Cruisers Forum
 


Join CruisersForum Today

Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 18-07-2017, 16:37   #1
Registered User
 
lateral's Avatar

Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: NZ
Boat: S34 Bob Stewart - 1959 Patiki class. Re--built by me & good mate.
Posts: 877
Airmar PB 200 bringing down my network....

Up the mast again ^ put the GH2183 (known good) on at MH in place of PB200 .....still brings network down.
Test PB200 on pc independent of mast N2K cable.....PASS.
Network fine with no MH cable.
So disconnect and in process of doing continuity test.
Can-L & Can-H electrically separate, bar 120ohm terminal resistor, but ran out of time to do the rest.
ie Can L & Can H to ground & shield......open circuit....tick.
Shield continuity with ground (one only)...
12v integrity.

Anybody had the junction at PB200 shorting?
I suspect chaff with the genoa halyard further down. (wire)
Guess I could replace with dyneema?
Still gonna have to pull the n2k cable and repair.
Any body got magic?
Grrrr!

Cheapish cameras to lower?
__________________

lateral is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-07-2017, 15:13   #2
Registered User
 
lateral's Avatar

Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: NZ
Boat: S34 Bob Stewart - 1959 Patiki class. Re--built by me & good mate.
Posts: 877
Re: Airmar PB 200 bringing down my network....

Update:
A couple of days ago I did a "between conductor " test an found a high resistance between both Can-L & Can-H & ground.(Done obviously disconnected from any electronics.) I surmised that it could be a short between either as they are connected with a 120ohm resister at junction with PB200.

Yesterday pulled the cable without dropping mast. It was not an easy task as I had cable tied it on installation to stop it slapping against the side of the mast. Actually it was a PIA at MH. (2.5hrs)
NO SIGN of chaff to cable....

So it must be faulty design in junction or water ingress? Perhaps capillary action between rubber casing of plug and cable?

Anybody had a similar experience?
The Resistance starts at a little less than 1M ohm and increases. Owing to volt drop of the small voltage put across it?
I am disappointed with the cable at over $200.
Getting exasperated with this PB200 set up.
PB checks out with non-in-cable terminated cable on PC (with backbone terminated) weathercaster and NMEA reader.
__________________

lateral is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-07-2017, 17:12   #3
Registered User

Join Date: Feb 2015
Posts: 800
Images: 1
Re: Airmar PB 200 bringing down my network....

I'm not sure I'm following you.

When you take the measurements, is the cable disconnected at both ends, or is it connected to the PB200 at one end?

If you measure 1m ohm between CANL and ground, or between CANH and ground, that sounds just fine. Especially so if the PB 200 is connected at one end.

I think maybe you are confusing high resistance and low resistance?
__________________
www.MVTanglewood.com
tanglewood is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-07-2017, 17:31   #4
Registered User
 
lateral's Avatar

Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: NZ
Boat: S34 Bob Stewart - 1959 Patiki class. Re--built by me & good mate.
Posts: 877
Re: Airmar PB 200 bringing down my network....

Quote:
Originally Posted by tanglewood View Post
I'm not sure I'm following you.

When you take the measurements, is the cable disconnected at both ends, or is it connected to the PB200 at one end?

If you measure 1m ohm between CANL and ground, or between CANH and ground, that sounds just fine. Especially so if the PB 200 is connected at one end.

I think maybe you are confusing high resistance and low resistance?
Disconnected both ends.
Should be over- load infinite resistance...I would have thought.
Could I megger it? Could blow the resistor?
lateral is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-07-2017, 19:15   #5
Registered User
 
lateral's Avatar

Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: NZ
Boat: S34 Bob Stewart - 1959 Patiki class. Re--built by me & good mate.
Posts: 877
Re: Airmar PB 200 bringing down my network....

S'pose I have to cut the PB200 fitting off to ascertain whether cable or fitting.
I was warned about investing in the Airmar....didn't listen.
lateral is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-07-2017, 21:27   #6
Registered User

Join Date: Feb 2015
Posts: 800
Images: 1
Re: Airmar PB 200 bringing down my network....

1m ohm and climbing could be nothing more than capacitance in the cable. I wouldn't take it as a definite problem.

Now that you have the cable down, can you create a small network with just the PB200 and something that can display the data coming out of it? In my experience it's much more likely that there is some sort of software issue creating a conflict between devices, or causing some device to go whacko. It's guaranteed, of course, but seems the most likely.

I think you said earlier that you connected the PB200 to a PC and it worked fine? How did you connect it with the cable still in the mast? The connector on the PB200 is proprietary to Airmar, right?
__________________
www.MVTanglewood.com
tanglewood is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-07-2017, 23:05   #7
Registered User
 
lateral's Avatar

Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: NZ
Boat: S34 Bob Stewart - 1959 Patiki class. Re--built by me & good mate.
Posts: 877
Re: Airmar PB 200 bringing down my network....

Quote:
Originally Posted by tanglewood View Post
1m ohm and climbing could be nothing more than capacitance in the cable. I wouldn't take it as a definite problem.

Now that you have the cable down, can you create a small network with just the PB200 and something that can display the data coming out of it? In my experience it's much more likely that there is some sort of software issue creating a conflict between devices, or causing some device to go whacko. It's guaranteed, of course, but seems the most likely.

I think you said earlier that you connected the PB200 to a PC and it worked fine? How did you connect it with the cable still in the mast? The connector on the PB200 is proprietary to Airmar, right?


I have a GH2183 on the coachroof, same connector. I terminated the end node that goes to MH & swapped the GH2183 for the PB200 then to weathercaster via a NGT1.

This is my second PB200 as the first suffered a rapid deceleration onto the deck. After, it worked ok for a time, but developed an intermittent to permanent fault. (I dropped it installing, rather. I didn't check a crew members knot on the tool bag and it came undone)

But the point being, it worked fine for months with this cable. No conflicts, or network errors even though a connector between the two PCB's had de-soldered itself from the board from the fall.

The replacement PB200 I purchased was a nib -old stock.
System:
At nav table
* 1x Triton
* 1x power node
* 1x T for NGT1
Forward node(s)
* 2x dst800 triducers only one connected at a time. (The clean
one!)
Mast head node (An extension of Forward node)
* End of backbone, terminated in cable, pin 5 removed from
PB200

Aft Node(s)
*1x Rudder angle sensor N2K
*1x auto pilot
*1x GH2183 rate compass & gps
*1x Triton Stb daisy chained to AP remote
*1x Triton Port
*Another power node
* Oh f@#k it just occurred to me that I may not have set the
the new PB200 to "0 Hz" for All nav and compass parameters.
Not
that I think it matters unduly, as it always took the standalone
as default and ignored the PB200 of everything except wind.
How vacant not to consider at least.

Thanks TW, for the mind jog.
Love your adventures.
BTW I have a PB200 6m cable (unterminated) and the resistance from CanL & CanH to ground is "overload", not M ohms.
lateral is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-07-2017, 23:26   #8
Senior Cruiser

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Bellingham
Boat: Outbound 44
Posts: 7,675
Re: Airmar PB 200 bringing down my network....

The PB200 puts some load on the power bus at 13LEN. Maybe your bus power isn't clean?
__________________
Paul
Paul L is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-07-2017, 23:58   #9
Registered User
 
lateral's Avatar

Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: NZ
Boat: S34 Bob Stewart - 1959 Patiki class. Re--built by me & good mate.
Posts: 877
Re: Airmar PB 200 bringing down my network....

Quote:
Originally Posted by Paul L View Post
The PB200 puts some load on the power bus at 13LEN. Maybe your bus power isn't clean?
At time of testing there was no charging, only 12v dc from batteries. Not that I know of how or if you can dirty your dc.

Still can't figure if 1-4 M ohms has any significance on the cable. Personally, end to end I think they should be completely independent and electrically separate.
I know little about testing insulation, esp in data cables.
lateral is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-07-2017, 00:23   #10
Senior Cruiser

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Bellingham
Boat: Outbound 44
Posts: 7,675
Re: Airmar PB 200 bringing down my network....

Can't answer your cable question. On the power, you can have poor connections from the batt to the bus distribution - connector issues, fuse corrosion, etc.
__________________
Paul
Paul L is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-07-2017, 05:00   #11
Registered User
 
lateral's Avatar

Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: NZ
Boat: S34 Bob Stewart - 1959 Patiki class. Re--built by me & good mate.
Posts: 877
Re: Airmar PB 200 bringing down my network....

Solved.
I pared the rubber plug carefully off the cable at PB200 end and found the liquid dielectric rubber had voids around the solder connections. The ground wire was very close to the CanH. I separated them a little and retested- bingo, O/L.
Now to remold a waterproof plug to fit the PB200.

BTW, Paul, the 13LEN is max when the heater is in use.
Average is 5LEN according to AIRMAR.
lateral is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-07-2017, 21:54   #12
Senior Cruiser

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Bellingham
Boat: Outbound 44
Posts: 7,675
Re: Airmar PB 200 bringing down my network....

Quote:
Originally Posted by lateral View Post
Solved.
I pared the rubber plug carefully off the cable at PB200 end and found the liquid dielectric rubber had voids around the solder connections. The ground wire was very close to the CanH. I separated them a little and retested- bingo, O/L.
Now to remold a waterproof plug to fit the PB200.

BTW, Paul, the 13LEN is max when the heater is in use.
Average is 5LEN according to AIRMAR
.
That makes sense. It is a lot of cable being added too, and if there was some poor connection like you had it could certainly be the issue.
__________________

__________________
Paul
Paul L is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
[SOLD] Airmar NMEA 200 depth, temp, speed sensor tanglewood General Classifieds (no boats) 0 10-12-2016 22:05
For Sale: Airmar DST800 - $200 fishbait58 Classifieds Archive 2 13-07-2016 19:26
Bringing batteries down admiralslater Electrical: Batteries, Generators & Solar 5 16-12-2015 01:26
Garmin GMS 10 network port expander vs network hub gettinthere Marine Electronics 0 04-06-2013 17:42
NMEA 2K Network Problems (Garmin GMI 10/Airmar DST800/GPS 19X (NMEA0183)) atsakir Marine Electronics 2 05-02-2013 01:58

Advertise Here


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 16:22.


Google+
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Social Knowledge Networks
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
×

ShowCase vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.