Cruisers Forum
 


Join CruisersForum Today

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 20-09-2017, 09:24   #1
Registered User

Join Date: Apr 2015
Posts: 2
AIS Problem

On 10/10 I am delivering a boat for an owner from the Galapagos to Nuku Hiva. TOf course, today the owner reported that his AIS started acting up. I am trying to shore side trouble shoot this for now.

Here is the description of the problem from his email:
"I am having an issue with the Raymarine E-120 and E-80 Classic chartplotters displaying AIS information. The AIS icon on the displays are X-ed out and indicate "No AIS". The AIS transponder is a Nauticast product and it's troubleshooting LEDs indicate it is receiving power and has no faults. (Yellow fault light comes on when powered up, but goes out after a minute so maybe that's just a light check.) I also have a Watchmate 650 AIS receiver tied in to the Nauticast transponder acting only as a remote display (although it has a receiver also and I can route the antenna to it to have it so operate, that doesn't appear necessary since the Nauticast transponder is obviously receiving and relaying the data to the Watchmate display). So the issue appears to be with the chartplotters displaying the information, not with the other components. (I have always used the Watchmate to display AIS data and receive alarms, rarely using the Raymarine chartplotters,so don't know how long this has been going on). I do know there was no problem with the Raymarine displays some time ago, as I observed data and ship's positions being displayed on the chartplotters in the past.

I have messed around with the chartplotter's setup menus with no success, but maybe I'm missing something. Have not done a "set factory default's" yet, as I don't want to unless really necessary."
End email.

Any suggestions or help is greatly appreciated.

David
__________________

__________________
davidgrove is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-09-2017, 09:38   #2
Senior Cruiser

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: between the devil and the deep blue sea
Boat: a sailing boat
Posts: 17,148
Re: AIS Problem

Bad connections perhaps?

b.
__________________

__________________
barnakiel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-09-2017, 09:38   #3
Registered User

Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 2,023
Re: AIS Problem

It could be a wiring issue How is the signal getting to the MFD?
__________________
SailFastTri is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-09-2017, 09:49   #4
Registered User

Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Amsterdam boat in Spain
Boat: 2004 Beneteau 473
Posts: 164
Re: AIS Problem

NMEA bus baud rate settings correct ?
have both plotters been updated with latest f/w ? (later f/w versions have AIS fixes)
how is teh AIS connected to the plotters ? (0183 or N2K/STng ?)
__________________
ReneJK is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 20-09-2017, 21:32   #5
Registered User

Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: canada
Posts: 1,622
Re: AIS Problem

the x on the raymarine means the ais collision alarm is turned off. it's never going to "see" or "commincate" with an AIS. and give an alarm for loss of comms. it just collects and shows data. which is may or may not get.

if you are not getting targets. either you have the layer turned off, the plotter getting data byt is set to wrong speed, or the plotter is not getting the data
__________________
smac999 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-09-2017, 23:10   #6
Registered User

Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Amsterdam boat in Spain
Boat: 2004 Beneteau 473
Posts: 164
Re: AIS Problem

Quote:
Originally Posted by smac999 View Post
the x on the raymarine means the ais collision alarm is turned off. it's never going to "see" or "commincate" with an AIS. and give an alarm for loss of comms. it just collects and shows data. which is may or may not get.
are you sure ? , I always have the 'X' as I have the audible alarms turned off but it communicates fine with the XB-8000 and shows targets if the layer is turned on
__________________
ReneJK is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 21-09-2017, 01:30   #7
Senior Cruiser

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: between the devil and the deep blue sea
Boat: a sailing boat
Posts: 17,148
Re: AIS Problem

Now that you said it aloud, I too remember that a greyed out X was when we switched AIS layer OFF in the menu of our Ray plotter. When the AIS receiver was OFF, the AIS icon in the top tab I think was red (?) and read different.

Go into menu see if someone simply toggled AIS overlay to OFF maybe.

b.
__________________
barnakiel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-09-2017, 01:37   #8
Registered User
 
Snore's Avatar

Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: St Petersburg
Boat: Tartan 33
Posts: 1,846
Re: AIS Problem

My guess is bad connection. Since it is all Ray they should all be speaking SeaTalk or SeaTalkNg- so baud rate should not be an issue.

[sarcasm font] Clearly something the delivery captain did. [/sarcasm font]
__________________
"Whenever...it requires a strong moral principle to prevent me from deliberately stepping into the street, and methodically knocking people's hats off- then, I account it high time to get to sea..." Ishmael
Snore is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-09-2017, 02:36   #9
Senior Cruiser

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: between the devil and the deep blue sea
Boat: a sailing boat
Posts: 17,148
Re: AIS Problem

You think it is a Seatalk AIS?

I think I remember our screens (older C models) used nmea ais data.

Cheers,
b.
__________________
barnakiel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-09-2017, 02:49   #10
Registered User

Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Amsterdam boat in Spain
Boat: 2004 Beneteau 473
Posts: 164
Re: AIS Problem

Since OP has a Nauticat transponder I doubt its Seatalk connected ?
manual speaks about NMEA0183 and the 115K baudrate
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Screen Shot 2017-09-21 at 11.48.13.png
Views:	36
Size:	147.1 KB
ID:	156465  
__________________
ReneJK is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 21-09-2017, 03:41   #11
Registered User
 
Snore's Avatar

Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: St Petersburg
Boat: Tartan 33
Posts: 1,846
Re: AIS Problem

Quote:
Originally Posted by barnakiel View Post
You think it is a Seatalk AIS?

I think I remember our screens (older C models) used nmea ais data.

Cheers,
b.


My badó- misread, thought it was a Ray receiver. Yes it is NMEA.
__________________
"Whenever...it requires a strong moral principle to prevent me from deliberately stepping into the street, and methodically knocking people's hats off- then, I account it high time to get to sea..." Ishmael
Snore is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-09-2017, 07:41   #12
Registered User

Join Date: Apr 2015
Posts: 2
Re: AIS Problem

Thank you all for your replies. I have relayed them via SSB-email and awaiting a further reply.

David
__________________
davidgrove is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-09-2017, 10:53   #13
Senior Cruiser

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: between the devil and the deep blue sea
Boat: a sailing boat
Posts: 17,148
Re: AIS Problem

115 sounds high. If problem does not get solved, I have seen most AIS nmea connections working at 38.4

Perhaps the Ray is fine but the AIS box fell back on a default of 115 and needs re-setting to 38.4?

Cheers,
b.
__________________
barnakiel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-09-2017, 17:58   #14
Registered User

Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: Marina del Rey
Boat: Hunter 31
Posts: 388
Re: AIS Problem

The E80 will display AIS data only through the NMEA 0183 serial port at 4800, 9600 or 38400 baud.

First, test that you are receiving data on the serial port (System Diagnostics menu). Next, look for the AIS format data (starts with a !). If you do not see that but the port works, you have a problem with the AIS device. The cross on the menu is for the alarm setting.
__________________

__________________
Pizzazz is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
ais

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
AIS AIT2000 from Digital Yachts with GV30 GPS+AIS Antenna SFH Marine Electronics 1 16-02-2014 16:19
For Sale: AIS-MULTI AIS Receiver with built in Antenna Splitter kokomodenny Classifieds Archive 1 17-09-2013 08:53
For Sale: Standard Horizon Matrix AIS+ GX 2150 VHF Radio/AIS Receiver with CMP30 Ram3 Second St westsailwill Classifieds Archive 6 23-04-2013 18:21
AIS Simulation - Run VDR to play AIS Nmea file rgleason OpenCPN 16 12-01-2013 10:28
Can You Get Radar & AIS Overlay on Laptop ? AIS Transceiver Recommendations ? lunasea.ds Marine Electronics 22 27-12-2010 13:06



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:15.


Google+
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Social Knowledge Networks
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

ShowCase vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.