Cruisers Forum
 


Join CruisersForum Today

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 17-06-2014, 08:35   #1
Registered User

Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Punta Gorda Fl
Boat: 40' Leopard
Posts: 308
AIS --USED

Iam considering putting AIS on my boat [40' cat ] I saw a used one from west marine on this site .
Price seemed reasonable but my question is can I get it configured for my boat ? I not sure what the process is for inputting my info in system .Would I have to send it to West Marine or is there some other way to program the system?
Also if you look at the ad is there every thing there I need to install it .
I am having radar installed in the BVI should I just have the AIS installed at the same time ?
I have had very good advice from this site
Thanks
__________________

__________________
rancher44 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-06-2014, 10:57   #2
Registered User
 
jeremiason's Avatar

Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Punta Gorda, Florida
Boat: Sea Ray 270
Posts: 1,427
Images: 2
Send a message via ICQ to jeremiason Send a message via Yahoo to jeremiason Send a message via Skype™ to jeremiason
Re: AIS --USED

If you are getting a transmitting (Class B) AIS, it requires a GPS and VHF Antenna.

Usually the AIS comes with the GPS antenna, but not the VHF Antenna. The Raymarine units do have a built-in VHF splitter, which works well.

The issue of programing it is having the software to talk to the unit through a USB Connector. If you don't West Marine should be able to program it before they ship.

Beyond the normal boat information you will need a Ship Station License number and a MMSI number, both listed on your Marine Radio Permit.
__________________

__________________
Tom Jeremiason
Punta Gorda, Florida

jeremiason is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-06-2014, 11:25   #3
Registered User

Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Punta Gorda Fl
Boat: 40' Leopard
Posts: 308
Re: AIS --USED

Thanks for the info . I was not aware I had to have a permit to operate a marine radio . I have been using them for 30 years with out permit
__________________
rancher44 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-06-2014, 11:28   #4
Registered User

Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Punta Gorda Fl
Boat: 40' Leopard
Posts: 308
Re: AIS --USED

Oh and I am bringing my boat to Punta Gorda from the BVI
Looking forward to meeting the sailing community there.
__________________
rancher44 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-06-2014, 14:09   #5
Registered User
 
jeremiason's Avatar

Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Punta Gorda, Florida
Boat: Sea Ray 270
Posts: 1,427
Images: 2
Send a message via ICQ to jeremiason Send a message via Yahoo to jeremiason Send a message via Skype™ to jeremiason
Re: AIS --USED

Yes your supposed to have a Radio Permit of you travel in International Waters.

Let me know when you get to PG!
__________________
Tom Jeremiason
Punta Gorda, Florida

jeremiason is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-06-2014, 17:51   #6
Head in a locker
 
Cavalier's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Houston, TX
Boat: Beneteau 461 47'
Posts: 879
Images: 1
Re: AIS --USED

Quote:
Originally Posted by rancher44 View Post
Thanks for the info . I was not aware I had to have a permit to operate a marine radio . I have been using them for 30 years with out permit


The permit also covers the use of a DSC radio which requires a MMSI to be programmed correctly. In the US, the FCC requires that a licensed entity programs the MMSI into a class B transceiver, all other info can be inputted by the operator using the programming cable/software.

If you want an MMSI which is internationally registered then your need to get a radio station permit from the FCC anyway.
__________________
"By day the hot sun fermented us; and we were dizzied by the beating wind. At night we were stained by dew, and shamed into pettiness by the innumerable silences of stars."
Cavalier is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 19-06-2014, 01:08   #7
Registered User

Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: canada
Posts: 1,698
Re: AIS --USED

you won't be able to change the mmsi number. I would probably just avoid the headache. you'd probably have to ship it somewhere to get reset.
__________________
smac999 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-06-2014, 08:12   #8
Registered User

Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Punta Gorda Fl
Boat: 40' Leopard
Posts: 308
Re: AIS --USED

Thanks for all the input
I have decided to go new
__________________

__________________
rancher44 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
ais

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
AIS AIT2000 from Digital Yachts with GV30 GPS+AIS Antenna SFH Marine Electronics 1 16-02-2014 17:19
For Sale: AIS-MULTI AIS Receiver with built in Antenna Splitter kokomodenny Classifieds Archive 1 17-09-2013 09:53
For Sale: Standard Horizon Matrix AIS+ GX 2150 VHF Radio/AIS Receiver with CMP30 Ram3 Second St westsailwill Classifieds Archive 6 23-04-2013 19:21
AIS Simulation - Run VDR to play AIS Nmea file rgleason OpenCPN 16 12-01-2013 11:28
Can You Get Radar & AIS Overlay on Laptop ? AIS Transceiver Recommendations ? lunasea.ds Marine Electronics 22 27-12-2010 14:06



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 00:51.


Google+
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Social Knowledge Networks
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

ShowCase vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.