart plotter. He is trying to have the AIS information go to a screen on his VHF radio and on his chart plotter. The VHF radio has two wires to send out AIS information but the chart plotter has only a receptical for one wire. He has been told that he has to choose which instrument to have the AIS show up on and he can not have both which of course he wants.
He has heard that there is a device at Brookhouseonline.com which is a splitter which will solve his problem for $200.
Does anyone have experience with Brookhouseonline.com or have a better or cheaper solution?
Thanks for any help!
RDW
__________________
RDW is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-06-2010, 18:39   #2
Senior Cruiser

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: between the devil and the deep blue sea
Boat: a sailing boat
Posts: 17,314
Do not quite get what you mean by 'both'. Imagine you want the radio to send the AIS signal on to the Garmin and displayed there? Do you mean once the signal is sent out from the SH it cannot be displayed on the SH anymore? (not likely)

The Garmin (my older unit) use the 'data in' wire and the ground (negative power wire) for NMEA signal in.

The SH has pdf files for various connections, including a good set of Garmin models on their website, here:

Welcome to StandardHorizon.com

If your Garmin is not on the list pick up the nearest match and then make sure it is the same between your pick and the one on SH list. Then connect. If unsure about the Garmin use their site and read their manuals there.

Mind the AIS signal will likely by high baud one so set up the Garmin for adequate setting (NMEA IN and then the speed in bauds as named in SH manual).

Let me know how it went!

b.
__________________
barnakiel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-06-2010, 19:16   #3
Senior Cruiser

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: between the devil and the deep blue sea
Boat: a sailing boat
Posts: 17,314
Hi again,

So I went to SH and Garmin sites. The SH site does have a diagram for wiring with Garmin series 400-500. Looks easy except that Garmin does not mention (in 492 manual) the violet wire present in SH document.

SH also makes a comment on setting up Garmin Port 2 to baud 38400, as expected above.

Anyway, go to that file and see what ensues.

Looking forward to your results.

b.
__________________
barnakiel is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
ais, chartplotter, garmin

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Which Garmin Chartplotter ? cliffdykes Marine Electronics 7 28-03-2010 06:32
WTB: Garmin Map Chip for Chartplotter bobelon Classifieds Archive 3 12-12-2009 13:08
Garmin GPS Chartplotter? Steelshooter Marine Electronics 17 23-11-2009 11:09
Garmin GPSMAP 540 chartplotter deal... speedoo Marine Electronics 19 12-05-2008 09:03
Garmin chartplotter and WAAS Chrisc Marine Electronics 2 19-11-2006 06:02



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 21:42.


Google+
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Social Knowledge Networks
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

ShowCase vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.