Cruisers Forum
 


Join CruisersForum Today

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 21-11-2012, 01:02   #1
Registered User
 
Far Star's Avatar

Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Cairns, Australia
Boat: Elan Impression 434
Posts: 42
AIS for Raymarine and Opencpn

Hi
I am hoping someone can help me. I am hoping to install a AIS unit on my yacht, to work on my Raymarine C80 chart plotter and also on my laptop running Opencpn. On board at present I have the usual Raymarine ST60+ instruments, vhf and the C80 connected in line. Opencpn is running alone, although I would prefer to have it as my main navigation unit. I find it excellent and the boys have done a great job. Can anyone suggest a model and how to connect up to all.
Regards
Terry
__________________

__________________
Far Star is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 21-11-2012, 02:28   #2
Registered User
 
xymotic's Avatar

Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 1,076
Re: AIS for Raymarine and Opencpn

Em-Trak b100 NEMA 0183 or 2000 to the C80 and USB to the computer.
__________________

__________________
xymotic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-11-2012, 17:54   #3
Registered User
 
Far Star's Avatar

Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Cairns, Australia
Boat: Elan Impression 434
Posts: 42
Thanks Xymotic looks like a good unit. What involved with hooking up to the nmea. do you need any thing else. Is it much involved.
Cheers
__________________
Far Star is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 23-11-2012, 18:03   #4
Long Range Cruiser
 
MarkJ's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Australian living on "Sea Life" currently in England.
Boat: Beneteau 393 "Sea Life"
Posts: 12,828
Images: 25
Re: AIS for Raymarine and Opencpn

Why don't you buy a Raymarine AIS 650 Transponder. It uses Seatalk for your plotter and USB for the PC.
__________________
Notes on a Circumnavigation.
OurLifeAtSea.com

Somalia Pirates and our Convoy
MarkJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-11-2012, 20:22   #5
Registered User
 
Viking Sailor's Avatar

Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: San Francisco Bay
Boat: Fantasia 35 - s/v Feeling Good
Posts: 1,074
Re: AIS for Raymarine and Opencpn

Hi Mark,

Long time no see! Hope all is well.

Paul
__________________
Viking Sailor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-11-2012, 21:04   #6
Registered User
 
xymotic's Avatar

Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 1,076
Re: AIS for Raymarine and Opencpn

Quote:
Originally Posted by MarkJ View Post
Why don't you buy a Raymarine AIS 650 Transponder. It uses Seatalk for your plotter and USB for the PC.
Pretty sure it's the exact same unit as the emtrack. You would get raymarine support.

And hooking up the AIS is a little tricky sometimes but in general is very straightforward, the emtrak and raymarine have good directions on it. Thoe only 'involved' thing is the NMEA 2000 network needs its own power. But again if you stuck all raymarine it would be that much easier.
__________________
xymotic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-11-2012, 04:02   #7
Registered User
 
Far Star's Avatar

Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Cairns, Australia
Boat: Elan Impression 434
Posts: 42
Re: AIS for Raymarine and Opencpn

Thanks guy
Appreciate the info
__________________

__________________
Far Star is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
ais

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:28.


Google+
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Social Knowledge Networks
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

ShowCase vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.