Cruisers Forum

Join CruisersForum Today

Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 17-06-2015, 18:43   #1
Doug Annapolis, Tartan 3700

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Annapolis
Boat: Tartan 3700 CCR
Posts: 36
AIS and Raymarine

Folks, asking for advice. My Raymarine E80 chart plotter connects to a Raymarine AIS receiver. To activate my AIS iI have to move the Network baud rate to 38000baud. When I do that, I see the nearby ships with AIs transmitters. However, using AIS causes my chart plotter to shut down and restart.

The chart plotter works fine when I disable the AIS and use baud rate of 4800 or 9600. I am using Raymarine software at version. 5.69.

The local Raymarine expert tells me he has never heard of this problem.

DougAnnapolis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-06-2015, 19:20   #2
Registered User
Privilege's Avatar

Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Bermuda
Boat: Privilege 435
Posts: 218
Images: 12
Re: AIS and Raymarine

This might be a long shot...the AIS is going to be using somewhere around a couple of amps. If the AIS and MFD are on the same power supply and the wire is small, it may be enough of a start-up draw to momentarily suck enough power out of the MFD to make it re-start. Try giving it a separate power supply for one start-up.

Privilege is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-06-2015, 19:23   #3
Registered User
jstevens's Avatar

Join Date: May 2006
Location: On board Sarah, currently lying in Jacksonville, FL
Boat: Pearson, 424, 42', Sarah
Posts: 528
Images: 4
Re: AIS and Raymarine

One thing is clear your "Raymarine expert" is not interested in solving your problem. You can take his/her number off your speed dial list.
I have a 15 year old C120 and have been running AIS traffic through the NMEA 183 interface at 38,400 B for nearly 10 years. So the interface works, You must have some configuration error. I could try to walk you through a number of issues and still not solve your problem. Maybe someone else has solved the same problem, but my recommendation is to take your issue to the raymarine forum (Discussion Forum - Raymarine Technical Forum) where you are more likely to get a solution.

jstevens is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-06-2015, 19:28   #4
Registered User
transmitterdan's Avatar

Join Date: Oct 2011
Boat: Valiant 42
Posts: 3,007
Re: AIS and Raymarine

I also suspect a power related issue. These displays are very picky about the DC power. They will reset if the power fluctuates even for a moment. Make sure the E80 display has the correct size power cable for the length. Also, be sure that the E80 power feed is connected directly to the distribution panel circuit breaker. As electronics are added there is a tendency to connect the DC power just any place it can be found. This can lead to a significant drop in voltage and cause undesired resets of displays and auto pilots just to name two that often cause problems.
transmitterdan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-06-2015, 22:28   #5
Registered User

Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: canada
Posts: 1,274
Re: AIS and Raymarine

the AIS is on and powered whether it's communicating with the chart plotter or not. doubt it's a power thing between the 2.

you must run it at 38,400, it's the only choice.
smac999 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-06-2015, 06:55   #6
Eternal Member
monte's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Australia
Boat: Lagoon 400
Posts: 3,650
Images: 1
Re: AIS and Raymarine

This has occasionally been an issue when the AIS overloads the plotter with targets in a busy area. I'm not sure how it's fixed. Update plotter and AIS firmware maybe.
monte is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-06-2015, 07:45   #7
Registered User
Muckle Flugga's Avatar

Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Aboard the Ocean wave
Boat: 55' sloop.
Posts: 1,426
Re: AIS and Raymarine

Maybe software/firmware, but frankly I agree with those above who suggest this is a power issue. Temporarily change out the power supply, or reroute some of the feeds from the supply that feeds your plotter if it is loading multiple. The problem may well disappear. I like using supplies which are overrated in terms of amperage than their intended application. The spare capacity often damps spikes in requirement which otherwise can cause sensitive electronics to malfunction.

‘Structural engineering is the art of modeling materials we do not wholly understand into shapes we cannot precisely analyse as to withstand forces we cannot properly assess in such a way that the public at large has no reason to suspect the extent of our ignorance.’
Muckle Flugga is offline   Reply With Quote

ais, marine, raymarine

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Help diagnosing Raymarine VHF / AIS and KVH problems ? Boardshorts Marine Electronics 1 19-02-2015 05:39
Opncpn AIS with Raymarine AIS 650 is bugging me monte OpenCPN 8 21-09-2014 03:50
Raymarine E80 + AIS 650 + McMurdo AIS PLB MOB rgleason Marine Electronics 1 24-04-2014 17:26
AIS for Raymarine and Opencpn Far Star Marine Electronics 6 24-11-2012 03:02
Nasa Engine to AIS and Raymarine E80 bazzer Marine Electronics 6 16-11-2011 18:40

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 20:40.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Social Knowledge Networks
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

ShowCase vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.