Cruisers Forum

Join CruisersForum Today

Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 24-03-2016, 09:55   #1
Registered User

Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 5
AIS 350


I have a Raymarine AIS 350 recover. I wanted to connect it to a Mac computer vía USB, so i can have ais in open cpn, but couldnt find the right driver.

I also have an android tablet. Anyone know if it is posible to connect it to this vía USB. I want to use it with opencpn. The tablet And also the computer have gps workibg.

Clearly Mac computer are not meant for navigation software...
Manraca is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-03-2016, 11:27   #2
Registered User

Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: canada
Posts: 1,280
Re: AIS 350

feed the 350 via nmea 183 to a serial to usb converter? then you'd have the driver for the converter instead of the 350.

this is assuming there isn't one for the mac for 350. not sure.

you could also convert it to wifi
smac999 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-03-2016, 13:13   #3
Senior Cruiser

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: between the devil and the deep blue sea
Boat: a sailing boat
Posts: 15,106
Re: AIS 350

You have two choices:

- USB plus the driver that came with the unit, (check Ray website for updates),

- NMEA output - on your unit it is rs422, in this case you want a rs422 to serial converter that works on your specific computer.


If you are not sure which cable make works on your computer, stick with ftdi and look up their website for drivers that work on your computer OS before buying anything. Ftdi are very well documented. You will be likely on RS232R chipset. There are other chipsets too, like e.g. prolific. These seem less well documented (IMHO).

WARNING: if on nmea output, you will NOT be using a rs232 converter cable - unless you are very lucky and yours works (mine does not).

At AMEC website you will find a picture showing how, at times, rs422 can be cross-linked using rs232 cable (all the risk is yours, off course). This can be attempted when no rs422 cable available but I tried on a Simrad unit and it did not work (with ftdi 232 cable).

Level: easy. But takes patience and experimenting.

barnakiel is offline   Reply With Quote


Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Raymarine AIS 350 BobH260 Marine Electronics 12 02-12-2015 07:14
mercury 350 Ocean Runner 350 RIB schoonerdog Auxiliary Equipment & Dinghy 0 27-05-2015 03:24
AIS Simulation - Run VDR to play AIS Nmea file rgleason OpenCPN 16 12-01-2013 10:28
Can You Get Radar & AIS Overlay on Laptop ? AIS Transceiver Recommendations ? lunasea.ds Marine Electronics 22 27-12-2010 13:06

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:55.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Social Knowledge Networks
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

ShowCase vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.