Cruisers Forum
 


Join CruisersForum Today

Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 14-12-2016, 01:00   #1
Registered User
 
impi's Avatar

Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: From Cape Town now New Caledonia
Boat: Lagoon 440
Posts: 952
Images: 8
Send a message via Skype™ to impi
AIS 500 SUDDENLY STOPPED WORKING - no led

Hi Everyone - just thought to share this with fellow cruisers having issues with their Raymarine AIS 500.
Our AIS stopped sending and receiving without warning.
I toggled through the chart plotter settings to no avail and much of the AIS menu features were lost.
After some many hours of googling and not much feedback I removed all 12v power from the unit and then re connected power - same problem.
Searching the forums it became evident that we were best off purchasing a new unit especially given the minimum fee Raymarine charge to check it out for us.
I thought to get the advice of an electrician and he suggested replacing the unit after doing the same procedure to disconnect and re-connect power.
As we contemplated forking out more money for a new unit, I thought to give it one last try, this time removing power from the unit as well as removing then cable at the backbone - the re-connected the power as well as the cable to the backbone - BINGO - all is working.
Thought it may be a share that saves someone the expense going forward
Happy sailing everyone and happy holidays
IMPI
__________________
In our own style and our own time ...
http://cat-impi.blogspot.com
https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCIy...Uhlfkd34f8FrEg
impi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2018, 07:24   #2
Registered User

Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Caribbean
Boat: Lagoon 450
Posts: 865
Re: AIS 500 SUDDENLY STOPPED WORKING - no led

Same happened to us. Have been electrical storms last 2 days. One bolt came very close and heard a sizzling sound. All instruments working except AIS 500. Followed your procedure and it worked! Thanks
Bean Counter is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
ais

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Hour Meters Have Stopped Working on Both 4JH4AE Yanmar Displays impi Electrical: Batteries, Generators & Solar 54 24-06-2017 20:50
Solar Boost 200E Stopped Working MarkJ Electrical: Batteries, Generators & Solar 33 07-07-2016 13:17
older ACR AIS stopped working on new PC geoleo Marine Electronics 2 22-04-2016 23:44
HELP! My Toilet Pump Stopped Working lorenzo b Plumbing Systems and Fixtures 10 22-02-2010 06:28
Fridge suddenly stopped! TOM Plumbing Systems and Fixtures 52 09-04-2009 09:20



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:17.


Google+
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Social Knowledge Networks
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

ShowCase vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.