Cruisers Forum
 


Join CruisersForum Today

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 16-08-2015, 20:45   #181
Registered User
 
El Pinguino's Avatar

Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Punta Arenas ahorra
Boat: 39' Westerly Sealord
Posts: 3,960
Re: AIS Do I Need It?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dockhead View Post
Since you're an experienced pro, you probably started straight off with ARPA for collision avoidance, skipping the HBC technique which we are taught..............
Dunno about that, I was at sea for over 20 years before ARPA turned up, and some of the early ones were pretty horrible.

For the first 15 years or so in the ships I was on radar was never run offshore, all collision avoidance was down to just compass bearing and observation of aspect. The chinagraph pencil and reflection plotter were only used in fog.
One major British liner company only started fitting radar to their newbuilds ( let alone their old ships ) in about 1970 and I've sailed on a few with either no radar or a non functioning radar.
My first 4/0's job was on a 'large british liner' built in 1948 which had no bridgewing gyro repeaters.. just one on the monkey island.
Lets not talk about no gyro at all and just peloruses ( pelori?) on the bridge wings....

Maybe this is why I am comfortable with eyeball, shroud, and aspect....even in a seaway.
__________________

El Pinguino is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 16-08-2015, 20:54   #182
Registered User
 
El Pinguino's Avatar

Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Punta Arenas ahorra
Boat: 39' Westerly Sealord
Posts: 3,960
Re: AIS Do I Need It?

Imagine this lot all running Class B.... would I be disabling Class B alarms? You betcha!
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	satdeearvoradar.jpg
Views:	79
Size:	59.0 KB
ID:	107419  
__________________

El Pinguino is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 16-08-2015, 22:50   #183
Eternal Member
 
monte's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Australia
Boat: Lagoon 400
Posts: 3,650
Images: 1
Re: AIS Do I Need It?

Ping the hand bearing compass is mainly used when the other vessel is a blip on the horizon. At least several miles away. If you have to decide whether to take the bearing from bow, midship or stern it's probably too late, but if not you select the most prominent feature. Hbc is particularly useful at night when yo might just be able to make out some running lights and can't see rigging on board your own yacht. I hold the hbc over the ships compass light to illuminate the phosphors enough to read the bearing. If there's any doubt we note the bearings over 5-10 minute intervals.
__________________
monte is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-08-2015, 23:09   #184
CF Adviser
 
Pelagic's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Oct 2007
Boat: Van Helleman Schooner 65ft StarGazer
Posts: 6,895
Re: AIS Do I Need It?

Quote:
Originally Posted by monte View Post
I hold the hbc over the ships compass light to illuminate the phosphors enough to read the bearing. If there's any doubt we note the bearings over 5-10 minute intervals.
Just curious... What happens to magnetic compasses... when you place them together?
__________________
Pelagic is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 17-08-2015, 01:07   #185
Moderator
 
JPA Cate's Avatar

Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: aboard, cruising in Australia
Boat: Sayer 46' Solent rig sloop
Posts: 10,718
Re: AIS Do I Need It?

Here in the southern hemisphere, none of our hockey puck style hbss work, due to dip. (See the other thread.) So we use the flux gate electronic hbc. Unlike El Pinguino, who clearly knows how to do it better than me, I just line up the two dots, point them at the ship (about amidships, I suppose), and push the button. My instrument records the bearing. Then I wait 5 min. sometimes 10. If it's the same, I need to change something. Or contact the ship and ask what suits him best. I know it's not Colregs exactly, but being "Dorothy, small and meek", it's how I prefer to operate. Jim's watches may be different. We have many cruising miles now, no collisions.

Ann
__________________
Ann, with Jim, aboard US s/v Insatiable II, in Oz, very long term cruisers
JPA Cate is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-08-2015, 04:47   #186
Eternal Member

Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 848
Re: AIS Do I Need It?

Quote:
Originally Posted by MYTraveler View Post
Transducer location is part of Class A info.
Thanks, I wasn't aware of that... The info provided by my rather rudimentary Standard Horizon VHF receive only unit is far from being that complete, scrolling thru the list on each target I only get the basics... Vessel name most of the time, MMSI #, course & speed, range & bearing, CPA/TCPA, that's about it...

Damn, and to think of all the time and distance sailing I might have saved, and the vessels I might have been able to cross ahead of, instead, had I only known exactly where the transponder was placed aboard them...

;-)
__________________
Jon Eisberg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-08-2015, 06:15   #187
Registered User

Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Port Aransas, Texas
Boat: 2002 Seawind 1000 (33 ft) Cat
Posts: 841
Re: AIS DO I NEED IT.?

Quote:
Originally Posted by zboss View Post
I like that I can tap an AIS signal on my chart plotter and DSC to that boat.
Whose system are you doing this with? Chartplotter, AIS and VHF brands. And how it is interfaced. I have a B&G Zeus2, a Vesper 8000 and an Icom VHF and there is a call button that comes up when I tap the AIS target boat, but it doesn't work at all. Doesn't even try to log the call.
__________________
sailjumanji is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-08-2015, 09:28   #188
Registered User

Join Date: May 2008
Location: daytona beach florida
Boat: csy 37
Posts: 2,844
Images: 1
Re: AIS Do I Need It?

Good to read there are actually some sailors left who regularly use a handbearing compass. And great to read that some of them are big ship sailors.

Not saying I dont use or like electronics. Just saying its good to have and use some basic skills
__________________
Take two at low eight
onestepcsy37 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-08-2015, 09:53   #189
Senior Cruiser

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Santa Cruz
Boat: Boatless Again
Posts: 4,335
Re: AIS Do I Need It?

I use the HBC about once a year, on average. Usually when I'm not sure of my electronic charts. Electronic charting is so much easier and faster than taking cross-bearings. As far as colliding with other boats and ships goes, sighting across a stanchion or other fixed object on my boat works fine for me. For ships, a relatively stationary bearing will send me down to look at the AIS.
__________________
donradcliffe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-08-2015, 10:00   #190
Senior Cruiser

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Anacortes
Boat: previous - Whitby 42 new - Goldenwave 44
Posts: 1,735
Re: AIS Do I Need It?

I now have some time on the water with my new electronics: Furuno NavNet 3D chartplotter/radar integrated with a Vesper 8000 AIS transponder. It is a great setup. I love the projected travel lines of the AIS targets on my chartplotter, or radar alone, or with chartplotter/radar overlay. Not all boats have AIS transponders so a good lookout is still absolutely required but it is nice to have. Can you sail without it? Absolutely. I got it mostly for times when I do not want to run my chartplotter/radar (for power consumption) but would like some extra warning for vessels transmitting AIS (off shore). I am very happy with my Vesper and the Furuno combination.
__________________
exMaggieDrum is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-08-2015, 10:51   #191
Registered User

Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Victoria BC
Boat: 1980 Hunter 36
Posts: 678
Re: AIS Do I Need It?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jon Eisberg View Post

One thing I have never understood, is how rare it is to see a permanently installed horn on sailing vessels of the size most of us sail... Virtually every powerboat of any size can produce a horn signal at the push of a button. Yet I'd guess if we took a poll here as to how many of our boats are equipped to produce a proper fog signal for days on end, I'd bet very few hands would be raised... ;-) Even a box full of canned air horns and a stopwatch, ain't gonna cut it...

I have one as well, mounted under the radar dome on the mast. My VHF can automatically sound a blast every 2 minutes, I used it recently in thick fog. I'm the only person I know who has one.

It's LOUD too - when I first installed it I stood in front of the boat with the wireless handset in the marina to test it out - on activation it was far FAR louder than I thought, and I desperately fumbled to turn it off, swearing loudly - and managed to switch it into PA mode, meaning that several unfamily friendly words were broadcast across the entire area. Whoops.

As well as the foghorn, I also have an AIS transponder, radar and a reflector. Kinda paranoid about being run down.

I used my radar 'in anger' for the first time in the same fog bank that I had my horn going, and I was glad I'd tuned it and practised using it in fine weather. Had a major panic though when I picked up a contact coming straight at me FAST - turned out to be a seaplane going overhead!
__________________
S/V Gudgeon
www.gudgeonblog.ca
alctel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-08-2015, 13:20   #192
Registered User

Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Probably in an anchorage or a boatyard..
Boat: Ebbtide 33' steel cutter
Posts: 3,541
Re: AIS Do I Need It?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jon Eisberg View Post
Thanks, I wasn't aware of that... The info provided by my rather rudimentary Standard Horizon VHF receive only unit is far from being that complete, scrolling thru the list on each target I only get the basics... Vessel name most of the time, MMSI #, course & speed, range & bearing, CPA/TCPA, that's about it...

Damn, and to think of all the time and distance sailing I might have saved, and the vessels I might have been able to cross ahead of, instead, had I only known exactly where the transponder was placed aboard them...

;-)
Opnecpn can show ships actual size from ais data and you can see where the transponder is on the ship. Very cool
__________________
conachair is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-08-2015, 13:33   #193
Registered User
 
El Pinguino's Avatar

Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Punta Arenas ahorra
Boat: 39' Westerly Sealord
Posts: 3,960
Re: AIS Do I Need It?

Quote:
Originally Posted by conachair View Post
Opnecpn can show ships actual size from ais data and you can see where the transponder is on the ship. Very cool
Very cool indeed.... does it also show the length of a tug's unlit tow?
El Pinguino is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 17-08-2015, 13:46   #194
Registered User
 
FamilyVan's Avatar

Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 1,779
Re: AIS Do I Need It?

Quote:
Originally Posted by El Pinguino View Post
Very cool indeed.... does it also show the length of a tug's unlit tow?
Not to mention frequently 30 second refresh rates. At 20 knots, 30 seconds represents about 1000 ft. Not exactly a precision instrument.

Sent from my XP7700 using Cruisers Sailing Forum mobile app
__________________
FamilyVan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-08-2015, 15:36   #195
Registered User
 
Rhapsody-NS27's Avatar

Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: VA, boat: Deale, MD
Boat: 1981 Nor'sea 27
Posts: 1,409
Re: AIS Do I Need It?

Quote:
Originally Posted by a64pilot View Post
One thing we haven't talked about is AIS MOB beacons, after reading a couple of different times about somebody waking up and finding their life long partner missing from the boat, I decided I didn't want that happening to me, so I bought two of these things
Smartfind S20
They have a test mode, and trust me, the alarm that is set off in my Watchmate, will wake the dead. The CPA alarm is a horn noise and will get your attention, but the AIS MOB alert is that annoying two tone European siren sound, and is very much louder than the CPA alarm, if she fell off while I was down below, even asleep, I'd wake up, plus of course I get a GPS aided steer directly to her, so finding her at night isn't nearly the issue it would be without it.

I wasn't aware of the Smartfind MOB units. Looks like it could be a good item to have on board. I also just found a Spinlock AIS MOB1 that looks good too. The site I linked is the least expensive I've found so far.
__________________

__________________
Daniel - Rhapsody Blog,
“A sailor’s joys are as simple as a child’s.” — Bernard Moitessier
"I don't need therapy, I just need my boat"
Rhapsody-NS27 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
ais

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
AIS AIT2000 from Digital Yachts with GV30 GPS+AIS Antenna SFH Marine Electronics 1 16-02-2014 17:19
For Sale: AIS-MULTI AIS Receiver with built in Antenna Splitter kokomodenny Classifieds Archive 1 17-09-2013 09:53
For Sale: Standard Horizon Matrix AIS+ GX 2150 VHF Radio/AIS Receiver with CMP30 Ram3 Second St westsailwill Classifieds Archive 6 23-04-2013 19:21
AIS Simulation - Run VDR to play AIS Nmea file rgleason OpenCPN 16 12-01-2013 11:28
Can You Get Radar & AIS Overlay on Laptop ? AIS Transceiver Recommendations ? lunasea.ds Marine Electronics 22 27-12-2010 14:06



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 16:41.


Google+
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Social Knowledge Networks
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

ShowCase vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.