Cruisers Forum
 


Join CruisersForum Today

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 08-05-2010, 12:47   #1
Registered User

Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 2
AIS Issues with Raymarine E90W ?

Hi all
I have just installed a new SeaTalkNG network and "invested" in Raymarine E90W and a Garmin VHF 300i AIS (and now my wallet cries).
I had hoped that by connecting the Garmin to the NG-network (or NMEA 2000) this would work well. However, the AIS-data disappears every 10s or so. After i short while they all re-appear.
Any ideas?
I have seen that Raymarine has issued updates for C90W and E90 classic, which include some better AIS support, among other things. But as far as I can see this would not apply to the E90W.
__________________

__________________
Geir is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2010, 13:01   #2
Marine Service Provider
 
AnchorageGuy's Avatar

Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Wherever the boat is!
Boat: Marine Trader 34DC
Posts: 4,618
Geir, Connecting Raymarine and any other manufacturer can be a very frustrating experience and sometimes downright impossible. I would strongly suggest you first recheck every connection to be sure they have not come loose and then recheck your settings for the display and AIS. If nothing helps you will probably need to talk with Raymarine and perhaps Garmin also to sort it all out.
__________________

__________________
Chesapeake Bay, ICW Hampton Roads To Key West, The Gulf Coast, The Bahamas

The Trawler Beach House
Voyages Of Sea Trek
AnchorageGuy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2010, 18:45   #3
Registered User
 
richardhula's Avatar

Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: UK
Boat: S M Hudson 60' narrowboat
Posts: 347
Send a message via Skype™ to richardhula
Looking at the spec for both devices it does suggest that NMEA 2000 connections should work in forwarding AIS data from Garmin to Raymarine chartplotter. However no specific claim is made for this by Raymarine so you may need to contact them.

You could try hooking up the Garmin device using its NMEA 0183 output to one of the three NMEA 0183 ports on the E90W, set at 38,400 baud for AIS. This should display AIS data continuously & may help source the problem.
__________________
Richard

If in doubt RTFM
richardhula is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2010, 10:16   #4
Registered User

Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 2
Thanks Richard
I have started thinking about the NMEA 0183 solution as well. However, not having to pull so many wires was the main reason why I chose SeatalkNG and Garmin VHF 300 (module based). I guess I have to count on a speedy reply from Raymarine before I start tearing up the boat again.
Wish me luck.

regards
Geir (on my way from Les Sables d'Olonne to Oslo, Norway)
__________________
Geir is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2010, 04:39   #5
Registered User
 
draumen's Avatar

Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Italy
Boat: Colin Archer 37ft
Posts: 11
Hi Geir,
how is it working with your AIS and Raymarine E90W?

We are almost at the same point. We have bought also a Raymarine E90W, an AIS Digital Yacht AIT1000 Class B and a Icom VHF.
Here in Italy Digital Yacht its not even nown and installing al items, it came out the questions about the antennas.
According our informations we do not need extra antennas not even a GPS antenna for the Raymarine E90W. AIT1000 has a built in GPS with its own antenna and transmit GPS data to the E90W.
For the VHF signal we can make a split.

Advices are welcome.
Theresa
__________________
draumen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2010, 05:17   #6
Registered User
 
richardhula's Avatar

Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: UK
Boat: S M Hudson 60' narrowboat
Posts: 347
Send a message via Skype™ to richardhula
Quote:
Originally Posted by draumen View Post
Hi Geir,
how is it working with your AIS and Raymarine E90W?

We are almost at the same point. We have bought also a Raymarine E90W, an AIS Digital Yacht AIT1000 Class B and a Icom VHF.
Here in Italy Digital Yacht its not even nown and installing al items, it came out the questions about the antennas.
According our informations we do not need extra antennas not even a GPS antenna for the Raymarine E90W. AIT1000 has a built in GPS with its own antenna and transmit GPS data to the E90W.
For the VHF signal we can make a split.

Advices are welcome.
Theresa
Good practice suggestions:

Use NMEA 0183 @ 38400 baud for AIS connection to E90W.

An external GPS antenna will always work better than one looking through fibre-glass, wood etc, as internal ones will generally be.

A separate VHF antenna for AIS receiver or transponder is advisable rather than using a splitter, although this is a contentious subject.
__________________
Richard

If in doubt RTFM
richardhula is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2010, 06:32   #7
Registered User
 
draumen's Avatar

Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Italy
Boat: Colin Archer 37ft
Posts: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by richardhula View Post
Good practice suggestions:

Use NMEA 0183 @ 38400 baud for AIS connection to E90W.

An external GPS antenna will always work better than one looking through fibre-glass, wood etc, as internal ones will generally be.

A separate VHF antenna for AIS receiver or transponder is advisable rather than using a splitter, although this is a contentious subject.
Of course the GPS antenna will be outside.
Look at the video on youtube with title:
Digital Yacht AIT1000 Class B Transponder
__________________
draumen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2010, 06:59   #8
Registered User

Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: nyc/chesapeake
Boat: gozzard 44
Posts: 273
My Raymarine E90W required a separate GPS (Raystar125) antenna (the E-Classic series apparently has an internal GPS).

I connected it to a Raymarine AIS 500 (with it's own external GPS antenna).
The Ray AIS has an built-in VHF splitter with negligible loss.

Having the VHF antenna on the mast top picks up boats 20 miles, and sometimes 50 miles away. A separate VHF is advisable for passagemaking.

Using the same brand removes inevitable compatibility issues.

Ronbo
__________________
ronbo1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2010, 07:08   #9
Registered User
 
richardhula's Avatar

Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: UK
Boat: S M Hudson 60' narrowboat
Posts: 347
Send a message via Skype™ to richardhula
Quote:
Originally Posted by draumen View Post
Of course the GPS antenna will be outside.
Look at the video on youtube with title:
Digital Yacht AIT1000 Class B Transponder
And another good practice is to post links & not have people search.

My advice on external GPS antenna was based on your own comment
Quote:
According our informations we do not need extra antennas not even a GPS antenna for the Raymarine E90W
I thought as you did that E90W had built in GPS but maybe I got that wrong. Either way my point was that it's better to use external antenna or better still complete external unit (mushroom) with no RF cable loss.
__________________
Richard

If in doubt RTFM
richardhula is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2010, 07:30   #10
Registered User
 
draumen's Avatar

Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Italy
Boat: Colin Archer 37ft
Posts: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by richardhula View Post
And another good practice is to post links & not have people search.

My advice on external GPS antenna was based on your own comment

I thought as you did that E90W had built in GPS but maybe I got that wrong. Either way my point was that it's better to use external antenna or better still complete external unit (mushroom) with no RF cable loss.
I am sorry but english is not my mother tongue.

The AIT1000 has a built in GPS receiver and comes with it's external GPS antenna (mushroom) which must be used to get good signals.
Giving datas (also GPS datas) to the Raymarine E90W we do not need an other GPS antenna for the E90W, for example Raystar125.
This is the information given by the seller.
__________________
draumen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2010, 07:39   #11
Registered User
 
draumen's Avatar

Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Italy
Boat: Colin Archer 37ft
Posts: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by ronbo1 View Post
My Raymarine E90W required a separate GPS (Raystar125) antenna (the E-Classic series apparently has an internal GPS).

I connected it to a Raymarine AIS 500 (with it's own external GPS antenna).
The Ray AIS has an built-in VHF splitter with negligible loss.

Having the VHF antenna on the mast top picks up boats 20 miles, and sometimes 50 miles away. A separate VHF is advisable for passagemaking.

Using the same brand removes inevitable compatibility issues.

Ronbo
Thanks for your information.
So, just to understand well... in your case you have two GPS antennas. One for the E90W and one for the AIS500. And the VHF antenna you use for both: radio and AIS
Correct?
__________________
draumen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2010, 18:57   #12
Nearly an old salt
 
goboatingnow's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 13,649
Images: 3
Rays plotters currenty have problems handling AIS over seatalkng. There are software updates coming out to solve the problems on the c-wide and e series. For the moment use 0183. ( this also applies to rAys own ais unit)


None of the C or E series has an internal gps. I would strongly suggest you do not feed gps signals to the plotters via the ais gps. Use a raystar unit that the plotter can configure.


Dave
__________________
goboatingnow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2010, 03:01   #13
Registered User
 
richardhula's Avatar

Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: UK
Boat: S M Hudson 60' narrowboat
Posts: 347
Send a message via Skype™ to richardhula
Quote:
Originally Posted by goboatingnow View Post
None of the C or E series has an internal gps. I would strongly suggest you do not feed gps signals to the plotters via the ais gps. Use a raystar unit that the plotter can configure.
Technically there is no reason why you can't use the combined AIS/GPS signal @ 38400 baud if your chartplotter can handle position data at that speed - E90W will have no problem with this. However its often the case that only basic GPS sentences are passed by AIS devices, sometimes just RMC.

As a good practice though I would agree with you in using separate GPS feed at 4800 baud if you have the connectivity available.

BTW the Raymarine C90/120W MFD's do have an internal GPS receiver. For this reason I assumed the wide screen E series had as well although this seems not to be the case.
__________________
Richard

If in doubt RTFM
richardhula is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2010, 05:34   #14
Registered User

Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: nyc/chesapeake
Boat: gozzard 44
Posts: 273
Quote:
Thanks for your information.
So, just to understand well... in your case you have two GPS antennas. One for the E90W and one for the AIS500. And the VHF antenna you use for both: radio and AIS
Correct?
Correct!
In fact, I have a 3rd GPS mushroom for the Sirius SR100 weather system integrated with the E90W. Just make sure each has a good view of the horizon for best reception.
__________________
ronbo1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2010, 10:32   #15
Registered User
 
draumen's Avatar

Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Italy
Boat: Colin Archer 37ft
Posts: 11
Many thanks all of you guys for contributing. I let you know as soon as everything works.
Theresa
__________________

__________________
draumen is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
ais, raymarine

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
CM93 Issues sae140 Navigation 31 17-03-2011 11:53
GPS Security Issues Nikday Navigation 19 19-06-2010 17:19
Raymarine ST60 and Raymarine C80 Pete7 Marine Electronics 8 26-10-2009 23:20
Server Issues Janet H Forum Tech Support & Site Help 1 14-10-2009 09:45
Family Issues Holding Pattern Liveaboard's Forum 37 14-05-2007 16:07



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 16:13.


Google+
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Social Knowledge Networks
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

ShowCase vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.