Cruisers Forum
 


Join CruisersForum Today

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 17-08-2015, 17:30   #196
Registered User

Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Probably in an anchorage or a boatyard..
Boat: Ebbtide 33' steel cutter
Posts: 3,540
Re: AIS Do I Need It?

Quote:
Originally Posted by FamilyVan View Post
Not to mention frequently 30 second refresh rates. At 20 knots, 30 seconds represents about 1000 ft. Not exactly a precision instrument.

Sent from my XP7700 using Cruisers Sailing Forum mobile app
The refresh rate at 20kts is actually every 6 seconds or every 2 seconds if changing course. Not that that means it would be clever to try and get within a few inches of a ship or close your eyes.
__________________

__________________
conachair is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-08-2015, 17:39   #197
Registered User

Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Probably in an anchorage or a boatyard..
Boat: Ebbtide 33' steel cutter
Posts: 3,540
Re: AIS Do I Need It?

Quote:
Originally Posted by El Pinguino View Post
Very cool indeed.... does it also show the length of a tug's unlit tow?
Nope. As you know. But it is very handy knowing it's a tow before you can even see it. Same with survey vessels.


If someone has bothered to update the static data....
__________________

__________________
conachair is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-08-2015, 17:40   #198
Registered User
 
FamilyVan's Avatar

Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 1,779
Re: AIS Do I Need It?

Quote:
Originally Posted by conachair View Post
The refresh rate at 20kts is actually every 6 seconds or every 2 seconds if changing course. Not that that means it would be clever to try and get within a few inches of a ship or close your eyes.
My understanding that was only for newer class A models. B s (at least used to be) slower. I think really old units could have the interval set manually. Any way, even if I'm mistaken about the older units, it still isn't realtime feedback.

Sent from my XP7700 using Cruisers Sailing Forum mobile app
__________________
FamilyVan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-08-2015, 17:51   #199
Registered User

Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Probably in an anchorage or a boatyard..
Boat: Ebbtide 33' steel cutter
Posts: 3,540
Re: AIS Do I Need It?

Quote:
Originally Posted by FamilyVan View Post
My understanding that was only for newer class A models. B s (at least used to be) slower. I think really old units could have the interval set manually. Any way, even if I'm mistaken about the older units, it still isn't realtime feedback.

Sent from my XP7700 using Cruisers Sailing Forum mobile app
To be honest I hadn't even considered a class b doing 20kts. They're far to erratic to assume their course remain the same for any length of time. Still handy knowing one is heading your way though. Big ship class a is easily close enough to real time to accurately see how small adjustments in speed and course will effect cpa from a long way off. And see ships changing course to miss you. Try crossing the English channel a few times with a set and you would fight anyone who tried to turn it off
__________________
conachair is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-08-2015, 17:10   #200
Registered User
 
El Pinguino's Avatar

Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Punta Arenas ahorra
Boat: 39' Westerly Sealord
Posts: 3,959
Re: AIS Do I Need It?

Sitting in Gulf Harbour just now..... stern mounted AIS Ant ( base of which is 1.7 metres above sea...not on a 'roll bar')..... happily picking up Class B signals from harbour ferries down at Bucklands Beach 16.1 miles away. This isn't 'line of sight' as Rangitoto Island -which is no small thing -lies between here and there. Ant height on the ferries is maybe 6 or 7 metres.

Thats them down lower right.....

The ferries here all run Class B and typically poke along at 20 knots..... HMNZS Wellington is also running Class B... don't know about the rest of the NZ navy.

and also... that's the display software that came with my AMEC.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	P1190684.jpg
Views:	51
Size:	139.2 KB
ID:	107612  
El Pinguino is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-08-2015, 17:17   #201
Freelance Delivery Skipper..
 
boatman61's Avatar

Community Sponsor
Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: PORTUGAL
Posts: 20,221
Images: 2
Re: AIS Do I Need It?

About as much as one needs a defibulator..
__________________


Born To Be Wild
boatman61 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
ais

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
AIS AIT2000 from Digital Yachts with GV30 GPS+AIS Antenna SFH Marine Electronics 1 16-02-2014 17:19
For Sale: AIS-MULTI AIS Receiver with built in Antenna Splitter kokomodenny Classifieds Archive 1 17-09-2013 09:53
For Sale: Standard Horizon Matrix AIS+ GX 2150 VHF Radio/AIS Receiver with CMP30 Ram3 Second St westsailwill Classifieds Archive 6 23-04-2013 19:21
AIS Simulation - Run VDR to play AIS Nmea file rgleason OpenCPN 16 12-01-2013 11:28
Can You Get Radar & AIS Overlay on Laptop ? AIS Transceiver Recommendations ? lunasea.ds Marine Electronics 22 27-12-2010 14:06



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:30.


Google+
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Social Knowledge Networks
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

ShowCase vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.